We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but very few English mostly Germans”
Review of Hotel Marins Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marins Playa
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks from 16th July to 30th July 2014. This is a very large hotel with different blocks to it. The day we arrived check in was very quick and pleasant, we were in block 5 which is across the rd from main building. The apartment was a studio as there were just the 2 of us, it was a good size and well equipped but no Microwave even though it said there was 1 when booked. The next morning around 9 we walked across the road to the swimming pool to lie beside pool!!!!!!! There was no chance of a sun bed there was nothing but towels on all the sun beds but no people, so next day we tried again same thing. We managed to get 2 sunbeds so we put our towels on and got ready to sun bathe only to find out that where our sun beds were the sun did not shine. So that's why they had not been taken. I watched guests coming out at 6.30 in morning to put their towels out!!!!!!! I found this to be very unfair and selfish of people. The hotel guests were mostly Germans very few English speaking guests. I did notice that most of the German guests were in the main block over looking the pools so was easy for them to get their sun beds early!!!!!!! I went into the main pool to have a swim and had to get out as the children and parents were jumping in almost on top of me. Quiet rude a lot of them. The entertainment at night would have been ok if you spoke German!!!!!! It was all geared towards them very little English spoken. Even the notices in the hotel were written in German. I feel this hotel favoured the Germans. The staff at hotel were all polite and friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. I would not return to marins playa but would return to cala millor/ cala bona lovely place.

Room Tip: If you want a sun bed main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buttsAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

hi we have just returned from 10 nights at the marnis playa and i can honestly say i would 1000% recommend this hotel to anyone we stayed in block 2 which the rooms are stunning very modern and spacious over looks the pool and if it weren't for a few branches on the tree i would have had a sea view for free there was night entertainment but it went off before 12 so was lovley and quite ...the hotel was spotless this hotel from start to finish was fantastic i agree and nothing personal but it was 90% Germans but this didn't bother us at all ...the staff was fantastic very friendly and helpful with anything you wanted ..we didn't eat at the hotel so cant comment but from what i saw the food looked nice.
i will defo be booking again for next year without a doubt.
Excellent holiday thanks Marins Playa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 310deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

just returned from 7 days staying here.

cala millor is around an hour from the airport but is one of the nicest places iv stayed,lovely beaches thriving day and night with a great sea front full of bars and restaurants.

the hotel when we went was full of germans and as in previous reviews towels down as early as 6am making people sit all over the place.my 2 year old daughters hello kitty towel was taken and never returned.

one thing i would like to say is the hotel staff were generally ok but one night my 5 year old son had really bad stomach pains unlike him and when we called reception to ask about hospital docs etc they were only interested in telling us the costs and when we hung up the phone they never called to check or anything which i found wasnt quite right.

the hotel entertainment was ok and food and drink acceptable and the pools are 2nd to none if you have kids with its pirates ship splash pool.

overall i would return to calla millor as it is lovely place but maybe not to this hotel due to it being mainly all germans nothing personal just feels like you are in germany not spain.

Room Tip: the main block,block 2 i think overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gazzlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Love cala bona but love beaches in cala millor. Hotel smack between both. Great food 2 weeks and only got fed up on last night. You can eat inside or out. Rooms very clean. Pools great priate ship and different levels of pools depending on confidence of child. Only downfall entertainment very geared up for Germans who are in the majority. Entertainment reps do speak English. If you like your kids to b entertained this might not b for you. We know the resort well so spent time in cala bona most nights where it is very British and has a nice family feel to it.

Will be trying to book again for next yeAr.

Room Tip: Pick with view of pool. Most have it although the rooms behind the hotel don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Travelled with my husband and 16 yr old daughter to a one bed apartment. It was ideal for us but wouldn't have been suitable if my son had come too. The bed in the lounge was a settee type with a pull-out further one underneath which would only be suitable for a young child. Whilst the beds in the bedroom were very comfy, my daughter (as well as our friend's daughter who also had the sofa bed in their apartment) complained that it was really uncomfortable.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and spacious with air conditioning (no charge). Balcony spacious and overlooked the bar but no problem with noise as it closed at 12 in the evenings. We were in block 1 which was really convenient for the pool etc.
Wifi 10 euros per device - extremely poor and not worth the money.
The pool area was extremely busy and there were loads of young German children as they break up from school at the beginning of July. Towels laid out as early as 7am but this is the first place I've ever seen someone removing towels from unattended sunbeds. We didn't watch the evening entertainment but aqua aerobics each day at lunchtime was a proper workout - thanks Cheryl, we really enjoyed it (and felt we could have a bit extra to eat at dinnertime lol!)
Both Cala Bona and Cala Millor are spotlessly clean as well with plenty of eating spots. We loved Oliva at the harbour at Cala Bona. Overall both food and drinks were very reasonable.
One thing worth a mention - the resort is about an hour from the airport but our transfer took 2 and a half hours due to the number of drop offs in nearby resorts.

Room Tip: Block 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhodsie2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just returned from two weeks at the marins playa,a really good hotel,good position,we had a studio in block 2,everything you needed in it,very few English guests,but for us not a problem,we didn't eat at the hotel,because there were so many places to eat in cala millor/cala bona,excellent supermarket on site,lovely pasties/etc,nice and friendly staff always spoke,would reccomend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank yasfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review as I sit on the sunbed! If you a British then beware. .. these apartments are full and we are the only British couple here!

So be prepared to have to get up at 7am to get a sunbed and put up with some of the ignorance that comes with it!

The studio we are staying in is lovely, it is in building 2 and looks to be recently refurbished, comfy beds, large bathroom. The whole complex is very clean! It is the ideal location for cala millor and cala bona, only 100m to the beach. We would definitely come back here if it wasn't for the amount of Germans, we felt unwelcome. All tv channels are in german too! Probably stay at the suites across the road next time

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank holidaygoerderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#5 of 58 in Cala Millor
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 58 in Cala Millor
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#4 of 58 in Cala Millor
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#8 of 58 in Cala Millor
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marins Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marins Playa

Address: Carrer na Llambies, 41, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Marins Playa Suites)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#12 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: £65 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marins Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not to be confused with the adult-only Marins Playa Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marins Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marins Playa Hotel Cala Millor
Marins Playa Cala Millor
Hotel Marins Playa Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing