We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little heritage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palacio De La Rambla
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ubeda
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely little heritage hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose this hotel over the Parador as we seemed better value and more intimate. We're delighted we did.

The hotel is located in the middle of town - if you've booked parking, be aware that the garage is within the hotel - you need to ring the doorbell and get them to open the garage doors. We spent about 10 mins driving round the block trying to find the entrance way!

The hotel is beautiful and peaceful - our room was well appointed and quiet, although the air conditioning wasn't QUITE coping with the late June heat. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good with plentiful hot water. There was a good value mini bar in the room. Wifi was free and worked throughout most of the hotel.

Rosa greeted us on arrival, prepared breakfast and was there for our departure. She was a charming host; competent and affable. Breakfast was laid out in the morning; plenty of pastries and fresh fruit, and Rosa prepared a fresh cooked breakfast - eggs to order.

The Palacio is a wonderful building to wander around - lots of photographs of the original family. During the morning we walked past the Parador as large families and tour groups were leaving. We were particularly glad at that moment that we were staying at the Palacio.

Room Tip: If you're happy to have two single beds, room 3 on the ground floor has a living room and privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
60
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited Ubeda as a stopover between Toledo and Granada on our recent trip to Spain and Portugal. This property, a formal ducal palace, lives up to the charm evident on its website. We had a set of two bedrooms with a central sitting room--very charmingly decorated and comfortable. The public rooms (dining area, and large and beautifully appointed drawing room) are amazing, as is the magnificent courtyard and outside patio. I had asked ahead and reserved a spot in the garage--very helpful as it communicates directly with the hotel. Breakfast was one of the best of our trip, including delicious eggs and homemade jams.
Ubeda is a very beautiful town, on the Unesco world heritage list and rightly so given the quantity of well preserved renaissance buildings there. There are various beautiful parks and squares to enjoy; we were lucky to be there on a sunny day and so enjoyed participating in the evening stroll and window shopping right before Christmas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great charm, unique, like your own palatial museum. Very friendly and helpful service.
It is very old fashioned. Too much in some aspects : fridge and wifi do not work, bathroom is well due an upgrade, using the car park can be very difficult.
The main problem I had was the heat in the room. The airconditioning unit is quite basic : no quiet mode and delivers too much humidity, and the maid turns it off when she does the room. She also opens the wooden blinds, so the sun pours in all day. Opening the windows at the night cools somewhat the room, but can be very noisy.
No problem eating out, Ubéda is the town for fine cuisine, like at Asador de Santiago or Cantina la Estacion.
I would not return myself, because it is just too special. But would recommend it to anyone looking for a true old-timer hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Described in Lonely Planet as the best hotel in Andalucia. Not that for sure but nice and charming all the same. I would describe it as an old palace (the trip advisor picture of the hotel is NOT correct- do not know where they got it from) that is a fallen beauty. Slightly run down but charming all the like. We liked Ubeda, really enjoyed the main street outside of the historical section for tapas. Would have preferred to stay in Cazorla for a better jumping off point for the hiking, etc that we did. Service was great. Seemed to be owned by the same family of the originals judging by some of the historical photos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a real gem. Bit concerned by the approach through the town – rather industrial after the windy roads of the expansive olive groves – and the hotel doesn’t look much from the outside. After negotiating the hotel parking – tight but reassuring to have car on site – we were pleasantly surprised (but not totally as had read about this charming hotel in Alex Sawday’s Special Places to Stay). Has been in the same family since the 16th century and was full of charm and atmosphere. Rooms very spacious and decorated in keeping with the character of this amazing building – built round a lovely courtyard. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast very adequate. Very central to the old part of town which is full of historic buildings and the most breath-taking panoramic view. Both town and hotel well worth a visit. Absolutely charming.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Ubeda is off the beaten track, we stayed there as a stop over on the way from Toledo to Grenada, but that was real serendipity because it is well worth a visiting its own right, but the Palacio de la Rambla was an amazing find.

It looks nothing from the outside, your heart sinks. Then you get in (after the slightly harrowing insertion of your car into the tiny car park), to find a hidden gem. The pubic rooms are just magnificent examples of style and furnishing of an era now gone. The bedrooms were dark but roomy and comfortable. There are two internal courtyards, one of which doubles up as a 'trust bar'. It really is like staying in the town Palace of a 17C noble as a guest. Breakfast was very good and served with courtesy.

The Receptionist - Tony - its a lady by the way - was simply superb. She speaks good enough English, was tolerant of my Spanish and could not have been more helpful and considerate. She it was who guided me in and out of the garage with patience beyond provocation, but I still recommend the public car park a few hundred metres away to avoid heart attack.

The hotel is situated just on the edge and in the old town which is a gem to walk around: narrow streets opening on to unexpected squares.

The approach to the town is through miles of olive plantations in all directions, try them with tapas in one of the many town bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

For those who like a bit of old world charm, this is the place. Dates from the 16th century and some of the public rooms could almost be original. A little faded maybe, but who cares. The rooms are large and comfortable. They have been tastefully modernised and have air-con/heating. The large windows are double glazed ( most of the rooms look onto a small square ) but without removing the wooden shutters. As previous reviewers have noted, you sometimes get a 'bad water' smell from the bathroom. The central location means you are only a comfortable walking distance from the old town which is utterly charming. The breakfast is fine, although they do not know how to make tea ! One tea bag in a huge tea pot. And they bring hot water for cereals. Still all the staff are charming and the place competes very well with the Parador, which I guess would be much more expensive. If you arrive by car, there is limit space on-site but free street parking nearby. Recommeded especially to visit Ubeda and nearby Baeza.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
0.3 mi away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#2 of 13 in Ubeda
562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#5 of 13 in Ubeda
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ordonez Sandoval
0.8 mi away
Hotel RL Ciudad de Ubeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio De La Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio De La Rambla

Property: Palacio De La Rambla
Address: Plaza Marques 1, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Palacio De La Rambla 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palacio De La Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De La Rambla Ubeda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing