We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in suite 5th Sept-19th Sept. Booked through Thomson A' La Carte.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hipotels Hipocampo Palace
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stayed in suite 5th Sept-19th Sept. Booked through Thomson A' La Carte.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

While in general agreement with all reviewers except the person kept up all night by the owners daughters wedding, (a one-off I imagine), I feel that I need to point out a few small issues which I found somewhat irritating given the stunning reviews on this hotel, and the fact that at £3500 for a two week stay I had been led to believe that this hotel was beyond reproach.
1. On arrival no welcome drink while checking in, as in other hotels in both Platinum and A la carte brochures, e.g. R.I.U. hotel chain.
2. No complementary drink or fresh fruit in room on arrival. Ditto.
3. No shop within Hotel (nearest Spar approx 150-200 metres).
4. Bedroom furniture of poor quality (black varnished and chipped) and sofa in living area being a 'Futon' type and not comfortable.
5. A unusually high number of young children in a hotel of this calibre, with buggy's being pushed around the dining room at both breakfast and dinner.
6. No alternative to buffet meals i.e. table d'hote, or a' la carte which for some of the more infirm clients would have been a considerable help.
7. Long queues at grill station with people milling around looking at the extensive range of food on offer.
8. Insufficient dining room staff rushed off their feet - no specialist wine waiter/sommellier.
9. Steam room, sauna and relaxation room not permanently operational and required a request at reception to switch on.
As previous reviewers have stated some suites in the annex overlook the mountains but do not receive any sun at any time of the day, and also overlook the rough area of ground which houses the numerous horses and donkeys. A better option in my opinion would be a pool view room.
The resort of Cala Millor has changed considerably (for the worse) since my last visit many years ago with the relative quiet of Cala Bona being the only redeeming feature.
In conclusion I feel that the dining experience is colouring a number of the reviews expressed on this site and while acknowleging that the food was of a very high standard the points which I have raised require some attention by management.

Room Tip: As peviously stated try for a pool view suite which are good value at £28 per day for a couple, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PHILIP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    107
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
170
237
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We are currently staying at the Hipotels Hipocampo Palace in Cala Millor, Mallorca.
We have rarely seen a hotel so fastidiously maintained from top to bottom, nor with staff so kind and helpful throughout the hotel.
Every item of furniture and furnishing is top class and well maintained. The beds and bedding so comfortable.The gardens beautifully kept  and  the garden furniture immaculate.
The food is of excellent quality and variety in abundant quantities. You will never starve in this hotel. The dining room is suitably equipped with pristine table linen
We were upgraded to a suite on arrival, so we were delighted when we were shown to our rooms, a very pleasant surprise, although they are situated in the annexe, 100yds across the road or via a bourgainvilla clad walkway and tunnel.
Usually we find that some small item will let down a hotel and I searched hard to find it, without success. Until however, I  spotted two small screw holes in a wall in  our room that had not been repaired after some maintenance issue. I happened to mention it to Tomeu on reception at 7pm on the way to dinner. When we returned shortly after the show at about 10.30, the holes had been neatly filled! That's attention to detail for you and the reason for the high standards here.
Despite the hotel's proximity to a popular resort it is set in an area of peace and tranquility, a real oasis. We are so pleased we came, we can only score 100℅ everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarkekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Never been back to a holiday hotel before but when looking for a relaxing place in the sun, we decided this could not be beat.
The rooms are light and airy, suites don't cost much more and are worth the extra. Everywhere is spotless even the garden area.
Food is fantastic, if anything more choice than when we went two years ago. Buffet style but lots of choice of meat and fish cooked to order. We were lucky enough to get a table on the terrace which was perfect.
The garden/pool area is ideal for relaxing with a good book or two. Ten day beds have been added to the well spaced out sunbeds making it even better than before. Excellent snacks avaiable at the pool bar, at reasonable prices.
The staff are wonderful, always helpful, not obtrusive but very friendly with excellent language skills.
We might even go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Arrival procedure was impeccable, whilst registering we where offered orange, cava or water. We had booked a suite and where escorted across the road by a porter who showed us round the suite but did not at any state even hint for a tip.

The hotel looks absolutely magnificent, the main building contains the rooms, dining room, fitness suite and reception. The annex is across the road and contains the suites. Our suite overlooked the pool. The sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The food incredibly good. We had booked half board and where not disappointed. Breakfast was an assortment of fresh fruit, full English, continental, or any combination of the three plus some I had not thought of. Coffee was excellent and plentiful. Dinner was, again, a buffet consisting of an infinite number of combinations. The chefs will cook what you want as you wait or you can pick and mix from a bewildering number of dishes laid out in the most tempting arrays.

The wine list is mostly Spanish but its easy enough to get something that suits. Any unfinished bottles are labeled and are presented next night. The waiting staff speak very good English and are very efficient and friendly.

The suite was large and airy, the bed, although firm, was very comfortable and there where masses of pillows and cushions. The air conditioning was quiet and very efficient. Water was steaming hot. However the cold water is not for British tummies! The staff all recommend bottled water for guests - even for brushing teeth. There was a double width veranda with views over the pool and garden with a backdrop of trees in the local Majorcan/African park.

However, some really silly little things made the difference between "Very Good" and "Excellent":

There where no Tea or Coffee facilities in the suite and to exacerbate that, no room service was available until after 0800 each morning - not a great state of affairs for early risers. The hotel did give us a kettle but only after lodging a €10 deposit! I found this vaguely insulting having spent the guts of £2K on the hotel.

The hotel did not provide a turn down service therefore towels where not changed at night.

There was a €14 charge for the room safe.

Water at dinner had to be paid for.

The above criticisms may seem petty but I have stayed in less salubrious establishments who offer all of the above as standard. And finally why-oh-why do hotels never police their own rule of "no towel booking" sun beds?

That apart, we had a wonderfully relaxing holiday in the most comfortable of surroundings.

Room Tip: Try for a suite overlooking the pool/garden area - the views are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayjayteeBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just back after 7 nights here - our third visit - it never disappoints.
If you want a quality hotel with delicious food then this is the place for you.
The quality of food and attention to detail in this hotel are second to none,
I recommend a suite - worth the upgrade.
Gala dinner on Fridays an absolute delight!
Very glad that there is no crazy sunbed claiming which happened on previous visits!
Friendly professional staff.
Dinner in the evening is something to really look forward to!
Cala Millor is not my favourite resort but this hotel definitely is! Give it a try! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for a suite - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

we came back on 1/9/13 after a week in this wonderful hotel. We had a suite overlooking the tennis courts at the back, very quiet. the room was perfect, the food absolutely five star. the hotel certainly lives up to its five star rating. no fight for sunbeds as there were plently in the extensive grounds. absolutley spotlessly clean, excellent staff who spoke excellent english. lovely pool, again spotlessly clean. great pool terrace/bar for snacks etc. the air con was superb too, in fact it was so good we had to turn it down as a bit chilly in the room!
i would thorougly recommend this hotel and my husband and i are intending to return.
the hotel was a 10 minute walk from the "promenade" on the sea front, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. you must try a "volcano" coctail at the Waikiki bar!
we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: if you have a suite it would be nice to ovelook the pool, it wont be noisy because after 6 there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondsparker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We came back from the Hipocampo Palace yesterday having spent the last week there and can only endorse what just about everyone else has said about it. It is a lovely hotel in a very nice resort and we will definitely be back.
We originally chose this hotel purely on Trip Adviser rating and comments and are so glad we did. It deserves all the plaudits it gets but there were one or two small things that prevented me giving it 5 stars.
Plus points:
* the food is outstanding and delicious. I am a very fussy eater but loved the food in this hotel. I had fresh fish every night and loads of freshly prepared fruit throughout the day. It would be easy to pile on the pounds here but equally so, it's very easy to eat healthily.
* the staff are lovely and very professional. Everyone is of a very high standard and customer care is paramount. Special mention to Carolina in the dining room who looked after us extremely well.
* the hotel itself and grounds are beautifully well maintained and spotlessly clean. There is a feeling of spaciousness and calm.
* nice room (not luxurious but perfectly adequate with a decent-sized bathroom) and fabulous air conditioning - so important for me.
* very reasonable bar prices and decent-enough entertainment in the evening if you didn't fancy venturing away from the hotel. Ok, it's not Vegas but it was enjoyable and passed an evening whilst we enjoyed a few drinks on the terrace after dinner.
* the hotel will repair any fault you report immediately. We had a faulty light fitting in the bathroom that was replaced quickly and without any fuss. We also had a leak from somewhere on our last night which was attended to immediately and effectively.
* the hotel is at the quieter end of what we felt was a very nice holiday town/resort. After reading some of the earlier reviews, I must admit I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. I thought Cala Millor was family friendly, spotlessly clean, well maintained with a beautiful beach and the sort of place I would happily recommend to friends. It caters principally for the German holidaymakers but that is never a bad thing in my experience because that means high standards. The hotel was heavily populated by German guests as well but everyone was polite and friendly. There are shops close by and an ATM.
Not so good points (for me anyway...)
* the beds were terribly hard/firm and uncomfortable The rooms were 4 star at most and the complementary bathroom products were not terribly good. Bring your own shower gel.
* the pool area was grassy and the sunbeds didn't have padded cushioning (unusually for a top range hotel) so it was quite uncomfortable after a while.
And that's it - very little to complain about. This is easily the best European holiday hotel I've stayed in and will be back. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for in this case. Thank you Hipocampo Palace - we'll see you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block facing the pool get the sun late afternoon/early evening if you like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#6 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
#12 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#5 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Hipocampo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Hipocampo Palace

Property: Hipotels Hipocampo Palace
Address: Calle Estanyol 13, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hipotels Hipocampo Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hipotels Hipocampo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Hipocampo Palace Hotel Cala Millor
Hipotels Hipocampo Palace Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing