We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, welcoming, stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Talayot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Talayot
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming, stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Having looked at the reviews for this hotel we had high expectations. I can safely say that these expectations were matched. The hotel is very friendly and welcoming.

As a couple we were travelling abroad with our baby for the first time. We were nervous about what to expect. The hotel provided us with a cot in our bedroom and all the staff made an effort to engage our daughter and make a fuss of her. Yes the hotel is slightly dated, but the reception area is spotless and neat. The rooms could do with an upgrade but they fulfilled our needs. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and the maid came every day to clean our room. We had a lovely view of the sea, if you can catch the sun rise in the morning it is rather beautiful.

We did not use the outdoor area as the weather wasn't warm enough, but it looked good. The indoor pool is excellent, nice and warm, with a Jacuzzi for 20c and hot showers.

The restaurant provided us with a high chair for our daughter, I don't think they were prepared enough for a messy baby! The quality of the food was standard for a 3 star hotel, the fresh grilled meats and fish were really nice and there were plenty of salads and other dishes to choose from. Lots of different desserts and fruit too. Breakfast was good, lots of your full English on offer as well as continental.

The entertainment in the evening was fun, bingo, quizzes, and music. We didn't stay for the later music acts. Beer prices were average. Activities in the day range from local walks, indoor golf, and pool. It is worth joining in as you get to know people in the hotel and you can have a laugh. Book for the paella demonstration on a Wednesday, it is delicious!

Some gripes included having to 'rent' the fridge in the room and having to pay for the safety deposit box €20. WIFI was strangely slow for normal browsing, but fast for watching videos and you could only access on one device, this was €15 for the week.

There was also no aircon. when we queried this we were told that it doesn't get turned on until later in the season, which we accepted as it was early season when we went, and we soon got acclimatised anyway!

Overall... Very Good indeed!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a sea view. No noise in the evening and a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avelocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    229
    59
    16
    12
See reviews for
161
287
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Talayot has the feel of being managed by a family rather than a company. The staff are very friendly and have a laid-back, yet professional, approach. The sea views make the upgrade fee worthwhile.
It may have a slightly dated feel but that is part of its charm. Probably not ideal for the younger set ... that applies to the resort too.
It is not worth paying extra for full board as lunch only consists of simple food from the bar. It is better to purchase 'as required' as it is no more expensive to do so.
(In fairness to the Hotel, on both weekends of our stay the buffet was opened for a large Spanish group and we were told that we could use the restaurant buffet provided for them).
Unable to comment on the pool or evening entertainment as we did not use the facilities. (The entertainment sounded very enjoyable from our bedroom at the front -second floor. That is not a complaint but do be aware of the fact if you prefer quiet early night.)
Beds were comfortable with quite deep mattresses.
The centres of Cala Bona and Cala Millor are in easy walking distance along the extremely pleasant sea front. An assortment of bikes* can be hired for riding along a designated cycleway that spans the entire bay along the sea front. (*For one to six people plus children).
The local cafes felt friendly and welcoming.
Definitely a hotel and resort that we shall be returning to. Both are good places to chill out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We must have arrived behind another coach as the queue for check in was oiut to the pavement but they were so organised that each couple's check in was speedy.
On arrival in our room I saw what previous reviewers had meant about dated. Even the biggest fans of the Talayot would have to admit they are basic but functional albeit on the large side.
However on pulling back the curtains the wonderful sea view made up for the dated furnishings.
If you want to sleep before midnight request a pool view room at the back as the entertainment will keep you awake until midnight.
We normally book apartments so are used to making our own entertainment but we found the guy organising it to be very friendly and helpful when we did pop in for a drink in the bar.
We found the staff to be really good apart from the little bar waiter who was ok and the night reception chap (brother ?) who was a little offhand but not quite enough to receive some verbal from me.
One bad point in the restaurant there was a table near us with a young child and for 2 days the mess the child made was on the floor near their table it definitely had not been cleared up.
We found the food to be pretty good about what we expected or maybe a little better.
One other minus point is the lack of beach nearby which I haven't seen mentioned.
The main C Millor beach is not far but the hotel is on a rocky but with no sand nearby whereas the Levante is directly on a sandy beach.
We found bar prices ok Pint of beer E2.30 and bottle of wine E9 and coffee E1.80 bottle of water E1.80 but avoid a half pint of beer which is poor value at E1.80
they have a happy hour in the bar with a bit off certain drinks every evening but it is not half price or 2 for 1.
Our main complaint was room remperature. The room was always hot and the air con only blew hot air which left us with a very noisy fan and an open patio door to let the breeze in.
It was strange that we both had probably our worst sleep ever on holiday due to the previous + the rock hard pillows (bolsters) even though the hotel is generally quiet with only a handful of ignorant people coming back to theor rooms pissed in the early hours.
Overall a lovely holiday and the amount of German visitors in the resort told us that C Millor is a bit more upmarket than the Palma end with its union jack shorts crowd.
Oh and great cycle paths as well if you hire bikes (E5) so you can see other places

Room Tip: front for view back for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ministerscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

.....what this hotel lacks in stars it more than makes up for in hospitality.
It is clean and comfortable.
The staff were brilliant with a special mention to Santi (Santino), the entertainment manager, and Gabby (Gabriele) one of the bar staff.
Normally we are independant travellers and this is the first time we have been on a "package" holiday for a very long time and we were really pleasantly surprised with the whole experience.
We may not have had a sea view room but that didn't matter. We weren't there to stay in our room for any longer than needed to sleep - although we did get into the habit of an afternoon siesta!!
The room we were in (# 209) was at the back of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool.
It was basic but clean.
We had a safe but had to pay for the key - EUR20.00 for the week with EUR3.00 being a returnable deposit
There was a kettle and cups available but you had to buy tea, coffee and milk. You could buy packs from Reception but you'd be better taking your own from home and then buying the milk elsewhere.
We didn't use Room Service so can't comment on that.
We booked half board and took advantage of the breakfasts and evening meals.
The food was very well cooked and the variety was OK.
Have a good, big breakfast and that could see you through to the evening!
Having said that, we found a few lovely places to have lunch if we wanted it
The location of the hotel couldn't have been better.
Turn left and you're in Cala Bona, turn right and you're in Cala Millor.
The hotel has WiFi - for a price - EUR15.00 for the week

Room Tip: If you can choose a room at the front of the hotel, try for one on the second floor or above. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank asan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

after an hours drive from palma,arrived at nice looking hotel.check in smooth.room<single> smallish but adequate.first surprise was to be allocated a "seat" for the week.why this was necessary i'm still not too sure.redolent of 'butlins' in the seventies.dinner was standard buffet fare.it was neither good nor bad.some went out for dinner instead,many prefered to eat in,as did i.sometimes it was better than others<personal taste>some enjoyed it immensely.breakfast was very good and very british.location is ideal,as it lies between calas bona and millor.everywhere easy to walk to,except in off season many places are simply closed.evening 'entertainment' is on site.also not everybodies cup of tea<i.e bingo>bar is nice and staff are friendly and helpful.if one like to leave england,sit on a plane for two hours,only to be in mallorcan'england',i advise strongly you visit here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

On arriving at the hotel every thing was handled smoothly we had a corner room with a double balcony tea making equipment was in the room which was a blessing.The rooms were a bit old but still okay. As it was just the beginning of the season not quite every thing was up to gear.THe staff were pleasant and very helpful entertainment was amusing especiaaly Sante with his routine.in all a good holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justme123515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Overall a very good experience at the Talayot. Some called the rooms basic but to be honest I don't know what they wanted. You're in a reasonably priced 3 star hotel, and you have a telly (with a LOT more english channels than I was expecting! With BBC and all the rest, not like some places where you get like CNN news and that's it!) you have a lovely shower, a nice bathroom all round in fact, decent, comfortable beds, a ceiling fan that does a perfectly acceptable job. You have a fridge and tea & coffee making facilities, plenty of wardrobe space etc etc. The sea views were lovely! We didn't have a room on the front of the hotel, we were on the side, but since the hotel is literally the width of the average street from the sea, they're pretty much all sea view rooms, even though some people seem to find it impossible to turn to their left or right to actually get a sea view...

We both slept very well every night but one, when it was exceptionally hot and the humidity made sleeping very difficult. This can't be helped obviously and apart from this we found the beds to be very comfortable. However this is a very personal thing and so others might disagree with me.

And one other thing: Our room was absolutely spotless. I know it's a consideration for everyone, and some people can go way over the top on this issue, but I thought that the cleanliness of the Talayot was exceptional. Seriously, for the price we paid, and considering this hotel is 3*, we could not possibly have expected more from our room.

Now, other areas of the hotel:

What can I say, other than not bad at all! The bar I found to be very good. It was very reasonably priced compared to some hotel bars I have experienced before, and everything we got was very nice and a good standard. The guy who ran the bar (dead ringer for Manuel in Fawlty Towers) was a very friendly, outgoing but respectful; chatty and friendly but not overly so.

Our only real criticisms of the hotel (I can't even really call them criticisms, as they are purely a subject of tastes rather than anything else) was the entertainment on offer and the food.

I'll start with the food. We stayed on a half board basis, and had our tea in the hotel the first 2 nights of our stay. We just weren't that keen to be honest. We couldn't put our finger on why either. The staff in the dinging room were very good and very attentive, there was a decent selection, and things that were meant to be hot were hot, and things that were meant to be cold were cold. Again it was very clean. However after 2 nights of eating in the hotel, we just were not bothered about doing it again, and so we ate out the rest of the week. This is not an issue however, as you have a choice of various restaurants and bars serving food all day til and all evening, and when I say near the hotel, I mean literally a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel door, maximum. One other thing we were pleasantly surprised about was the prices and quality of these restaurants and bars. A particular favourite of ours was a little pizzeria with tables outside and a takeaway service called Carlo's. The pizzas here were among the best I've ever eaten and definitely worth having a go!!

A couple of doors along the promenade you have Brother Bears. This is a bar and restaurant where we stopped for a drink a few times (get their 2 for 1 offer, you won't be sorry, especially if you try their Pina Colada!) and they had unlimited ribs for only a few euro. As I said, both these places are a couple of minutes from the hotel.

The entertainment in the Talayot again wasn't really to our taste. We are in our mid-twenties, and the entertainment is aimed a little bit more at the older guests, with Bingo, dancing, and professional flamenco dancers brought in, so we would head off into Cala Millor to suit ourselves at one of the cocktail bars along the prom.

For those interested in pools, the one at Talayot is not a huge one like you may find at some hotels, but nor is it as small as many you see either. It is a perfectly adequate size for the amount of people who were using it while we were there, and they had plenty of space to swim. The whole pool area was spotless again, like the rest of the hotel, and kept in very good order. The sun loungers were in plentiful supply and in good condition, and the feel around the pool was relaxed and friendly, just like all the other public spaces in the hotel.

Location was also excellent. As I have already mentioned, you are the width of a street from the sea, and only a minute or so walk from bars and restaurants in either direction along the sea front.

All in all I recommend the Talayot very highly indeed. If you're looking for clubbing and action, steer well clear of this place and Cala Millor altogether, but if you're after a clean, decent hotel with an all round good vibe about the place at a very reasonable price, then you could do a LOT worse than to give Talayot a go. We were assured that they get a load of repeat custom, and that is generally a good sign for any hotel in my book. Barring the food, which I already said was a personal taste thing, not a comment on the hotel, I've not had a nicer hotel at this star rating and price.

As for the food, I'll let you make up your own mind.

Room Tip: Some people have said that if you were in a room on the front of the hotel where the entrance is, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#7 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#13 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Don Juan
Hipotels Don Juan
#17 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#5 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talayot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talayot

Property: Hotel Talayot
Address: Calle Son Sard, 2, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cala Millor
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#9 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Talayot 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talayot is a 3-star hotel in Majorca which enjoys an excellent location at the seafront, in a pedestrian area on the Bay of Cala Millor, surrounded by a virgin coastline that makes up Punta Amer Natural Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Talayot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talayot Hotel Cala Millor
Talayot Cala Millor
Hotel Talayot Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing