We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caves, Caves, is where the end of them”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cuevas de Arta

Cuevas de Arta
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Capdepera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Caves, Caves, is where the end of them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

On same week I visited both Caves of Arta and Dragon Caves. I must admit Caves of Arta are far better on everything except lake. Only because where is no lake in Caves of Arta.

I am not new to caves and have been to few before. Both on tours and wild. It is very impressive how they are selling those caves. All the lighting inside is well thought throw and planned. Installation called 'Hell and Haven' alone is worth coming here.

Very impressive is the vault type exit. Usually you enter and exit caves throw a small crag in the mountain, but this one is so huge. It feels very impressive and breathtaking.

The guide was well educated and spoke at least German, Spanish and English very well. It's a bit strange for a guide in my experience. I think he may be a scientist working at caves as both guide and explorer. At same time it is nice for guide to actually understand your questions and keep the conversation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NutMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    222
    61
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Caves In Mallorca, by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

On a recent trip to Mallorca with friends, we visited the Caves of Arta.

Having previously visited the Caves Of Drac, which are probably the most well known on the Island, I was not expecting these to be as good, but was wrong.

We visited in at the end of September, and it was fairly busy (not sure if its any busier on the summer), but we were taken into the caves in a fairly small group, by a well informed guide.

Unlike the caves of Drac, they do allow you to take pictures in these caves, and encourage you to touch the rock, and really get a feel for the cave.

The sea views are breathtaking, but be warned, there are a lot of steep steps to get to the cave, so maybe not suitable for parents with young children or those with walking difficulties.

If you only get a chance to visit one set of caves in Mallorca, then these are the ones you want to see.

Just one other word of warning, although these are called the caves of Arta, they are actually in Capdepera.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

What an experience. I remember coming to the caves years ago when I was a lot younger and alwasy found them fascinating even then. You take a tour of the caves with a guide and usually another group and are told how the caves were formed and about the history of them.
It's quite cold and you get the occassional drop of water down the back of your neck, but its definately worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carina110992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had this on our to do list & were so glad we did it! We went in the off season (in Dec & between Christmas & New Year) so it was particularly quiet. We had a guided tour through the caves - it was just the two of us & the guide! The experience was truly breathtaking - the cave really is something else...inside it is so quiet if you stop & listen you really only hear the faint dripping of water in the distance. I'm not sure if our experience would have been the same had we come in summer along with 4000 other tourists but this place is definitely worth a visit, 4000 other tourists or not!

Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Caves de Arta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Over a couple of years have the family visited the caves at Campanet, Drac and Arta and this attraction for pure spectacle is by far the best. A stunning set of caverns is accessed from the road level with guides very friendly and well informed. The view out to sea on completion of the tour is beautiful, but the steps down may be a challenge for less able visitors. The attraction is beyond Capdeperra on the coast, has excellent parking and if short on time during your stay the pick of the bunch. Go explore.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuevas de Arta also viewed

Porto Cristo, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Cuevas de Arta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing