We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic says it all”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Melis

Melis
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melis
Ranked #62 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic says it all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I booked the Melis Playa as a low cost holiday a few days before I left. I read the reviews and knew pretty well what to expect so I was not surprised to find it very basic. The rooms are very dated with no TV's, air conditioning or hair dryers. The furniture is 60/70's style and the beds were old and creaky. We were there for 10 nights and had one sheet change in that time.

The hotel is clean enough, and as many have mentioned, there are 4 floors but no lift. We stayed B and B and the breakfast is of the limited continental variety. There were boiled eggs, 2 cereals, a bit of thinly cut cold meat and cheese, some grapefruit and melon, toast, tea and coffee. We joked that it was sponsored by Weightwatchers. A couple we met from Scotland were on half board and we had a good laugh with them when they described their food at dinner. Chicken wings, meat balls and fish fingers were served on some days.

The location is very good, just a few yards from the beach and very central to all the shops and restaurants. If you just want a cheap hotel with no swimming pool and no frills then it is probably ok for you. If you want something that is a little bit better than the absolute basic then it would be best for you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

my boyfriend and I got put in this hotel because the one we booked was full (long story) this hotel is in a great location!! nice size rooms, clean & tidy.
The only let down for us was at meal times very very basic breakfast, cheese ham eggs bread and cerial, for 7 consecutive days gets pretty boring!
Lunch and dinner was a choice of 2 meals usually pork or fish with chips (kids portions). No vegtables all week, and the 'buffet' was salad things majority of the food was out of a tin.
I would stay in this hotel again, but id save a bit of money and go self catering and eat out.

Appart from food this was a great hotel and id stay their again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoexCxSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

when i arrived at the hotel ,it was late and i was tired .i was given the key to my room and had to walk up 4 floor flights of stairs with my suitcase as there was no lift ?? when i eventually got to my room and as i was on my own i was given a room that could only be described as a shoe box !!! the firstt thought in my mind that i had become a nun and all i was short of was i needed a rosary bead and to wear a habit .!!!
On the plus side was it was very close to the beach .
I was staying on a B&B basis and the breakfast was not of very good quality .
would I stay here again ?? NO . LOCATION EXCELLENT . but for me it was not the best hotel ive ever stayed in .

Room Tip: dont pick a solo room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MerseysideLilyrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala Millor hotels

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

A small clean and thoroughly functional hotel. Beds are clean and comfortable and the showers are lovely and powerful but take a while to warm as they're solar.

The breakfast is simple continental but not of a very high quality. The juice is actually a type of concentrate/squash. The coffee is Dowe Egberts "instant".

The toasters are terminally slow!

Having said all this, I would definately stay here again as the price we paid and its central location more than make up for the mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Plenty of good food, very clean, five star service from friendly staff, i`m going back next year i loved it, no pool but have use of one five mins away, 30 seconds from beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank denise187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Don Juan
Hipotels Don Juan
#17 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Voramar
Hotel Voramar
#26 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sabina Playa
Hotel Sabina Playa
#19 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Veronica
Hotel Veronica
#36 of 65 in Cala Millor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biniamar
Biniamar
#27 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Nina
Hotel La Nina
#43 of 65 in Cala Millor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melis

Property: Melis
Address: Calle Binicanella 3, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Melis 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Melis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melis Hotel Cala Millor
Melis Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing