We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, dismal service and average food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cases de Son Barbassa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Capdepera
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great potential, dismal service and average food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel design is beautiful with impressive spaces; we had a lovely room but not worth the junior suite rate paid of €250. . But night one the dinner service was chaotic and slow. Just not enough staff and having to wait 25 minutes to take even a drinks order was not good enough. Breakfast was much the same. Second night supper was a Mallorcan set menu with very average to poor food. Service was better as so few had opted for basic salad , steak and jacket potatoe as one of 2 options. A real disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    45
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were captivated by the peace and tranquility of this renovated finca. The room was beautifully renovated with a very modern bathroom and tastefully furnished. We ate breakfast outside with a wonderful selection of fruit and cold meats and freshly squeezed orange juice. The view was beautiful, The only sound was a donkey braying and a cockerel crowing. We ate dinner there on both nights, the first was a jazz evening too, a very pleasant surprise. Food was excellent, using a lot of ingredients from the garden. The swimming pool was amazing, with canopied beds, so comfortable and very peaceful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was so looking forward to visiting here. We had been recommended it by some friends we were holidaying with in Mallorca. The four of us arrived early on a beautiful evening and although we were early for our reservation, the staff where happy for us to look around and enjoys the views. I have to say that the hotel was stunning. We lounged in the very comfortable outside seating area were we had very good G&T's. Everything was looking good. We were eventually taken to our table and ordered from the a l'carte menu. The starters arrived and were very good. Then the main course arrived where I had ordered 'suckling pig' which is a Mallorcan speciality. But there was nothing special about it here. It was tough uncooked and just an inedible piece of meat. I turned it over to see if it was any better underneath but it was even more undercooked. I didn't eat any of it but not one member of staff asked me how our my meal was. The waiter that took our order and brought our meal never asked us. Another waiter who took our plates away never asked us (even though mine was an almost full plate!) And then the member of staff who brought the bill never asked. I know that I could have called over a member of staff to complain, but it is very difficult when you are dining with people who recommended the restaurant to us. It would have been much easier had one of the three people who served us that night took the trouble to ask. I almost believe that they didn't ask because they knew when my meal came out of the kitchen that it just wasnt cooked. It was not good, not good at all and my stomach still turns thinking about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ET1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our third time at Cases and we love it more every time we go. It's a beautiful hotel, fantastic food, amazing staff. We can't fault anything about here. It is a truly relaxing place that no matter how long you stay makes you feel at home.
Hasta el ano proximo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Booked 6 nights - very excited - first night in main hotel. Very hot rooms, air con not working ! Room 12 and 24 very bad smell.
Aiming 5 nights in the newer villa - 300 m from the hotel. No flexibility in terms of changing from hotel to villa. Leaving us with no other choise than staying at the pool. First warning - do not leave your bikini for drying at the pool. Second warning - do not leave your slippers around, the hotel maid removes them. Third warning, do not leave your towel, books and bikini at the pool, while going for an expensive lunch at the hotel. We came back to the villa and all our personal belongings were locked into one of our rooms - incl. Our keys. Other hotel guest explained to maid, that we just left for lunch, but the maid strolled all our personal belongings in one towel - and locked them in. Hotel management treated us as a family so critical - inclusive our very well-behaved children, that we felt a personal need to leave immediately to protect our children from any further incidents. Instead of apolygizing, the hotel has acted against all normal service standards ! We will never return to this hotel - and recommend any one not to book this very unusual badly serviced hotel. If you decide to go - remember to sign any bill for lunch, drinks and dinners - otherwise prepare yourself for finding many items, you never consumed - and how will you prove that ?

Room Tip: Do not choose the villa, if you are looking for a family treat. You are not allowed to use the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 090714MSG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonBarbassa, Propietario at Cases de Son Barbassa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
This family left the hotel without warning and without paying their bills. No comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family and I ( they are 5 of us) staying at the bendinat hotel near portals nous, which is a fantastic hotel which justifiably charges 3 times the rate of this place according to the latest published tarrif. We arrived last night at approx 7 pm for dinner and potentially looking at options for a rustic place to stay in the future. Before we had even reached the door a snooty looking waiter approached us and said he didnt think there was any space. We could have being looking to buy the place for all he knew he didn't even ask what we where after. Shocked and embarrassed I automatically asked when they would have space and he walked into the bad area and spoke to the person I assume was the owner/manager, I could clearly make out English, children in the description he subsequently gave. He returned a few mins later as I was already making my way back to the car (at the this point there where 5 cars parked total), and shouted after me sorry try again next week!!!
I can't believe I am staying this in 2013 but these people appear to have a problem with either children of English, either way I suggest you avoid. It looked total devoid of any atmosphere and clientele any way!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marina235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonBarbassa, Propietario at Cases de Son Barbassa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
First we wanted to apologize us for this misunderstood. We are really welcome to families with children both in our restaurant and hotel. The inconvenient were that the restaurant was already fully booked for that night and we ask our guests to come dressed up for dinner as a respect to others, not straight from the beach in bathing clothes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2013. We were situated away from main hotel. Room was pleasant and bathroom very spacious. Had access to pool which was very quiet - water temperature was perfect. Overall, accommodating and food were good, however, I would suggest a few tweaks to make this a perfect stay. Firstly the hair dryer was of poor quality and not to the standard of the amenities available. Secondly, it was disappointing to be told that any drinks (inc soft drinks) and food would be thrown away by cleaner if found in the room. I thought this was unnecessary and left a sour taste. Would probably return if they addressed few minor issues

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capdepera
0.8 mi away
Predi Son Jaumell Hotel Rural
5.0 mi away
Hotel Can Simoneta
Hotel Can Simoneta
#2 of 16 in Canyamel
224 reviews
35.1 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cala Mesquida
711 reviews
4.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
327 reviews
38.9 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cases de Son Barbassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cases de Son Barbassa

Property: Cases de Son Barbassa
Address: Diseminado Son Barbas s/n, 07580, Capdepera, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Capdepera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Capdepera
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capdepera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cases de Son Barbassa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old houses surrounded by the Natural Park of Llevant, whose watchtower dates back to the 16th century are located at a few kms distance from the medieval centre of Capdepera, very close to Cala Mesquida and Cala Agulla beaches and at 5 minutes distance from the tourist centre of Cala Ratjada. The country estate has an area of 125.000 M2, divided into almond trees, olives trees and carob trees. The houses have 16 high comfort rooms available. Each of them has its own personality: rooms with panoramic balconies, 2 suites and rooms for families with children. We may emphasize the double family room with two intercommunicating rooms. Both breakfast and dinner can be served in outdoor terraces being surrounded by wild rose trees and the scent of lavender, or in the small indoor dining-rooms, where one may taste the products of our country estate. Fromm the swimming pool located on the hill summit, one may enjoy the best panoramic views of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cases de Son Barbassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cases De Son Barbassa Hotel Capdepera
Cases De Son Barbassa Majorca, Spain - Capdepera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing