We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ajoblanco in a beautiful setting.”
Review of Parador de Ubeda

Parador de Ubeda
Reserve with
Parador de Ubeda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 105 Restaurants in Ubeda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent ajoblanco in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

As in many Paradores, service is a bit stiff, though as part of the vegitarian selection I enjoyed the best ajoblanco ever. This is a gazpacho-like garlic soup served chilled with raisins that was delicious. Indeed I should have ordered another and ignored the vegetarian rice dish which was otherwise non-descript. The restaurant is worth another try though it should be noted that Paradors are now managed by an English chain and the overall dining quality is lower than it should be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    78
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
242 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great food in unimaginatively designed restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed the night in the Parador, which was a great experience. So we thought we would take advantage of the Semana Santa menu in its restaurant (€27 for four courses). OK, the background music was so muzakky that it probably would have sounded corny even in the 1950s; and OK, when my wife described the design of the interior as "homely," she was generously euphemistic -- but particularly the first two courses, cold and warm starters respectively, were worth it. The service was immaculate, and the most modestly priced bottle of wine cost €16, which is not expensive in a location such as this one. So bring your earplugs and look only at your plate and your partner, and enjoy the food.

Incidentally, for better atmosphere and less money, drink a tea or a coffee during the daytime in the patio of the parador, which has been designed with infinitely better taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The menu was interesting with good local food which was well cooked and service with a smile.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great tastes”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We chose the "tasting" menu. That way we were able to sample many local dishes, all of which were delicious. We also liked that this menu was less filling than the usual three course meal. We wish that all paradors had this sort of deal.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtripper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cafe in the Courtyard”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Trying to fnd somewhere to eat lunch before 1 pm in Spain can be quite a challenge. We went into the courtyard of the parador just to have a look but ended up sitting down and were surprised that we were able to order food at 12:30.
Although , it took the waitress 20 minutes before she came to take our orders we did not mind because she did it with a smile and with very little English - but we muddled through - got my prawns in olive oil and my husband his club sandwich!
The Parador itself is in need of updating and it does feel like a government run establishment.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parador de Ubeda also viewed

Ubeda, Province of Jaen
Ubeda, Province of Jaen
 
Ubeda, Province of Jaen
 

Been to Parador de Ubeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing