We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap basic break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol y Mar Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Millor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sol y Mar Apartments
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap basic break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was unable to book my usual apartment in Cala Bona this year so thought i would give Sol y Mar a try - the apartment is basic and clean (warning no kettle or toaster though). i would not bother going all inclusive if you are in these apartments as the main area is over the road where all food and drink are served (no food or drink available in the sol y mar annex) but as we went self catering it did not bother us. The pool area was quiet as everybody went over the road to the larger pool in the main building so was a nice relaxing area for sunbathing in the afternoon and no fighting for beds (this will prob change during kids summer hols though). good access to the supermarket just over the road that sold warm pastries and rolls. The cab did drop us off at the annex but it would have been a better idea to go first to the Millor Garden building but luckily a helpful local pointed us in the right direction, got picked up to return from the Millor Garden not the sol y mar annex. break was very good value for self catering.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    10
    6
    14
See reviews for
26
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked these apartments despite the terrible reviews on here because we were going self catering and they cost £50 for two of us for 6 nights! Location is excellent between Cala Bona and Cala Millor. One road to cross and you are on the promenade that runs between the two resorts. Rooms clean and well equipped for SC. Rooms, pool areas and hotel grounds cleaned daily.
Had to check in at hotel round the corner but as we had read reviews on here we were prepared for that.
If you can get it cheap and are happy for SC then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kopbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

As a German orientated Hotel, you do have to walk a very short distance to their sister Hotel Millor Garden to eat in resaurant or drinks both non + alchoholic, if all inclusive.
Apartments, pool, areas were clean.
PLEASE BE AWARE - We went all inclusive - although we didn't go hungry , all food / hotel signs AND the little entertainment were ALL IN GERMAN.
PLEASE BE AWARE - THE RECEPTION FOR STAYING AT SOL Y MAR IS IN MILLOR GARDEN. If you have hotel transfers and are dropped off by sol y mar - when you have booked in at Millor Garden PLEASE PLEASE - CHECK YOUR RETURN TRANSFER PICK UP SITE. As we & 6 others were told pick up was Millor garden and was LEFT STRANDED & HAD TO PAY APPROX 80 EUROS FOR TAXI TO GET US TO AIRPORT ON TIME. We can only presume the driver had his own manifest and their office had theirs resulting in him going to sol y mar to pick us up ?????? .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sperdy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

stay here for 1 week 1st august 2012 with my wife and 2 kids we had a great time there. ok its full of germans but you make your own holiday,food was ok and the drink .we stay across the road in sol y aparthotel only takes 2 min walk 2 get there not like other people have said in trip advisor.rooms were very clean.cala millor is only a 20 min walk lovely beaches there and plenty of bars so dont be put off what other people say.go and try it.the saff in the millor gardens are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

From the moment we arrived, our expectations fell dramatically. The taxi dropped us off at the Sol y Mar apartments (as advertised); however, we were surprised to find that the doors were locked. Since it was late at night (around twelve-ish) we began to panic a little. Luckily an English family took us to the second block (Millor Gardens). The receptionist was kind enough to take our luggage while we sat in the bar sipping free drinks in an all-German crowd (which was rather uncomfortable).
The staff promised a full English breakfast range which was non-existent, and replaced with food that was hardly edible. In the sweltering heat of the Mediterranean, as if the walk from one block to another wasn’t bad enough, the food was hardly worth it anyway. Scrambled egg and pasta-seriously? Feral cats would struggled to eat that muck.As far as catering is concerned, all I can say is KFC had a field day the minute we arrived.
In summary, the place was misrepresented. Avoid if possible!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala Millor hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

You have to walk up the street to another hotel full of Germans to get your German style food, no drinks at hotel either again have to walk to other hotel for drinks! Shabby interior, hard as nails beds all in all complete let down

Room Tip: Go to la pinta in calla Millor, much nicer and close to a brill British bull dog bar
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Michellej1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked all inclusive as a family of 4 adults and 2 children. The apartments aren't that bad as all we used them for was to sleep in. There is no air con in the bedrooms and you need to Pay extra for a fan. The maids came every other day to change the towels but not once in 10 nights did our bed sheets get changed. I had to ask for clean sheets on the 9th night due to my baby being sick on them after drinking their so called long life milk! The pool area at sol y mar is nice, however very salty water and my daughter managed to cut all of her fingers and toes whilst in the pool.

There is no reception at sol y mar, you need to go up the road to Millor gardens for this and even to eat and drink. No one speaks good English and the signs are all in German and Spanish. This hotel is very German and very anti English.

The food is all written in Spanish and German and no waiter could explain what the food was. Most of it looked like something a dog chewed up and spat out! They do cook some form of potatoes at every meal...although they clearly have no idea what cooked potatoe looks like as the chips or wedges were always white and rock hard!

My baby wouldn't eat anything and lived on shop bought bananas, crisps and yogurts. My other daughter who is 9 lived on ham toasties and ice cream. The rest of us managed to eat out most days or just go without, seriously the food is THAT terrible! As for the drinks, you get these in plastic cups and are only entitled to certain drinks. Their famous sex on the beach cocktail tasted like water! As we were over the other hotel we tried to fill a bottle up with fanta from the bar but we wasn't allowed. Tried to explain that by the time we reach our own pool the drink is gone but all we got was no impossible!

We made friends with a few people which was nice, but the Germans were very rude and arguementative. They certainly tried to let us know English weren't welcome!

I was extremely worried when I read the reviews on this place but thought the good out weighed the bad! I was wrong!

Also, out of the 6 of us 4 have come down with a stomach bug. I've vomitted over 30 times already in the last 5 hours!!

Will never stay here again and I hope you manage to read this before you pay for your holiday, if you haven't, good luck

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamjamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
#17 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marins Hotels
Marins Hotels
#15 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sabina Playa
Hotel Sabina Playa
#19 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Mar Apartments

Property: Sol y Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Na Llambies CM 57, 07559 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Apartments Hotel Cala Millor
Sol y Mar Apartments Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing