We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think carefully before selecting this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Don Pedro
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Tyne & Wear
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Think carefully before selecting this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

Based on other reviews posted on the web, we had high expectations of this hotel.

Upon entering the hotel, an overwhelming odour of what can only be described as "crude oil" was present.

The reception staff were friendly and courteous, happy to check us in and send us to our room.

The first challenge was getting a lift-it seems as if these devices are a popular toy for the wealth of unsupervised children in the hotel. As these lifts do not have proper doors like a typical European lift, this is the last place children should be playing.

After travelling down some floors, the lift actually stopped partly between floors, leaving me and my partner having to clamber out with our luggage.

Having worked our way along the tired and bare corridors, we finally found our room, number 313. I have to say that we were very disappointed with the quality on offer- the room was very basic and was not even clean. We had a thread bare chair to sit on, ants everywhere (we never left our suitcases open!), holes in our bedding and more worryingly, a large structural crack running right down the bedroom wall (see attached photo).

The room was also situated right next to a fire exit (again see photo) which was being incorrectly used by guests as a general route of entrance/egress and was littered with used coffee cups and glasses.

On going for our evening meal, we were most disappointed at the selection and quality of food on offer- after some dried up chips and pizza, we finally decided to go out to a restaurant instead.

After having a restless night and no longer being able to tolerate the "crude oil" smell which filled the hotel, we decided to check out early after only one night (7 nights booked!).

First we took breakfast- again, the quality was poor with dirty cutlery and glasses the norm.

A lady had a nasty accident during breakfast where she dropped a plate onto her leg and dislocated her knee. Having collapsed to the ground, the waiting staff ran to her assistance, but didn't have any first aid training. Before I could shout "no", the friendly waiter tried to bend her leg, causing her to yell with pain. A hotel this size with children really should have some first aid capability. All the meanwhile, other guests were squeezing around the lady lying on the floor in order to get their sausages and rashers from the servery before breakfast closed. This was the final straw for us.

Checking out with nowhere else to stay was still preferable to us versus continuing our stay. Fortunately we managed to get fixed up in an Iberostar Hotel in nearby Alcudia, which provided much superior facilities.

The Don Pedro is in a breathtakingly wonderful location but desperately requires renovation in order to make it acceptable by todays standards. As the expression goes, you get what you pay for.....

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mad_scientist_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

We booked the DP apts last minute and were very pleased. We knew they were only 2 star so never expected too much. You can't for the price you pay.!!!

The rooms are small and basic. We went self catering but ate out every night as plenty of restaurants and bars. Rooms have "small" kitchen area with fridge and sink but little else. No aircon but plenty of fans available at reasonable rates in addition to the one in the room. No tv, phone etc but who wants those on holiday !!

Pool is small but clean. No problems getting a sun bed. Kids had the pool to themselves most days.

Generally a quiet place but the location on the main road can result in quite a bit of traffic noise at night and early morning but no noise from lager louts etc.

Close to beach and resort centre. Head left when leaving the DP apts and continue up the road turning right at the top to find the busy bars etc.

To find the sea head straight across the road and keep walking. It's right in front of you. Five minutes tops.

Would advise against half baord / all incl etc as food / service didn't get good reviews from other guests we met. Apparently you walk to another hotel and get treated "second class".

  • Liked — Price was real VFM and very clean
  • Disliked — No aircon, traffic a bit noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Whitson98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

The Don Pedro apartments were a very pleasant surprise. We booked a budget holiday and weren't expecting much, so we were delighted that our apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean and the kitchen area was pretty well equipped, with everything you'd need for simple meals and snacks. Air conditioning would have been nice - but there was a fan, which made a big difference. Our apartment was cleaned three times a week, which was unusual for this price.

The view from our balcony was of the street, so not terribly scenic and there weren't much in the way of grounds or facilities (like a creche, tennis courts or underwater basket-weaving lessons), but the swimming pool was big considering the size of the complex. (I think there were only about 20 apartments).

There was a separate children's pool and It was nice and quiet during the day as most people went to the beach, which was only 2 minutes away, so no problem getting a sun lounger.

But the best thing was the bar/restaurant. It's popular with the locals, which says a lot about the quality. It was much cheaper than the tourist restaurants and sold really tasty home-cooked Mallorcan food. The service was fast and friendly and it had a lovely, welcoming atmosphere, with the police having supper at one table, three generations of a big local family at another, shy young couples on a date and the football on the television.

I'd definitely recommend the Don Pedro if you want a simple, relaxing holiday, with the beautiful beach and all the sea front attractions just a few minutes away - and a fantastic, fun restaurant just downstairs.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Copycat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

Fantastic family hotel. We stayed for a week fully exclusive. The food was good with a wide variety. Staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment was fun. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with young children.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suncolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2005

We went for a weeks stay at the Don Pedro hotel in aug 04 and it was lovely.The food certainly gets a 10/10 in our book.There was plenty of variety and enough to feed the 5000.We stopped in a studio which was a bit on the small side but comfy.The staff we're plesant and well presentedThe only bad thing was that most of the hotel entertainment was aimed at kids(which is a good thing if your travelling with kids of course).There is a local bus to take you to pollense if you fancy a few more lively activeties.The beaches either side of the hotel were clean but beware as you start to walk into the sea.It is extremely rocky and kills your feet for the first few yards.
Overall this is a lovely hotel in a quiet location so i would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#5 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Nina
Hotel La Nina
#43 of 65 in Cala Millor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Santa Maria Playa
Hotel La Santa Maria Playa
#50 of 65 in Cala Millor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biniamar
Biniamar
#27 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morito Club Hotel
Morito Club Hotel
#34 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pedro

Property: Don Pedro
Address: Avda Son Bon Temps 33, 7560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Pedro 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pedro Cala d Or
Don Pedro Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing