We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parador with authenticity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Ubeda

Parador de Ubeda
Reserve with
Parador de Ubeda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Ubeda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Parador with authenticity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I always stay here...and ask if I can for a view of El Salvador and then leave the curtain open & breathe in the Spanish renaissance.
If I had the time I would stay here a week..a good book..eat pickled partridge salad & listen to the church bells ring, walk down into the Arab potteries district, wander in one of the most heavenly towns in Spain.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gijs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    69
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castelldefels, Spain
Level Contributor
193 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Little attention to detail and too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I went there because I had heard it was nice but food, decoration and service lacked what is required of a restaurant with such prices. Don't go there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A pleasant dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We enjoyed our meal at the Parador. The menu was traditional and emphasized meats. We particularly enjoyed the cabrito.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
164 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent ajoblanco in a beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

As in many Paradores, service is a bit stiff, though as part of the vegitarian selection I enjoyed the best ajoblanco ever. This is a gazpacho-like garlic soup served chilled with raisins that was delicious. Indeed I should have ordered another and ignored the vegetarian rice dish which was otherwise non-descript. The restaurant is worth another try though it should be noted that Paradors are now managed by an English chain and the overall dining quality is lower than it should be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great food in unimaginatively designed restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed the night in the Parador, which was a great experience. So we thought we would take advantage of the Semana Santa menu in its restaurant (€27 for four courses). OK, the background music was so muzakky that it probably would have sounded corny even in the 1950s; and OK, when my wife described the design of the interior as "homely," she was generously euphemistic -- but particularly the first two courses, cold and warm starters respectively, were worth it. The service was immaculate, and the most modestly priced bottle of wine cost €16, which is not expensive in a location such as this one. So bring your earplugs and look only at your plate and your partner, and enjoy the food.

Incidentally, for better atmosphere and less money, drink a tea or a coffee during the daytime in the patio of the parador, which has been designed with infinitely better taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parador de Ubeda also viewed

 
Ubeda, Province of Jaen
Ubeda, Province of Jaen
 

Been to Parador de Ubeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing