We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming stopover”
Review of El Mudayyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mudayyan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Teruel
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming stopover”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We satyed here for one night on 6th May 2012, we were very happy with the location and the staff were friendly, not much english, but then we couldn't speak any spanish really, but they made every effort.
Very clean and comfy, good braekfast with plenty of choice.
Also the lady gave us the tour of the underground passages etc which lead to an old church, great.
We would stay here again, the only littel thing is that the parking is a short walk, and cost 14 Euro. The town is interesting too.

Room Tip: Higher rooms might be less noiise from traffic. there is a lift too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baconbuttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    184
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
127
256
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Gorgeous place to explore & a lovely place to stay. Character filled with polished timber floors, Clean & roomy with a small balcony. Friendly & very welcoming. If you are looking for a central place to stay close to restaurants & exploring the cobblestone streets of Teruel this is the place to stay. Highly recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItineraryAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgonovo Val Tidone (PC) Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Don't be frightened by the man who may "welcome" you at the reception mowning around and expecially do not absolutely follow his advice to park in front of the entrance to unload the luggage (the policewoman  who turned up after 2 seconds was not happy with it) but leave the car in the nearby undrground park. The hotel is really a tiny nice one with only 8 refurbished rooms fully equipped (air conditioning, flat screen TV and free speedy WIFI) It is family run by a very nice and welcome lady who will proudly and kindly show you the medieval tunnel she discovered underneath the hotel. Breakfast is served in the tiny cafeteria but is not continental.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSantussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgonovo Val Tidone (PC) Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Don't be frightened by learch ( the member of the addams family) who may "welcome" you at the reception mowning around and expecially do not absolutely follow his advice to park in front of the entrance to unload the luggage (the policewoman  who turned up after 2 seconds was not happy with it) but leave the car in the nearby undrgrounda park. The hotel is really a tiny nice one with only 8 refurbished rooms fully equipped (air conditioning, flat screen TV and free speedy WIFI) It is family run by a very nice and welcome lady who will proudly and kindly show you the medieval tunnel she discovered underneath the hotel. Breakfast is served in the tiny cafeteria and it is not continental

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSantussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for just 1 night, but it was a exciting pleasant surprise!
The owners of the hotel are so nice, will help you with everything and you will feel as if you are staying at home...
We had a car and although the hotel is right in the center of Teruel, it is very easy to find and you would just need to walk 20 meters. Also there is a parking about 100 meters from the hotel.
The room was very comfortable and although a bit cold at night, there were blankets to use. And also there are bottles of water to use in the fridge.
Breakfast is superb as everything is home-made by the owners! We wish that all hotels were like this one!

Room Tip: Just be sure to have personal communication with the people of the hotel, they are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fekish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is like Teruel, it has a a lot of character but you will need to know where to look.

Outside it's just an ordinary building with an old fashioned facade but this tiny hotel is actually built on top of the stone foundations of an old church that dated back to 13th century pre-mudejar times. So if you stay here you can ask for a free tour from the owner of the hotels.

Once underneath, you will find a Moroccan style tea room and opposite to it are the 900 + years old stone arch and the small stone passage which led directly to a (unfortunately sealed) door of the church of San Esteban. It is said that during medieval times, priests also do the duty of rationing out food and money donated to them by the wealthy class. Thus they are also given houses to store the food and money and hence this house was built with a large cellar. No one seems to be able to say why the priest had a tunnel from his own's residence cellar leading to the church but there it was. So if you like a little bit of legend and a candle light tour of a short tunnel, do ask for the tour, which is mostly done in Spanish.

Up in the rooms, the interior decoration is very modern. Our double room was ok not too large or too small. It has an ok size bathroom too. What gives the room character was the headboard and the design of the key chain and the drawing on the doors, they are replicas of the 14th century painted beams of Teruel's Cathedral.

The downside of this hotel is that the room does smell damp (even if the sheets are not damp as in some of the previous commentaries). Do air the rooms once you arrive. Also there is no reception area (the bar is doubled as the reception counter and breakfast counter) so it can get confusing during check in and check out times. Breakfast is done in slightly cramped lobby area of the ground floor. There is also no parking in the hotel. So if you drive here, we recommend you park at Teruel's biggest private parking area "La Glorieta" parking which is three floors, roofed, clean, secured and can be googled. Then drag your luggage down hill to this hotel which is just around the bend. Or you can manage to drop off your luggage off first (cars are sometimes allow up infront of the hotel but you must turn right immediately to go to the parking mentioned).

Breakfasts are included and consist of mostly pastries, bread, ham, cheese and several spreadings. We were offered Mrs. Maria Jose specially baked pastry dessert: "los suspiros de los amantes" or the custard tartlets named "sighs of the lovers" as part of breakfast, which we thought was a nice lovely touch to a cosy weekend spent here. So do I recommend you stay here ? of course!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We picked this hotel by chance upon our arrival in Teruel at 10 pm after a long day driving. I agree with all the previous reviews, especially in regards to the bathroom, which is top notch. We found the beds OK...the sheets were a bit damp but the room is spotless. Breakfast room is tiny and people are allowed to smoke just off to the side. Good quality coffee but we found the food choices limited. We paid 65 euros for a double in early August.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teruel hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Botanicos
Gran Hotel Botanicos
#2 of 13 in Teruel
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parador de Teruel
Parador de Teruel
#5 of 13 in Teruel
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reina Cristina Hotel
Reina Cristina Hotel
#6 of 13 in Teruel
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Torico Plaza
Hotel Torico Plaza
#4 of 13 in Teruel
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suite Camarena Plaza
0.6 mi away
Isabel de Segura
Isabel de Segura
#8 of 13 in Teruel
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mudayyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mudayyan

Property: El Mudayyan
Address: 44001 | C/Nueva, 18, 44001 Teruel, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Teruel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Teruel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mudayyan 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mudayyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing