We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant and Stefano was an excellent host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Es Castell

Es Castell
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Capdepera
Price range: US$9 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: There's also an a la carte menu, which changes every three-four months, and includes typical Mallorcan cuisine, pa amb oli, tapas, pastas, salads, as well as more creative dishes, such as fillet of seabass with courgette 'spaghetti' and cauliflower puree. Portions of the superbly cooked and well-presented food are good, and can be accompanied by a Mallorcan or Spanish wine from the reasonably-priced small list.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and Stefano was an excellent host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

A real find in Capdepera. We had a lovely meal the duck and sirloin steak were perfectly cooked and very tasty. The steak dish could have benefitted from a little salad or vegetable.
An enjoyable evening in lovely surroundings we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
244 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“The best reastaraunt in Mallorca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The view from reastaurant to fortress is magnificent, design is in old wooden style.
We were there several times with two small kids and allways were welcome, but of course the best purpose to visit this restaurant is romantic evening for a couple.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lena_elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just right, after strenuous climb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Capdepera isn't the easiest town to drive in, we had to reverse back through narrow streets to find a parking place, then we climbed to the castle (fabulous views, well worth the climb), then I had trouble coming back down the path in the castle, it was very steep and very slippery - so after all that we just wanted a cup of tea in any old café. But this is NOT 'any old café', it is a restaurant we would deliberately head for on our next trip to Mallorca. We were welcomed warmly by Stefano, and also by an English couple who were just leaving but told us how special this restaurant is. The building is very old and the layout and furniture have kept its character. We had 'chef's choice' tapas, and the chef chose exactly the dishes we would have chosen ourselves, varied in appearance, taste and texture, with a glass of local wine and juice from oranges that were pressed while we watched. The dessert-of-the-day was announced as 'an English dish - we would like your opinion': it was Sticky Toffee Pudding! We perhaps wouldn't have chosen this from a menu in Spain, or even in England, but we shared one helping, and it passed the Cartmel test, it was delicious. We hired a car for just one day - if we had been able to, we would have been back for each of our four days on the island, very highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancastrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The food and service was very good, and the whole ambiance of the place is wonderful. It is a small restaurant so it is better to make reservations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great before or after the climb to the castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Great food, very tasty beer and reasonably priced. Not huge inside but very cosy with own style. Has a balcony with a nice view but a small one for 4-6 people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Es Castell also viewed

Capdepera, Majorca
Capdepera, Majorca
 
Capdepera, Majorca
 

Been to Es Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing