We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotlessly clean high quality apartments but over run with Germans!”
Review of Hotel Marins Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marins Playa
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“spotlessly clean high quality apartments but over run with Germans!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Travelled with my husband and 16 yr old daughter to a one bed apartment. It was ideal for us but wouldn't have been suitable if my son had come too. The bed in the lounge was a settee type with a pull-out further one underneath which would only be suitable for a young child. Whilst the beds in the bedroom were very comfy, my daughter (as well as our friend's daughter who also had the sofa bed in their apartment) complained that it was really uncomfortable.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and spacious with air conditioning (no charge). Balcony spacious and overlooked the bar but no problem with noise as it closed at 12 in the evenings. We were in block 1 which was really convenient for the pool etc.
Wifi 10 euros per device - extremely poor and not worth the money.
The pool area was extremely busy and there were loads of young German children as they break up from school at the beginning of July. Towels laid out as early as 7am but this is the first place I've ever seen someone removing towels from unattended sunbeds. We didn't watch the evening entertainment but aqua aerobics each day at lunchtime was a proper workout - thanks Cheryl, we really enjoyed it (and felt we could have a bit extra to eat at dinnertime lol!)
Both Cala Bona and Cala Millor are spotlessly clean as well with plenty of eating spots. We loved Oliva at the harbour at Cala Bona. Overall both food and drinks were very reasonable.
One thing worth a mention - the resort is about an hour from the airport but our transfer took 2 and a half hours due to the number of drop offs in nearby resorts.

Room Tip: Block 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodsie2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    89
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
107
86
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just returned from two weeks at the marins playa,a really good hotel,good position,we had a studio in block 2,everything you needed in it,very few English guests,but for us not a problem,we didn't eat at the hotel,because there were so many places to eat in cala millor/cala bona,excellent supermarket on site,lovely pasties/etc,nice and friendly staff always spoke,would reccomend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yasfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review as I sit on the sunbed! If you a British then beware. .. these apartments are full and we are the only British couple here!

So be prepared to have to get up at 7am to get a sunbed and put up with some of the ignorance that comes with it!

The studio we are staying in is lovely, it is in building 2 and looks to be recently refurbished, comfy beds, large bathroom. The whole complex is very clean! It is the ideal location for cala millor and cala bona, only 100m to the beach. We would definitely come back here if it wasn't for the amount of Germans, we felt unwelcome. All tv channels are in german too! Probably stay at the suites across the road next time

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygoerderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday in Cala Miillor.My husband and I went to celebrate our pearl anniversary (30yrs). We stayed at the Marins Playa hotel Cala Millor.We have never been to this resort before and usually go to Alcudia but thought we would try Cala Millor. We werent disappointed. We travelled on 30th May for a week.The Marins Playa is an aparthotel in a very good location, very quiet residential area , yet five minutes from the front.
We stayed self catering and we stayed in the number one block which is the main hotel. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed, we had plenty of plates, cutlery etc and the room was cleaned and towels changed daily.We tried to cook breakfast one morning but the two ring cooker was sooo slow we gave up and had some very nice breakfasts, out and about the resort. There were many places to eat.We ate on at some lovely places, we had fabulous tapas at
the tapas restaurant on the front, wonderful swordfish at yates restaurant and amazing fresh tuna and champagne sangria at the restaurant who's name escapes me, but they have lobsters in tank.
All in all we had a wonderful time.Cala Millor is a great resort with a fabulous beach, Cala Bona
was just too quiet for us. We will return to Cals Millor and the Marins Playa.


The pool area was very nice although ee never sat around the pool, and the entertainment left a lot to be desired snd seemed to consist of the animacion team in various roles. The clientele of the hotel is , mostjy german, and scandinavian.
We loved our week in Cala Millor it is a lovely resort with s fsbuloud beach. We mostly ate out and
had wonderful meals in yates were the swordfish was gorgeous, The tapas restaurant on the front fabulous meal and the restaurant whose nsme I cant remrmber(where they have lobsters) we had an amazing meal on our last night when I had freshly caught tuna and amazing champagne sangria all in all wonderful time.Wouldnt particularly recommend Cala Bona bit too quiet but will definitrly revisit Cala Millor and Marins Playa.
sh was gorgeous

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor, overlooking pool so could watch entertainment from balcony, handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spent 5 Nights in Marins Playa in Cala Millor, after moving from a sub-standard hotel in Sa Coma. We stayed in Marins 2. Our room was very modern and spacious, The Beds were memory foam, there was an option to request more or different pillows. The aircon kept the room cool. The bathroom was lovely and contemporary with all the best Porcelanosa fixtures and fittings, The walk in shower was cool with a rain forest shower as well as a normal shower, though as we traveled with a toddler, the absence of a bath was a little bit of a hindrance. The room was spotless and so were the pools and grounds. The pirate ship pool, complete with slides, was a big hit with the kids, and there were two other pools. The BiP supermarket on site is convenient, well stocked and one of the cheapest around. The hotel caters for all nationalities and there was a mix of German, Dutch, and English clientele; though the kids clubs and so on are catering mainly for German.
Staff were friendly and the location is great. Metres from the beach and only a short walk to Cala Bona marina or Cala Millor promenade.
Just wish we had booked here in the first place!

Room Tip: Marins had been recently modernised. Higher floors have sea and beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itchikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in the refurbished Block 2. Spotlessly clean & trendy. Fantastic walk in shower with 2 types of shower heads dependant on whether you want to get your hair wet. The bed & pillows so comfortable. Definitely get a good nights sleep. Stayed on 3rd floor good sea views. Room beside lifts but no noise. Most of rooms on our floor appeared 2 bedrooms but ours was one room. Lovely gardens and flowers in grounds. Very well kept. All hotel spotlessly clean. Loved the raised decking area, a certain sun trap. Plenty of varieties on offer at breakfast, usual fry up, continental style breakfasts, croissants, cereals, fruits, teas, coffees etc. eat as much as you like. Had evening meal one night. Great value at only 13.50e for full 3 courses. Excellent evening entertainment, the team put on a fantastic Moulin Rouge one evening. Great choreography. Special mention to Tarik & Monike, from front of house Reception Team, always very pleasant & professional. Almost forgot there's also a reasonably priced supermarket as well. Ideal if on self catering. Short walk to beach & its promenade. a lovely place to stroll along. This hotel attracts families with young children & tends to be extremely quiet in the evening once entertainment finished. This hotel provides excellent value for your money & leaves you in peace to get on with having a relaxing time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are just back from 5 Nights in Marins Playa in Cala Millor, we had a Fab Stay!!! We stayed in Marins 2 Block, and loved our room very modern and spacious, The Beds were memory mattresses very comfy, we had a big fridge and microwave in our room, and the large shower had a rain forest shower as well as a normal shower, the room was spotless and so were the pools and grounds, we really enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet each morning, and on our last night had the 13.50 euro buffet, very generous and to a High Standard for such a reasonable price, the Restaurant staff were all smiley and attentive. We also enjoyed the In house Entertainment Moulin Rogue on the last evening, very entertaining!!! We visited Reception everyday, and found Monike and Tariq very friendly and helpful, Tariq always had a Big Smile and was very knowledgeable. We just loved our Stay...BIG THANKYOU

Room Tip: Marins 2 overlooks the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#4 of 58 in Cala Millor
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 58 in Cala Millor
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 58 in Cala Millor
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#16 of 58 in Cala Millor
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Said
Hipotels Said
#11 of 58 in Cala Millor
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marins Cala Nau
Marins Cala Nau
#20 of 58 in Cala Millor
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marins Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marins Playa

Property: Hotel Marins Playa
Address: Carrer na Llambies, 41, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Marins Playa Suites)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#12 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marins Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not to be confused with the adult-only Marins Playa Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marins Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marins Playa Hotel Cala Millor
Marins Playa Cala Millor
Hotel Marins Playa Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing