We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for re-charging your batteries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Anba Romani
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel has a high number of German tourists, but don't let this put you off (All though the evening entertainment was conducted in German but if like me your not bother by this), this hotel is great.

I arrived late so had missed the restaurant, however the front desk staff advised that at 9.30 there would be a cold meat selection and bread available so I could make myself a sandwich, I chose to go to local restaurant (La Sangria) and have a meal.

The staff are friendly and very helpful, always said hello regardless of how many times you may have already seen them and although English wasn't their 1st (Spanish) or 2nd (German) language this didn't cause me any problems,

As with all half board/full board accommodation the food can be a bit samey each night, think this was more noticeable to me as pork was on the menu every night and I'm not a great fan of pork. However there was plenty of fish, veg and salad to eat.

There are 2 pools and yes the saving of sunbeds with towels did happen but I always managed to find a spare one. The location is ideal, is right on the 'shopping mile' but noise was not a problem and I was in a ground floor/street level room.

I was dubious about staying in a 3* but for the price I paid (£200ish (half board accommodation) via www.sunshine.co.uk) I was pleasantly surprised and I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to get away and not do much, great place to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for smartline Anba Romani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

When considering what area in Mallorca to stay in I was looking for somewhere that offered a great stretch of beach, shopping, nightlife and entertainment, and within a reasonable distance for driving to other areas of the island. Cala Millor satisfies this criteria, and having looked at the price and reviews of the DH Anba Romani which included half-board (breakfast and dinner) I booked it.

Starting with the positives:

The location is the number one selling point with the beach within footsteps from one end of the hotel and access to the strip of name brand and souvenir stores, restaurants and pubs from the other entrance. It is fairly central and enjoyable to walk along the boardwalk where you have the option of eating fast food or at a beachfront restaurant, or have a drink at some of the lounges/pubs or night clubs (like Lollipop or Havana) that are within walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel is clean, offers 2 outdoor pools, some ping pong and other games on site, and some kind and helpful staff. The food was buffet style which was decent and offered enough variation - nothing to complain about but nothing that stood out either. In retrospect I would have passed up on the half-board and eaten at one of the many nearby restaurants on the beach or along the strip.

The negatives:

1) Room

Because we booked half board we stayed in an apartment which was across the street from the main building. I'll premise my review by saying that the air-conditioned room was clean and spacious and came with a small kitchenette and sink along with glassware and cutlery, a queen size bed made up of 2 singles, a sizeable washroom, safety deposit box, tv and a balcony with partial ocean view. So it wasn't the specs that was the issue, it was how badly it needed an update. When you first walk in you are greeted with a 70's rose-patterned swatch of L shaped couch with matching curtains. Our "Queen bed" was super stiff and you can count the amount of springs you are sleeping on and the pillows were paper thin. The pull out single bed which came from the bottom drawer was incredibly small but almost a contender to sleep on. The sounds of Euro dance music can be clearly heard through your bedroom walls until 12:00 pm from the neighboring hotels. The TV was no bigger than my hand and had 6 channels at best, one of which were English, and can only be turned on manually. It was as if you won tickets to visit the set of the golden girls without the privileged of meeting Dorothy, Rose, Blanche and Sophia...they were sitting somewhere else in the complex.

2) Atmosphere

Whether you are walking through the main hotel, sitting around the pools, or getting something to eat you can't help notice that it is predominantly German and between 50 - 80 years of age. Aside from the hotel staff hardly anyone spoke English, in fact, the hotel information pamphlet we were given was in German...and we are in Spain. In the few instances where others overheard us speaking English it also seemed to suggest that not only was it foreign to them, but not something they entirely appreciated.

Overall

When you have a good look at the hotel and what it offers for the price, there really isn't too much you can knock as being terrible or extremely unsatisfactory. It claims and deserves to be the 3-star hotel they are. It is in an excellent location, not bad value for your money, some enjoyable amenities offered in the common areas and the food is ok. Why I would likely choose another hotel over this one the next time around is the feeling that you are in a German retirement home with people who want to keep it that way. The hotels efforts to make you feel welcome were appreciated, but don't count on them updating their hotel, it fits and appeals to their demographic.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Breeze_n_Palm_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We returned to the An-ba this month having previously stayed June 2012. The location of the hotel is excellent, right on the beach and near many reasonably priced resturaunts and bars.

From reading the reviews for the hotel, it strikes me that people expect 5* treatment at 3* prices. If you view the hotel for what it is- a solid 3* with clean rooms, nice food and nice facilities then you won't go wrong. We paid £30 per room per night half board and the food alone justified this price. The selection is large and varied and it was nice to sample a bit of everything (probably not for you if you're just after fish and chips though). A queue does begin to form 10 mintues before opening so get down to the diningroom early.
Our room was nice and clean- for those moaning about the non-flat screen tv's and lack of english channels remember that you're in Majorca and this shouldn't be a priority. We had a side-sea view which was lovely and the balcony was a decent enough size.
Staff were eficient and helpful despite not speaking a lot of English.
We never stuck around for the evening entertainment as we preffered to take a walk to Cala Bona and see what was being shown in the Cala Bona or Levante hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Myself and my sister booked a holiday to the Hotel An-ba Romani as our first holiday abroad.
We arrived late with two other families and after a slow check-in process due to communication problems between the receptionist and other guests, and there was only one person there to receive all of us. After receiving our key and all inclusive

My sister and I visited the Hotel Anba-Romani for a week in April 2013. This was my first trip abroad and was booked through Cooperative travel. When we arrived we were given no information at all in regards to where anything was, such as the dining room, pool, bar etc or even meal times. Instead it was left up to us to walk around and find everything and hope we turned up in time to be fed. There was also very little information provided on the surrounding area that wasn't in German. So again we were left to try find places to visit and ways of getting there ourselves ( not an easy task for two 20/21yr olds who have never visited Spain before).
Our room was on the top floor with sea view. It was pretty basic, twin beds, tv with only two English channels. Shower in bathroom was tiny, not really suitable for us who are both 6ft+.

There was a wide range of food available however it was mainly aimed at its German clientele and was rather greasy, again nothing special. It was also quite difficult at times to find a table available so more than once we ended up leaving, sitting outside for half hour then trying again.

The selection at the bar was reasonable and they were very generous with the amounts given.

Entertainment was limited and aimed at the older guests. Some staff were friendly however not all of them.

The facilities were not great. Outside pools were nice enough but absolutely freezing so didn't go in there more than once. inside pools were not much better and just seemed forgotten about.

Location is fantastic!! Can easily step off the back terrace and be on the beach within seconds. Same with leaving reception and being on the main terrace of shops. Plenty of bike hire laces near by and a ten-minute walk away is a pier from which you can go on a boat trip along the coast.

All in all it is a good value holiday if you are going to get a bit of sun and have a drink or two on a low budget. But don't expect much when it comes to the food or service provided by staff. It is very popular with German's who are quite rude and do not understand the concept of queuing.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views, but be aware that lift is small, slow and often smells.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is so close to the beach, you just have to step outside & your on the beach, the shops are just as close, I took my family to Cala Millor because we have been 3 times already and just cannot get enough, There is always things to do & see, it can be relaxing or packed with fun, to me its a good family holiday, the hotel offers most of your needs, meal times can be very hectic a lot of the time, but no big deal we would stay there again, in fact this was our second time at this one, Lisa

Room Tip: I prefer a room over looking the pool, & high up is better, less noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed at the Anba-Romani hotel from the 8/6/13 to 15/6/13 with 4 friends. We arrived and were greeted by a polite receptionist who was very helpful when letting us know what places we should go. We arrived late and were told we could go down to the restaurant and help ourselves to Sandwiches which was a nice touch.

Our room wasn't massive but was clean as was the bathroom. The walls however are every thin, you can hear everything. Our air con worked as did the TV, was surprised that you have to pay for Wi-Fi at the Anba considering it is 2013 but it didnt cost much at all. The maid came round every morning and always did a good job, spoke little English but was still nice and polite.

The food isn't spectacular but its all edible, a good variety of foods across the week, a mix of English, Spanish and German dishes. The restaurant is on the small side so sometimes we had to wait around for a table.

The people at the hotel were mainly German probably an 80/20 split between Germans and everyone else however this didnt bother us as they were all fine with us. Its not really a young people hotel though.

While we didnt stay at the hotel for any of the entertainment other than the performance of Grease which my mate was roped into being Vince Fontaine which was amusing, Yves the rep from Cosmos was always a laugh, made things interesting when they were abit dull and even came out with us after he finished work.

Places to check out are;

British Bulldog - Good food at reasonable prices.
Lollipop - Club near the beach with a great DJ, all you can drink for 10 euros as well.
La Havana - A bar near the centre of Cala Millor, also they organised a Boat Party which was brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hotel could not be nearer to beach,rooms are dated but what 3 star hotel aren't,staff are friendly,Downsides are walls in rooms paper thin,you can hear everything people are saying in next door rooms,(and I have stopped in a lot of Spanish hotels through my work) ,not enough staff in restaurant to clear tables and serve drinks,(to much work for them for amount of people),overall pretty much good,it is mostly German clientele ,not a problem,just get on with your holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackemfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Voramar
Hotel Voramar
#26 of 58 in Cala Millor
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Don Juan
Hipotels Don Juan
#19 of 58 in Cala Millor
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Bikini
Universal Hotel Bikini
#24 of 58 in Cala Millor
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#5 of 58 in Cala Millor
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline La Santa Maria
smartline La Santa Maria
#31 of 58 in Cala Millor
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 58 in Cala Millor
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Anba Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Anba Romani

Address: Avenida Cristofol Colom 21, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel An-Ba Romani)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: £65 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Anba Romani 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Line Anba Romani**** is situated in one of the principals Avenues in Cala Millor, in front of the beach, just separated by the promenade, and surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. Smart Line Anba Romani**** ha been completely reformed during winter 2015 with and elegant and a comfortable design that will amaze all the family. With two swimming pools, one in front of the beach, with a very beautiful view, and the other in the midle of the hotel complex, and a children's pool, both with parasol and sunbeds, and a snack bar service. All our rooms have been reformated and will offer all what the family needs: air conditioning, 32" Sat-T.V., bathroom with haidryer, safety deposit box and mini fridge. You your amuse is garanteed with our daily animation program and night shows, also with our jacuzzi, sauna and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your smartline Anba Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Ba Romani
An Ba Romani Hotel
Smartline Anba Romani Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing