We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Afan de Rivera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Afan de Rivera
Ranked #1 of 6 Ubeda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I just spent a wonderful two nights in this most charming XIV century home . Besides being beautifully appointed, the best is Jorge, owner and chef! What marvelous breakfasts and how he pampers you and helps with special diatery requests. The location is absolutely fantastic, step out the door and you are in the main square and set back in time a few centuries. All Jorge's suggestions for sites etc are well worth heeding, including a visit to an olive oil factory just a few minutes from the nearby town of Baeza. We stayed in Ubeda and easilyndrove to Baeza and back, a short 15 minute drive. This hotel is definitely tops!

Room Tip: We were given a choice of two bedrooms and chose the one facing the street which had absolutely NO n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    24
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
69
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Competa, Andalucia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very good stay. Great location near the historic district and all major sights within easy walking distance. The owner was very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, with lots of home-made and local produce (I particularly liked the home-made red pepper jam). The building itself is about 800 years old, and is beautiful inside and out. The only minor quibble is that they don't have a liquor license so you have to buy your medicine elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A great find in Ubeda on our road trip. Owner was extremely friendly and welcoming. The buffet breakfast was a delight, homemade pasteries, cakes, fig jam etc all for just 7.50 euros. Rooms are all individually decorated with quirky touches all inside what looks like a converted stone outbuilding. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Upon directions of the friendly owner Jose, we visited lovely Ubeda. The hotel is located at the heart of this town in a very old almost medieval building. Room was very neat, with a spacious bathroom. Breakfast was awesome, with a very broad collection of local jamon, cheese and sweets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0hnSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san clemente, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Beautiful, bello, espectacular, magnifique! Right in the historic area of Ubeda. We stayed two nights in a beautiful room decorated tastefully with antiques. The owner is a wonderful host and the breakfast is plentiful and very good. I loved the figs from the island of Menorca and the lemon breakfast cake.

Room Tip: Our host, Mr. Paya, gave us a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afarfaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We loved our stay in this wonderful historic hotel. The owner, Jorge, could not do enough to make us feel welcome - the breakfast offers a terrific selection of Spanish treats including home cooked tortilla and several types of ham which Jorge takes great delight in explaining. The location is terrific and we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

It took a bit of an effort to find the hotel and after dropping off my wife I made a right instead of a left turn on the narrow cobblestone street and got myself stuck on a dead end street. I managed to back up a long way, good adventure.
The hotel is very charming and very much a part of the historical character of the town.
Our room had no windows just a large skylight, not for the claustrophobic. The room was very well appointed with one of the nicest modern bathrooms we saw on our travels.
We walked around the historical core and bought some very unique pieces of the green pottery. They made it home and sit on our table.
Our Spanish is very poor so we weren't able to have much conversation with the owner Jorge, but he was a very charming helpful individual
We enjoyed our one day stay in Ubeda, but one would have to be a real Renaissance afficianado to spend any longer.
I would recommend a stay, if even to get away from the tourist crowds, and enjoy a day in a picturesque renaissance city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#2 of 14 in Ubeda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#3 of 14 in Ubeda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alvar Fanez
Hotel Alvar Fanez
#10 of 14 in Ubeda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Rosaleda de Don Pedro
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#1 of 14 in Ubeda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afan de Rivera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afan de Rivera

Property: Hotel Afan de Rivera
Address: Calle Afan de Rivera 4, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ubeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Afan de Rivera 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Afan de Rivera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing