We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and a brilliant location.”
Review of Hotel Talayot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Talayot
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We wanted a chill out time and this was just right for us. Our room was small but with lots of storage and a large bathroom. We had a side sea view room near the front of the hotel so we did get a good view but the low walls between the balconies didn't give much privacy and had there been a different mix of people at the hotel, I'd have been more worried about security. The staff were always friendly and kept the hotel spotless. Food wasn't particularly exciting, but it was hot and plentiful, although I think a vegetarian might struggle with lack of choice.
At the front of the hotel on the first floor, there's a lovely big terrace over looking the sea. In the evening it was a great place to sit with a glass or two of wine. We always managed to get a sunbed around the pool. Lovely quiet area, surrounded by trees. No music being played or aerobics in the pool.
The Talayot may come across as a bit old fashioned, but there's nothing wrong with that. We enjoyed our holiday. The location was brilliant with lots of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.
SINGLES BEWARE THOUGH. We spoke to several at the hotel who although they'd paid a single supplement, ended up with a room overlooking an inner space. Very claustrophobic, they said. One lady was in tears and wanted to go home. A couple of them paid extra again to be upgraded to a balcony room. If you want to at least see the sky, make sure you pay for a balcony.
The hotel and the area are just right for chilling out if you're quite happy to do your own thing and don't need entertaining.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cocoonbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Talayot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

1. Sea View Rooms worth the extra.
2. Low Key atmosphere.
3. Good Food.
4. Mainly UK over 50s guests.
5. Close to beach and town.
6. On the flat and level pedestrian promenade.
7. Near Bus Stops.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank holidayman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

clean, friendly helpful staff, beds rock hard. slept on sofa. wont be goin back thats a definate. Entertainment if thats what u want to call it was terrible and a marking of 1 out of 10. Food so much like all inclusive so we ate out for the 6 nights out of 7. No im not a snob but thought this hotel was a thomson cruise special attraction. Thomsons need to sort this place out. So depressing yu could hear a pin drop. Lovely island to explore and we had a fab time not letting this so called home spoil our hols.Were in our early 60s but young at heart so take note of my comment so that you dont get misled by other reviews and im being honest here. The views from the hotel brilliant cant fault that. however if you want a sea view its extra money and also the fridge is locked in your room and thats a charge too. never heard of this before! All round we loved our holiday and had at least fab weather and beach is great. So if your an OAP and lively (like we are) beware. Dont think for one minute you will be entertained at night. So im afraid no more thomson hotels for us until they change things, as holidays are about enjoying yr hotel too. But not at this hotel im afraid.

Room Tip: extra charge for sea view im afraid
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KAYLEIGH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is a good quality 3 star hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is spotless. The food quality is good although there is a limited selection but I felt this helped with keeping the quality high. The hotel is in a good location for Cala Millor beach or Cala Bona Harbour. I read some reviews before I went and would comment that the person who complained about there being no free orange juice in the evening was being over optimistic as you would not get free anything even in a five star. My only comment about the hotel would be that you could hear other guests talking in their rooms and that the balconies needed to be more private. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Talayot in Cala Millor, Majorca and were pleasantly surprised at what we found. After reading some reviews on Trip Advisor we were expecting to be met by a flood of walking frames, wheelchairs and walking sticks. There were maybe more older generation than you would expect to meet in a hotel but plenty of people from all age groups, from 2yrs upwards. We were given a very warm welcome by the staff in reception and then made our way to our room. Our room was larger than a lot of 3 star hotel rooms that we have stayed in around the world and the bathroom was of a generous size. The room was provided with a kettle, cups and saucers and spoons, if we had not taken our own coffee with us we could have purchased some from reception, this goes for tea as well and of course bottled water too. There was a television in the room and some people might complain at the size of it, it was a little small, but we do not go on holiday to sit in our room and watch the T.V., What was nice about the T.V. was that a good number of the channels were in English, which is most unusual for hotels abroad. You could hire a safe for a nominal fee, as well as an iron and ironing board. Our room had what you would call a side sea view but it was still a very good view of the sea, from our large balcony. The room was kept spotlessly clean, the towels were changed when we required them to be and the bed linen was changed once during the week we stayed there. The food was of a very good standard, the breakfast was a good selection of cooked and continental style and the evening meal always had a good range of fish and meat, salads and puddings, not forgeting 2 types of soup. Entertainment was variable,of the 7 nights we were there we thouroughly enjoyed 4 of the evenings. Dave Collins singing and playing his guitar, Dejavou a couple one on keyboard and a lady singer, Fallon a comedy magician and an evening of Flamenco. But as we were in a three star hotel we did not expect international cabaret stars! The indoor swimming pool was nice and warm, the outdoor pool was provided with plenty of sun loungers to go round. One thing the Talayot has got going for it is LOCATION, just 50metres from a flat promenade that stretches for a long way. If you do not fancy a walk along the prom. why not hire one of the bikes, 2 or 4 wheeled, that can take from 2 to 6 people. There are peddle go-karts for the children and also all manner of push along carts for the younger generation. There is a well marked bike lane, so remember to look behind you now and again. I can understand the older generation using the Talayot as they get well fed, well looked after and probably feel right at home, as we did. The staff are very friendly, efficient and most helpful, keep up the good work Talayot, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank mickeyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We knew what to expect from this Hotel, and yes it does have a predomitably older clientele, but I prefer a quieter resort and don't want 'kids clubs' and a heaving modern hotel. We travelled with 4 generations of our family, and all of us enjoyed ourselves. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, the cleaning was done to an acceptable & unobstrusive standard. The food, as with a lot of places has to be rotated into different meals each day, financially I don't suppose there is any other way it can be done. All the food was hot, fresh and if you didn't like something, there was nothing to stop you going to get something else. I personally like having a set table, and I'm sure if you weren't happy, Gregory would be more than happy to move you. The downside, for me was the entertainment, if you don't like bingo you've had it!! DJ Tony does his best to accomodate everyones musical tastes. Fallon was hilarious, as were a couple of the other acts, but still it needs an overhaul. Can't wait for next year....

Room Tip: Higher floors, with a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smurf3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

After reading some of these reviews, I wonder if it was the same Hotel! I am a 25 year old female and went to the Talayot with Family.
The Hotel is a 3 star, and personally i would rate it as 4 star. The staff were amazing, always friendly and helpful. The food was what you would expect, I had no complaints! The cleaners were lovely, always stopping to say "Hola" My room was always perfect.
The entertainment maybe was the only downside most nights...unless you like Bingo! But there are other places to go near the Hotel!
I am already looking into booking there agin next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RachelB259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#14 of 58 in Cala Millor
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#5 of 58 in Cala Millor
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
smartline La Santa Maria
smartline La Santa Maria
#31 of 58 in Cala Millor
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talayot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talayot

Address: Calle Sard 2, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#9 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Talayot 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talayot is a 3-star hotel in Majorca which enjoys an excellent location at the seafront, in a pedestrian area on the Bay of Cala Millor, surrounded by a virgin coastline that makes up Punta Amer Natural Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Talayot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talayot Hotel Cala Millor
Talayot Cala Millor
Hotel Talayot Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing