We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!!”
Review of Cuevas de Arta

Cuevas de Arta
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Capdepera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had this on our to do list & were so glad we did it! We went in the off season (in Dec & between Christmas & New Year) so it was particularly quiet. We had a guided tour through the caves - it was just the two of us & the guide! The experience was truly breathtaking - the cave really is something else...inside it is so quiet if you stop & listen you really only hear the faint dripping of water in the distance. I'm not sure if our experience would have been the same had we come in summer along with 4000 other tourists but this place is definitely worth a visit, 4000 other tourists or not!

Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    223
    63
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Caves de Arta”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Over a couple of years have the family visited the caves at Campanet, Drac and Arta and this attraction for pure spectacle is by far the best. A stunning set of caverns is accessed from the road level with guides very friendly and well informed. The view out to sea on completion of the tour is beautiful, but the steps down may be a challenge for less able visitors. The attraction is beyond Capdeperra on the coast, has excellent parking and if short on time during your stay the pick of the bunch. Go explore.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had a tour of the caves during a recent stay on Mallorca and found the guide to be very interesting and very informative. My young son really enjoyed exploring the caves too. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stockeronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab caves”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We visited the caves during a recent trip to Mallorca, there were seven in our group ranging from grandparents, a 17 year old and a 6 and 3 year old, so the whole range really.
The guided tour was interesting and our guide was friendly and seemed to enjoy her job. The light show was great, a lot less kitch then the boat trip at the caves of drach further down the coast.
Not the cheapest excursion but really enjoyable and a great opportunity to visit beautiful caves.

Helpful?
2 Thank Northernstar38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Trip to the underworld”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great caves connected by all kinds of tunnels and illuminated by humans. Definitely a fun day trip to take if you are in the area of Capdepera on the island of Mallorca. Rather large compared to other caves found everywhere on spanish, greek and italian islands and well organized in terms of tours, safety and maintenance, not cheap, but good value for what you will see. The tour guides are knowledgable and multilingual. The combination makes for a very interesting experience. However, if you suffer from asthma, have problem with blood pressure, diabetes, have weak knees or other health related conditions you may want to stay away from the caves. This is definitely not the advice by a medical doctor, but just common sense - you will be deep in the caves and it's hard to breathe there, no elevators either, so if you go down, it'll take them a while to get you out of there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuevas de Arta also viewed

Porto Cristo, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Cuevas de Arta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing