We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol Y Mar Cala Bona, Majorca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol y Mar Apartments
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just stayed here for 5 days in June - the coach driver just dropped us off on the main road and there were no signs for the Sol y Mar reception. You have to go around the corner to the reception for the Millor Gardens so it would have been helpful to know this before we arrived in the middle of the night! Once the check in was sorted we were given a key to get through all the doors and the two apart hotels are only a few minutes apart. The room we had was fine, two bedroom with a massive balcony and view of the beach across the road, pool area also ok. But there is no restaurant or bar here so we didn't really use the pool here. But you can use the facilities all day at Millor Gardens and just sleep here. The food and bar there are fine but it it predominately caters for Germans and all the signs are in Spanish / German and no English. No real entertainment to speak off though. As a group of adults without kids it probably wasn't the best place to stay but the bar was open and the food was ok and the weather was fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ev1ledna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

DO NOT BOOK THIS ALL INCLUSIVE!!!!!!!
The place does not have a restaurant or a bar, you need to treck up the road to the cala millor garden to get a drink or something to eat which again is catered for germans disgustin food, apartments atrocious may as well be closed you have been warned, had to move to another hotel downgrade to half board and still pay 200 quid Sunmaster was the agent booked with you have been warned....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

After reading many reviews, I was a little concerned but was pleasantly surpised. We arrived late and there was some bread, meats and salad waiting for us in our room. Ok the hotel is rather tired but was very clean and was typically Spanish with pretty outside eating area. The pool area was a bit on the small side and in high season would be very busy. We found the food quite tasty and NOT fly infeseted like some people have mentioned.

The location was superb, we enjoyed strolling along by the sea into Cala Millor.

The hotel is now closed until March next year, I think this hotel is best suited to couples staying out of season, and families should try some of the more modern (not so Spanish) hotesl that we saw along the prom.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NANAWYLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Arrived at the hotel with our two children aged 8 and 13, we were very hungry after a long journey ( 2 hrs 30 transfer!!!) the ENGLISH manager greeted us and directed us to our rooms . She said they were still serving lunch but then warned us that they are a very BASIC hotel and then said 'WELL YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!!!!'. me and my husband were in shock as we had paid £1328!!! well we expect more than basic for the price!!!!, anyway we put the luggage in our rooms and hit the restaurant to feed our hungry appetites!!!!! well yet again another shock!!!!! the food looked disgusting and tasted as bad as it looked (the flies seemed to enjoy it though!!!) My 8 yr old daughter was in tears as was so hungry but could not eat the SLOP!! to cut a long stry short we tryed to be moved but were offered other hotels for £300 more and they were no better!!!! We ate out every lunch and tea time and only ate breakfast as it was the only edible meal!!! No snacks for kids (only mouldy apples and biscuits!!!) ran out of cocktails the first day and never got any more, the same with the white wine on day 3, we had to purchase our own wine from the local spar!!! We have not ever stayed in a hotel like this, not one friendly member of staff all very very rude with no manners. Full of rude unfriendly germans that push in !!!!! Worst holiday we have ever had, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL FOUND OUT THAT IT USED TO BE A THOMSON HOTEL BUT THEY DROPPED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH ONE LAST THING IT LOOKS LIKE THE HOTEL IS ON THE BEACH.........IT ISNT, IT IS OVER THE ROAD AND THE BEACH IS HORRIBLE, VERY STONEY AND ROCKY FULL OF SEAWEED , SEA LOOKS LIKE BLACKPOOLS, BUT CALA MILLOR BEACH VERY NICE 15 MINS WALK!!!!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We arrived at Sol Y Mar after midnight, everything was closed in the hotel,The all inclusive finishes at 11.30pm. Our appartment was large and clean, rooms are cleaned every other day, with clean towels left.. In our apartment on arrival was , Breadrolls, cheese and ham , a large salad which was all nice after the journey.Food was nice with plenty of choice,Beware of the Germans pushing into the food que, they did it all the time Very Rude !!There is shops and bars nearby but most shuts at midnight Cala Miller is a 10 mins walk away ,it has lots more bars and they stay open later. the beach is nicer there too. We was even given a pack lunch for our journey home.We Enjoyed our stay, was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

After reading lots of negative reviews i was pretty worried about our holiday and my expectations were quite low.
We arrived at around midnight hungry and thirsty but bar etc was closed. We were very pleased when we got to our room and found a plate of bread rolls, cheese, ham, salad, cakes, fruit and a big bottle of water. This was very welcome and appreciated. Our 2 bed apartment was very large with 2 balconies. 1 overlooking the sea and the other of the pool. Apartment was dated and could do with a refurb(especially the bathroom) but then again we probably wouldn't be able to afford to stay there if it was done up. Rooms cleaned every other day with clean towels.

Food was fine, we never struggled to find something we liked and we had 3 kids with us. Don't think they are really geared up for all inclusive though as they didn't seem to have enough crockery, cutlery and glasses. Bar service was ok but some staff weren't friendly and changed the rules regularly. Some times you were only allowed 2 drinks per person and other times you could order as many as you wanted. Bit annoying when you have a toddler and young children with you who can't even reach the bar let alone order a drink. Glasses were very small as well.

Entertainment was virtually non existent, a childrens entertainer who worked hard to interact with guests but was a one man band. Nothing really for adults.

Lots of rude germans in the hotel who haven't learnt the simple words of please and Thankyou (think this is why the bar staff were a little unfriendly, if i was spoken to like them by the Germans then i don't think i'd be too happy either).

The pool was small but toddler area was adequate and fine for our children.

Staff seem to work very hard.

The hotel was better than we expected and we had a very enjoyable holiday and was fine for the money we paid.

TIP: Don't let them offer you the Sauna to shower at, if you have a late checkout, it's a disgusting health hazard and very unsafe. Think the whole area should be condemned. The Gym is unusable as is full of stagnent water and the indoor pool area/sauna etc smells disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMMID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel was good value, clean and tidy, nice pool area and just opposite the beach. Staff were friendly and the food was ok, not gourmet but alright. The resort is quiet and about 2 hours transfer by coach. Hotel was quiet after midnight and not excessively noisy during the evening.
We had a 2 bed app. Two singles in one room and bunk beds in the other, the bedrooms don't have air con but the lounge system was good and cooled the rooms down if the doors were open.
Overall i would recommend if you wanted a quiet resort and value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicstar726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Sea Don Jaime
Blue Sea Don Jaime
#56 of 60 in Cala Millor
984 reviews
1.2 mi away
smartline La Santa Maria
smartline La Santa Maria
#30 of 60 in Cala Millor
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cristina Villas  Apartments
Cristina Villas Apartments
#5 of 60 in Cala Millor
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Talayot
Hotel Talayot
#16 of 60 in Cala Millor
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elegance Vista Blava
Elegance Vista Blava
#40 of 60 in Cala Millor
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Mar Apartments

Address: Calle Na Llambies CM 57, 07559 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol y Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol y Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Apartments Hotel Cala Millor
Sol y Mar Apartments Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing