We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful...again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cases de Son Barbassa
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Capdepera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our third time at Cases and we love it more every time we go. It's a beautiful hotel, fantastic food, amazing staff. We can't fault anything about here. It is a truly relaxing place that no matter how long you stay makes you feel at home.
Hasta el ano proximo!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Booked 6 nights - very excited - first night in main hotel. Very hot rooms, air con not working ! Room 12 and 24 very bad smell.
Aiming 5 nights in the newer villa - 300 m from the hotel. No flexibility in terms of changing from hotel to villa. Leaving us with no other choise than staying at the pool. First warning - do not leave your bikini for drying at the pool. Second warning - do not leave your slippers around, the hotel maid removes them. Third warning, do not leave your towel, books and bikini at the pool, while going for an expensive lunch at the hotel. We came back to the villa and all our personal belongings were locked into one of our rooms - incl. Our keys. Other hotel guest explained to maid, that we just left for lunch, but the maid strolled all our personal belongings in one towel - and locked them in. Hotel management treated us as a family so critical - inclusive our very well-behaved children, that we felt a personal need to leave immediately to protect our children from any further incidents. Instead of apolygizing, the hotel has acted against all normal service standards ! We will never return to this hotel - and recommend any one not to book this very unusual badly serviced hotel. If you decide to go - remember to sign any bill for lunch, drinks and dinners - otherwise prepare yourself for finding many items, you never consumed - and how will you prove that ?

Room Tip: Do not choose the villa, if you are looking for a family treat. You are not allowed to use the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 090714MSG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonBarbassa, Propietario at Cases de Son Barbassa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

This family left the hotel without warning and without paying their bills. No comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family and I ( they are 5 of us) staying at the bendinat hotel near portals nous, which is a fantastic hotel which justifiably charges 3 times the rate of this place according to the latest published tarrif. We arrived last night at approx 7 pm for dinner and potentially looking at options for a rustic place to stay in the future. Before we had even reached the door a snooty looking waiter approached us and said he didnt think there was any space. We could have being looking to buy the place for all he knew he didn't even ask what we where after. Shocked and embarrassed I automatically asked when they would have space and he walked into the bad area and spoke to the person I assume was the owner/manager, I could clearly make out English, children in the description he subsequently gave. He returned a few mins later as I was already making my way back to the car (at the this point there where 5 cars parked total), and shouted after me sorry try again next week!!!
I can't believe I am staying this in 2013 but these people appear to have a problem with either children of English, either way I suggest you avoid. It looked total devoid of any atmosphere and clientele any way!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank marina235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonBarbassa, Propietario at Cases de Son Barbassa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

First we wanted to apologize us for this misunderstood. We are really welcome to families with children both in our restaurant and hotel. The inconvenient were that the restaurant was already fully booked for that night and we ask our guests to come dressed up for dinner as a respect to others, not straight from the beach in bathing clothes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2013. We were situated away from main hotel. Room was pleasant and bathroom very spacious. Had access to pool which was very quiet - water temperature was perfect. Overall, accommodating and food were good, however, I would suggest a few tweaks to make this a perfect stay. Firstly the hair dryer was of poor quality and not to the standard of the amenities available. Secondly, it was disappointing to be told that any drinks (inc soft drinks) and food would be thrown away by cleaner if found in the room. I thought this was unnecessary and left a sour taste. Would probably return if they addressed few minor issues

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a cycling holiday. It was lovely, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. Service was friendly and with a smile and the gin and tonics are huge! Our room was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and 3 terraces (front, back and side). We had booked a standard terrace room, should we ever return I would book a superior terrace room as this would have a view. The pool was fabulous with an honesty bar for cold drinks. You could eat either in the glass walled restaurant or on theatric looking out towards Capdepera. The restaurant service was friendly but a little chaotic and could have done with a little polish (this is why i am rating it very good not excellent). It was barbecue night our second night and we waited 40 minutes after our starter to be served the BBQ course......big barbecue, it wasn't busy and it doesn't take that long to BBQ meat skewers! It also didn't seem to be automatic to ask if diners wanted a coffee (had to ask on two nights). The hotel says it serves breakfast from 8.00am. On our last morning we appeared in the breakfast room at 8.00am (early start for the airport), breakfast was still being put out, and at 8.15 it still wasn't fully ready. That said it was the best breakfast we had in Mallorca. We really loved it here and would definitely return if we ever came back to this part of Mallorca.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior double, normal doubles have small terrace with no view as they face up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed for two nights in September and it was heavenly. The food is delicious with plenty of original ideas and local specialities; you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the lovely glass room or on the patio with a view south. The swimming pool is lovely with self service drinks on tap and wide, leather loungers in pairs. The room was cavernous with a sun trap patio and outdoor seating area; lovely bed and traditional features. A real hideaway with five star trappings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle31_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

English: We spent 4 nights in this fabulous place. The first thing I noticed and I really loved is the fact that the place blends in with nature. There is an absolute respect to the surroundings. The hotel itself is class! The room was fantastic. We went for a superior double room with terrace in the new house. I recommend the new house to couples as it is extremely private and romantic. The staff is exceptional. They are all extremely hard working and very professional. This hotel is also very well located as it is close to beautiful Cala Arta, a fantastic beach where you can snorkel and enjoy the turquoise waters. I strongly recommend this place!

Español: Hemos estado en el hotel 4 noches y es realmente fabuloso. Lo primero que me impactó es el hecho de que el hotel esta construido de una manera que respecta la naturaleza que lo rodea. Quedamos en una habitación doble superior con terraza en la área de la casa nueva. Recomiendo la casa nueva para parejas por su privacidad y por ser super romántica. El personal es excepcional. Realmente todos muy serviciales y muy profesionales. Un gusto total ser atendidos por ellos. El hotel esta también bien localizado ya que se encuentra cerca de la Cala Arta, playa fabulosa donde se puede hacer snorkel y disfrutar de las aguas cristalinas. Realmente lo recomiendo al 100%!!!

Room Tip: The New House is amazing! La Casa Nueva es increible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tali1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capdepera
4.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 15 in Canyamel
474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cala Mesquida
799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Predi Son Jaumell Hotel Rural
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Can Simoneta
Hotel Can Simoneta
#2 of 15 in Canyamel
236 reviews
35.1 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
1.5 mi away
Viva Cala Mesquida Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cases de Son Barbassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cases de Son Barbassa

Address: Diseminado Son Barbas s/n, 07580, Capdepera, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Capdepera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Capdepera
#10 Luxury Hotel in Capdepera
Price Range: £163 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cases de Son Barbassa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old houses surrounded by the Natural Park of Llevant, whose watchtower dates back to the 16th century are located at a few kms distance from the medieval centre of Capdepera, very close to Cala Mesquida and Cala Agulla beaches and at 5 minutes distance from the tourist centre of Cala Ratjada. The country estate has an area of 125.000 M2, divided into almond trees, olives trees and carob trees. The houses have 16 high comfort rooms available. Each of them has its own personality: rooms with panoramic balconies, 2 suites and rooms for families with children. We may emphasize the double family room with two intercommunicating rooms. Both breakfast and dinner can be served in outdoor terraces being surrounded by wild rose trees and the scent of lavender, or in the small indoor dining-rooms, where one may taste the products of our country estate. Fromm the swimming pool located on the hill summit, one may enjoy the best panoramic views of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cases de Son Barbassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cases De Son Barbassa Hotel Capdepera
Cases De Son Barbassa Majorca, Spain - Capdepera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing