We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go back in history -- with luxury”
Review of El Mudayyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mudayyan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Teruel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go back in history -- with luxury”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

El Mudayyan is a remarkable and memorable hotel. Located right in the center of the city, the hotel is not only beautiful, with an appropriately Arabic decor to match the environs, but also offers the single most amazing breakfast of any place we stayed throughout our trip. A buffet of home-cooked goodies, including regional delicacies you won't find elsewhere. If you wait till about 10, the owners will take you below ground to the secret tunnel that connected the hotel to the Church. Note that the hotel offers no parking (the streets are miniscule, narrow and winding), but you can park about two blocks away in a spacious indoor lot that won't inconvenience you in the least. Just drop your bags at the hotel (tucked away and tricky to find among the narrow streets) and drive down the street and to the left to find the garage.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    184
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
124
257
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We based our stay on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great position and our room on the first floor was decorated in a North African style with a really excellent large bathroom. Room was very clean and there was a tiny balcony overlooking the street. Breakfast is very good and served downstairs in the bar which is very popular with the locals
The owner is very friendly and will take you down to the tunnels underneath the hotel - medieavel ones that once linked the house (which used to belong to the priest) to the church. Don't go down if you are claustrophobic and don't like dark, narrow spaces! She doesn't speak much English but it is very interesting and worth seeing
There are loads of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Teruel itself is really worth seeing with some lovely buildings and a fantastic church. It is an easy drive to Albarracin which is also worth a visit.
The only downside is there is no parking - you have to park in the underground car park just around the corner which costs 15 euros a day

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A nice friendly hotel at the entrance to Teruel, so easy to find and handy for getting out and about. The breakfast is served by the owner, a very friendly lady, and is excellent with some home made specialities

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As usual, we followed the suggestions in the Rough Guide and found the El Mudayyan very easily. You can drop your bags at the door and then park at the nearby ubderground car park(15 euros over night). We had a very warm and friendly welcome and our room was lovely- room 6 at the front. We headed off on a Monday night and found many restaurants closed and ended up eating at Rokelin and enjoyed excellent Teruel jamon and queso. Better still my large glass of white wine was only 1.4 euros!!!! Excellent value. We slept well in a very comfy bed with good quality bedding and pillows, despite being at the front of the hotel.
Breakfast was a veritable feast!!!!! Home baked croissant and speciality cakes. Excellent service and very lively atmosphere as locals pop in for breakfast too. The highlight though was the torchlit tour by Maria Jose into the medieval tunnels under the hotel linking the churches and the priest's home. All in all we had an excellent stay - no wonder the Rough Guide lists it in a list of ten unusual places to stay in Spain.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

El Mudayyan is a small but well equipped hotel close to the historic centre of Teruel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel was excellent value for money. The owner took us on a tour of the old tunnels under the hotel which were part of a larger network linking all the historic buildings in the centre of Teruel ( not recommended if you get claustrophobia).
Owners were very welcoming and the continental breakfast included home made tartlets and cheesecake.
Would definitely stop there again if in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank recordhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed in this newish hotel Oct 2011 with 2 children.
The hosts were very helpful and friendly. family run. It was clean, not too far from parking and right above an amazing ruin that the owner proudly took us down too. Very kind of her.
Our room may have been a bit small with the extra bed placed in it, but we may have got the last one available.
The breakfast room is part of a tiny cafe downstairs on street level which is a bit of a squeeze as it is open to public as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Teruel is a beautiful city and the El Mudayyan is perfectly located. The rooms are not special but adequate. The staff were very helpful. They provided a good place for us to store our bicycles, gave us a tour of the historic underground tunnels and the breakfast with "home cooked" treats was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teruel hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Botanicos
Gran Hotel Botanicos
#2 of 13 in Teruel
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
CLa Hotel
CLa Hotel
#3 of 13 in Teruel
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parador de Teruel
Parador de Teruel
#4 of 13 in Teruel
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Reina Cristina Hotel
Reina Cristina Hotel
#6 of 13 in Teruel
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Torico Plaza
Hotel Torico Plaza
#5 of 13 in Teruel
226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spa Hotel Ciudad de Teruel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mudayyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mudayyan

Property: El Mudayyan
Address: 44001 | C/Nueva, 18, 44001 Teruel, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Teruel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Teruel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mudayyan 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Mudayyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing