We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB-U-LOUS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FAB-U-LOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay, The transfer from the airport was not good with no Rep on the coach & everyone was unsure on the correct drop off. But from the moment we walked into reception until when we left everything was perfect. The initial greeting from the reception team was very good with a glass of Caver as a welcome. Our room was 625, which gave a wonderful sea view. Lovely large room with a very large comfortable bed & a brilliant walk-in shower in the very modern bathroom, one small gripe, there was only 2 coat hangers, but everything else was superb & we even got a fresh bottle of water every day.
The dining room was nice & airy with choice of sitting & table for two, which you kept throughout your stay, the food was pretty good with loads of choices & lots of show cooking & the staff were very efficient. You could eat al-a-cart once during your stay in a separate restaurant which was waiter service & again the food was of a good quality. The bar areas were very nice with lots of different places to sit, but the waiter service was a bit slow, we did find that it was quicker to go to the bar, the prices were competitive to the area with the spirit measures being huge. The entertainment was poor for a Thomson Hotel, but there were signs that measures were being taken, in fact during our stay a young rep called Cara was recruited for a fortnight to boost the evenings and she certainly made a difference and filled the dance floor every time she performed. The sunbed issue did not effect us as we are beach people, but despite the managements best efforts, beds were still being reserved from 7am each morning.
Overall a superb hotel with very good staff & management, we did see some teething problems on a couple of occasions which were rectified quite quickly & every guest received a complimentary drink.

Room Tip: A high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    213
    50
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
1,087
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned after a lovely 11 night stay at this adult only hotel.
The hotel has been recently been refurbished to a very high standard. On arrival whilst checking in you are offered a drink which is a nice touch after travelling.
The rooms are modern and kept very clean with daily maid service, the bathroom is a good size and has a large walk-in shower and always plenty of hot water.
We upgraded to a sea view room with balcony which was on the third floor and had very good views of both the sea, pool and promenade.
The restaurant has two sittings for dinner and you are offered a table on your first evening that is yours every night during your stay which we really enjoyed. There was always a good selection of food. My only gripe would be at breakfast you are offered a pot of coffee but tea you have to go and get it yourselves from a machine, i just feel a pot of tea at the table would be better.
The pool is kept clean however I would like to point out that the steps into the pool are hard to see and could do with being a different colour.
We paid an additional fee to upgrade to be all inclusive, which is good during the day for ice-cream, soft or hot drinks and lunch however only some spirits are included.
The sun bed issue did not bother us and have never been on a holiday when you don't have the need to get up early if you want a bed, on a hot day most beds are taken by 8 am.
The only real disappointment for us was the evening entertainment, this hotel is a Thomson couples and there was not much of a variety and very repetitive plus they kept playing the same cd over and over. They could also do with more adults activities around the hotel during the day.
We would be more than happy to return to this hotel but it is a shame that we have heard that they are stopping all inclusive next year.

Room Tip: we had room 325 which we would recommend for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tintinHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel was excellent, the food was great the entertainment was getting there. The staff were amazing. Thomson however were not good at all. We had no rep on our coach and no one to tell us were to get off. The rep was ok.
But we had a brilliant holiday thanks to the lovely hotel and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor for a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank debbie7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just arrived back after week at hotel which is absolutely lovely. We stayed in room 319 side sea view which was perfect - loved the walk in shower and the touchpad that controlled lights was amazing. We had water, tea, coffee and shower gel etc replenished everyday and the room was kept spotless by the maid.

The pool is lovely and yes they could do with more sun beds but we managed to get them on most days and even on the mornings we went to the beach, we found empty ones on our return. The elephant area is lovely especially the jazzuci and perfect for those who just want to chill out

In the evening the hotel is all lit up and the pool lights are twinkling stars - amazing.

All the staff (especially the dining room staff) are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Do try the al la carte restaurant the meal was lovely. Having the same table for dinner every evening was great and changing sittings on two evenings we were going out was not a problem. We were being picked up at 5.25 am for our return flight and the hotel laid on breakfast at 4.30 am which we did not expect.

The hotel manager is always visible around the hotel and is very approachable.

We met lots of lovely people at the hotel and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Side sea view was great view do beach,sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RobertaN248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went to Cala Millor to surprise friends on their 25th anniversary, we couldnt get into this hotel but we did visit it to meet up with our friends and have a drink with them. This is a bit of cheeky review but hey ho. Clearly they have spent a lot of money and have put a lot of thought into the refurb, this has created a hotel that looks and feels great in the public spaces (obvs cant speak for the rooms). The Elephant bar area was super but the pool area seemed a little crowded /sun beds may have been a problem for guests. Bar staff were very friendly and helpful - easy to build a good rapport with. Right on beach front and adjacent to cafe del sol - so well placed. Our Friends thought it was fab and had a great time at the Protur Playa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday. The hotel was completely massively refurbished throughout and reopened in May this year, the result being an upmarket hotel with excellent facilities. A well run hotel.

The good bits - superb bedrooms and walk-in double sized shower with effective air conditioning. Recommend a front facing see view or pool view room, well worth the extra cost. The bedrooms are cleaned and made up every day. Hotel spotless throughout and all the staff are very friendly and attentive. Dinner times are 6.30pm & 8.15pm which suited us fine - the restaurant is self service with a good selection of quality food and with a chefs area for hot choices such as meat, fish etc. the hotel is adults only which was a real bonus for us as much as we love kids we wanted a break from them!

The not so good bits - as with other advisor comments the sun beds are a real issue, no doubt about it & you have to reserve a bed by 7.45am otherwise there's non available-there simply is not enough sun beds for all the hotel and doubtful if there's space for more! A suggestion put to the hotel is to offer an alternative beach facility and provide guests with beach sun umbrellas when no sun beds are available around the pool-the beach is simply a minute away across the promenade. The dinner code was not enforced resulting in many guests just entering in shorts, flip-flops etc. There is wifi throughout the hotel area but it is painfully slow! There are just 2 lifts so at the best of times you have to 'wait' and during our stay every day one lift was inoperative and sometimes both were out of order which meant a stair walk which was quite an effort for those on the higher floors.

However all in all a comfortable stay and would recommend this hotel which is at the quieter end of Cala Millor.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view front facing room 4th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank South_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

sun beds at this hotel are a big issue .more in a bit . the hotel has a had a refurb to a high standard. all décor is fresh & modern. our room was on the 5th floor with teriffic views to the sea & beach. the walk-in shower is one of the best that we have ever had !!. food is ok not brilliant fair choice & quality. restaurant manager is outstanding. all staff were friendly & helpful all area are ver clean. The hotels location is superb for a stroll along the prom into cala millor & bit further to cala bona. lots of bars & choice. Now the sun beds its a Joke people getting up a silly o clock to reserve the beds the hotel did adopt a not before 8 a.m policy but quess what we saw people way before then. we couldn't get beds so complained to the Thompson rep who said the hotel was doing all it could to sort ( THEY NEVER DID .) there is too much wasted space around the pool area & the chill area is not a good use of space either don't get me wrong its all very nice but a bit OTT.
we were told that the all inclusive option was being dropped from this hotel next year to ease the sunbed problem. I was going to give this hotel a lesser review but I think its a work in process maybe in 1-2 years they may have got the wrong things right and improved. don't be put off its generaly very good but not as good as it could be.

Room Tip: choose a room on a high floor over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank paulbennett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#7 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#5 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel

Property: Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel
Address: Urbanizacion Sa Maniga, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing