We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warning!!!!!! Don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol y Mar Apartments
Ranked #55 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“warning!!!!!! Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

You have to walk up the street to another hotel full of Germans to get your German style food, no drinks at hotel either again have to walk to other hotel for drinks! Shabby interior, hard as nails beds all in all complete let down

Room Tip: Go to la pinta in calla Millor, much nicer and close to a brill British bull dog bar
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Michellej1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    10
    6
    14
See reviews for
26
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked all inclusive as a family of 4 adults and 2 children. The apartments aren't that bad as all we used them for was to sleep in. There is no air con in the bedrooms and you need to Pay extra for a fan. The maids came every other day to change the towels but not once in 10 nights did our bed sheets get changed. I had to ask for clean sheets on the 9th night due to my baby being sick on them after drinking their so called long life milk! The pool area at sol y mar is nice, however very salty water and my daughter managed to cut all of her fingers and toes whilst in the pool.

There is no reception at sol y mar, you need to go up the road to Millor gardens for this and even to eat and drink. No one speaks good English and the signs are all in German and Spanish. This hotel is very German and very anti English.

The food is all written in Spanish and German and no waiter could explain what the food was. Most of it looked like something a dog chewed up and spat out! They do cook some form of potatoes at every meal...although they clearly have no idea what cooked potatoe looks like as the chips or wedges were always white and rock hard!

My baby wouldn't eat anything and lived on shop bought bananas, crisps and yogurts. My other daughter who is 9 lived on ham toasties and ice cream. The rest of us managed to eat out most days or just go without, seriously the food is THAT terrible! As for the drinks, you get these in plastic cups and are only entitled to certain drinks. Their famous sex on the beach cocktail tasted like water! As we were over the other hotel we tried to fill a bottle up with fanta from the bar but we wasn't allowed. Tried to explain that by the time we reach our own pool the drink is gone but all we got was no impossible!

We made friends with a few people which was nice, but the Germans were very rude and arguementative. They certainly tried to let us know English weren't welcome!

I was extremely worried when I read the reviews on this place but thought the good out weighed the bad! I was wrong!

Also, out of the 6 of us 4 have come down with a stomach bug. I've vomitted over 30 times already in the last 5 hours!!

Will never stay here again and I hope you manage to read this before you pay for your holiday, if you haven't, good luck

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamjamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala Millor hotels

Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is the worst all inclusive hotel i have ever stayed at!! it is more a 2 star not 3, you have to trek to a different hotel up the street everyday to get food an drinks. The staff hardly speak english so don't expect any help at reception. No reps or entertainment at all, the head bar man is extremely rude, also we asked for 2 malibu an cokes and was told we had to pay extra!! you are limited to drinks you can actually have. Food is discusting!!! they put fish in most things so we had to fill up on chips, bread an ice cream as there was nothin else edible, there was no signs in english and the waiters couldn't tell us what we were eating. Good thing is the rooms were clean an weather was good. Me and my friend laughed about how bad this hotel actually is, made some good friends but will not be returning EVER!

Room Tip: we asked for pool view but got a view of buildings and bushes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becky263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were suppose to stay here June 19th 2012 AI for a week,biggest joke ever was its got nowhere open to eat or drink,unless you like pool water lol,we went as a family and were discussed that we had a quater of.a mile to miller gardens for food and drink,the apartments were dingy dull and small,millor gardens full Germans food discusting,and we felt sorry for the people still arriving even though we complained and rang up DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE it's with Sun Master BEWARE they moved us but we were half board and it cost us 200pd plus all our lunches and drinks the sol y mar should be closed untill refurbed and is a proper AI place that it is advertised,and I don't know how anyone can say the rooms were fine one was the other had large bunk beds and you need to be like olive oil to get down the side,This part hotel is NOT closed untill next march at all and the millor gardens you would be very very lucky if you got a sunbed there,and ev1edna must be easily pleased with food if you thought it was fine it was rubbish'!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: You dont want to book a room here at all it's the worst place looks like a slum,agree about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just stayed here for 5 days in June - the coach driver just dropped us off on the main road and there were no signs for the Sol y Mar reception. You have to go around the corner to the reception for the Millor Gardens so it would have been helpful to know this before we arrived in the middle of the night! Once the check in was sorted we were given a key to get through all the doors and the two apart hotels are only a few minutes apart. The room we had was fine, two bedroom with a massive balcony and view of the beach across the road, pool area also ok. But there is no restaurant or bar here so we didn't really use the pool here. But you can use the facilities all day at Millor Gardens and just sleep here. The food and bar there are fine but it it predominately caters for Germans and all the signs are in Spanish / German and no English. No real entertainment to speak off though. As a group of adults without kids it probably wasn't the best place to stay but the bar was open and the food was ok and the weather was fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ev1ledna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winlaton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

DO NOT BOOK THIS ALL INCLUSIVE!!!!!!!
The place does not have a restaurant or a bar, you need to treck up the road to the cala millor garden to get a drink or something to eat which again is catered for germans disgustin food, apartments atrocious may as well be closed you have been warned, had to move to another hotel downgrade to half board and still pay 200 quid Sunmaster was the agent booked with you have been warned....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

After reading many reviews, I was a little concerned but was pleasantly surpised. We arrived late and there was some bread, meats and salad waiting for us in our room. Ok the hotel is rather tired but was very clean and was typically Spanish with pretty outside eating area. The pool area was a bit on the small side and in high season would be very busy. We found the food quite tasty and NOT fly infeseted like some people have mentioned.

The location was superb, we enjoyed strolling along by the sea into Cala Millor.

The hotel is now closed until March next year, I think this hotel is best suited to couples staying out of season, and families should try some of the more modern (not so Spanish) hotesl that we saw along the prom.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NANAWYLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
#17 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#12 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sabina Playa
Hotel Sabina Playa
#20 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smartline La Santa Maria
Smartline La Santa Maria
#37 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Mar Apartments

Property: Sol y Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Na Llambies CM 57, 07559 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol y Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sol y Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Apartments Hotel Cala Millor
Sol y Mar Apartments Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing