We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the effort”
Review of Albarracin

Albarracin
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Teruel
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is the sort of place which takes your breath away (literally if you want to climb to the top tower). It really is quite astonishing that anyone conceived building such a place. Bear in mind that health and safety is less arduous than in Britain, and it was possible to climb up onto the walls with a significant drop on the other side and no barrier. I'm a great believer in being responsible for yourself, so don't let the kids wander! Stay off the walls if you don't like heights.
We were there on a Saturday, and it got very busy, but only really in the main square. Move away and it's much quieter.
Our only regret really was that we didn't go prepared for much walking, and this is obviously a big walking area (not just the town) and there are prehistoric art sites nearby which, because we weren't prepared, we didn't get to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    326
    36
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem of a place.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. A beautiful medieval town we happened to chance upon. We did a guided tour, and although the commentary was in Spanish, the guide did his best to give us some translations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Medieval town”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Really lovely old town well worth the drive and the wander around Not able to look around the Cathredal without a guide whci seems a shame .Few cafes open for a coffee

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank slubjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Montesinos, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful medieval town”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just stayed for 2 nights here on our way back to the UK. Will definitely be calling back in September. The town walls, Castle and friendly locals made it all worth while. We stayed at the edge of the old town at a lovely campsite called Ciudad De Alberaccin. Èxcellent facilities and very clean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank campermegane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian in rural Victoria
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful Spanish medieval villages”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days, and loved the village, which is set high on a hill, surrounded by a loop of the river. The village is notable for the lovely pink/red stone of the buildings, and the amazing castle walls above the town. It is lovely to just wander the car free streets, though they can be quite steep and often turn into steps.

Make sure to walk up to the castle walls above the town for fantastic views back to the village, and also out to the hermitage on the next hill, for equally fabulous views. It is also possible to walk around the base of the village along the river, on a circular path that leaves from the end of the pretty park near the car tunnel under the town. Follow the path around the cliffs, on a boardwalk attached to the cliffs in spots.

We had no trouble parking at the end of May, though I imagine that in the season it could be more difficult. However, because we were there during the off season, there were not many restaurants open and we didn't find any tapas bars open.

It is possible to do a tour of the castle in the village, but it was only available as a guided tour in Spanish. Later in the season, they apparently do tours in English. Similarly, the Cathedral was undergoing renovations, so it was only open as a guided tour, again in Spanish.

From the village there is also a walk out to the prehistoric rock paintings in the nearby national park. To do this, you would need to get good directions from the very helpful information centre on the edge of the village, on the road from Teruel. You can either do a half day walk or drive most of the distance. We really enjoyed exploring the park and the paintings, as the landscape was quite spectacular, and the paintings were really interesting. Allow plenty of time to view the paintings, as some take some patience to decipher. Check out the reviews for Pinturas Rupestres Albarracin for extra information.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank learningitalianat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albarracin also viewed

 
Teruel, Province of Teruel
 

Been to Albarracin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing