We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just returned from this hotel and was very disappointied in the variety of food, it was also never warm. We knew hotel was going to be largely German holiday makers but did not realise the quality and variety of food would be so bad. one night the choice fronm the grill was dry chicken, fish or hamburger. not exactly 4 *. Hotel itself was nice, lovely pool area. Can not comment on entertainment as we never stayed in hotel at night. Cala Millor a lovely place. Nice waks into Cala Bona and Sa Coma.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRADLEYHAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is our 10th or 11th year of staying at the Castell de Mar and, as ever, our stay has been brilliant. The staff are wonderful, helpful and friendly. The food is plentiful with so much choice. We really enjoyed breakfast on the balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel itself is clean, light, airy and has a wonderful friendly feeling. The pools are fantastic and there are plenty of loungers around the pool to enjoy the sun, with a view of the sea, for those who don't fancy the beach. All in all a wonderful and relaxing holiday with good entertainment. In all the years we have stayed at this hotel we have not been able to fault it or the staff.

Room Tip: Overall, front facing sea view rooms are a little quieter, not that the side sea view rooms are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Will start with the location which was perfect ...
On promenade overlooking sea and close to all amenities- spar supermarket next door. The promenade goes from cala millor right through to cala bona and is on the flat.
The food was good overall with a wide choice to choose from (buffet) at both breakfast and dinner. You were allocated a table for dinner which you kept for the whole of your stay - this worked well and saved time deciding where to sit! At breakfast you could sit anywhere and fresh coffee in a pot was brought to your table. The fresh orange juice is excellent.
The room we were allocated was on the second floor - this floor hasn't been refurbished yet and to be honest it is needed. However the rooms are clean and are kept looking as good as possible. Would have appreciated tea & coffee making facilities in the room!
Public area's are well kept and all staff were polite and helpful. The majority of the other guests are German who were in the main older couples and groups - we didn't have any issues and everyone was friendly and polite. Some staff do assume that everyone is German though and struggled a little with English- but nothing that couldn't be sorted.
Last week in sept is the tourist festival with lots going on - we weren't aware of it until we got there which was an added bonus. Overall a good holiday- would definitely go back when all rooms have been refurbished.

Stayed: September 2013
5  Thank Adale68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at Castell de Mar 24th Sept 2013 for one week. We did some research online and used Google Street to check out the area and all was as described.This hotel has two roads either side with a cul de sac for access to the beach, so no through traffic noise. The swimming pool area faces directly onto the pedestrian promenade which extends the length of the resort through to Cal Bona and the other side is onto the the pedestrian shopping strip which has all the shops, bars and restaurants and runs through to the middle of the resort.Location wise, cannot be faulted.The reception staff were very friendly and check in was so stress free and accompanied by a welcome fresh orange juice, which was a nice touch.The porter, a young man called Luis was very knowledgeable with local information delivered our luggage to room 212. This was on the 2nd floor with a sea view and although not yet refurbished like the upper floors, was clean and functional and the chamber maids maintained it so.The air conditioning does not go off when the key card is removed so you return to a cool room. On the first dining night, you are allocated your table for the week, this works well as there is no delay waiting for availability and breakfast time you can sit anywhere. The food was exceptional for all meals, breakfast ,real orange juice,English fry up or continental, coffee pot served by very polite waitresses who worked with quiet efficiency. The evening meals would have theme nights, Chinese, Asian ,Mexican,Mallorcan, together a good selection of cooked meats and veg and also salads. The quality was outstanding and piping hot.
The pool area is deceptively large with plenty of available sunbeds and always very clean and tidy.The tourists staying here are 90% German, of an older generation, and a few brits & others.THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM. We were treated without bias or favor just as any other guest.If you are looking for a quality 4 * with all the attributes as written then you can book with confidence and expect to enjoy your holiday.We have already decided to return next year.

Room Tip: Opt for refurbished high floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Midger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the sister hotel moro next door last year and enjoyed it so much booked again at the castell de mar, staff are wonderful very friendly and nothing too much trouble, hotel is majority Germans but we dont mind this as they are friendly and quiet, we had a junior suite as family of four, rooms above floor 6 have been modernised I believe by next year they will all be done, room was very clean, cleaned every day, food was excellent very wide choice for breakfast and evening meals fantastic, the chef cooks the meat and fish to order and it is all perfectly cooked, wide varitey and choice, activities in the day were plenty the staff work so hard from morning till night. Roshan is the manager and is excellent we went for a special birthday and were delighted with the bottle of bubbly and birthday cake, the staff are very pleasant, I would recommend this hotel to all, we plan to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HANDDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a good solid four star, location perfect, beach opposite the hotel & it's a great beach. Pool at hotel is very nice, one of the bigger pool areas I've seen.lots of little shops around the hotel & the surrounding area is all flat.
Food at hotel is good & it seems the wearing of trousers at dinner has been relaxed (thank god)..
The staff all do a great job we've had a great time 2 adults 2 children (4&6)..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teamvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I visited this hotel for 2 weeks in August. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a great position, virtually on the beach and close to bars and restaurants. Cala Bona is lovely and worth walking to in the evening.

The entertainment in the hotel is below average, but to be honest with so many bars on your door step there is no need to remain in the hotel in the evening. The majority of the guests are German, but we didn't find this an issue.

During our 2 week stay there were always plenty of sunbeds and there was no need to get up at 6am, which was great!

We had a refurbished room on the 10th floor, which was very modern and clean. Rooms from the 6th to the 12th floor were refurbished last year. It is worth paying the extra for a full sea view room as the beach is lovely.

All food was buffet style, we found this to be of a high standard and there was something for everyone most nights.

It is difficult to find fought with this hotel, but one minor gripe was the beds, they are particularly hard, but after the first few days we had all got use to them.

The staff work tirelessly to keep all guests happy, they always have a smile and go out of their way to assist.

Its worth hiring a car and getting out and about to see a bit more of the island. Porta Pollensa and the Caves of Drache are worth a visit.

Both Majorca and the hotel are lovely and we would have no hesitation in recommending.

Happy Hols!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room between the 6th and the 12th floor as these have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honeygirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 58 in Cala Millor
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#5 of 58 in Cala Millor
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 58 in Cala Millor
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#11 of 58 in Cala Millor
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#16 of 58 in Cala Millor
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
#10 of 58 in Cala Millor
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Castell de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Castell de Mar

Address: Lugar Platja Cala Millor, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#11 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: £63 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Castell de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most privileged places in the Bay of Cala Millor, right in front of the Beach, between the Pedestrian zone and beach Promenade, with an unobscured view of the Cristal clear Mediterranean , where the Guest can enjoy and watch the Sailing Boats go by, the long and attractive Beach and the Nature Reserve of Punta de N Amer. With Its privileged Location and all the necessary facilities for the modern day traveler the SENTIDO Castell de Mar will make your Holiday unforgettable. The SENTIDO Castell de Mar**** has 12 floors and 230 Rooms and all offering Sea View which allows you to enjoy the incredible Sunrises. All Rooms have Satellite TV and flat screen TV, Air condition /Heating, Wifi (free), Pillow menu (4 types to choose) and Minibar. The SENTIDO Castell de Mar **** is situated in close proximity of Golf Courses namely Pula Golf, Golf Son Servera, Golf Canyamel and Golf Capdepera,etc. Golf Packages can be done for groups and individuals on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO Castell de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Castell De Mar Hotel Cala Millor
Castell De Mar Cala Millor
Castell De Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Castell De Mar Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing