We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here!”
Review of Garbi Cala Millor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garbi Cala Millor
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We visited this hotel for a week at the end aug- early Sept 12.I think we were the only Brits in the hotel but we were not a bit bothered. We made friends with a very pleasant german family, Hi Tom & Karen! The pool is massive and was like a bath when we first arrived as the weather was so hot! Unfortunately the weather turned after 468 hours but thats another story!
The room was pleasant and bathroom fine. We had a studio and were glad we had taken a kettle for a cuppa on the balcony.
We did struggle to understand the entertainment as it was mostly in German but we still had a good time. The strip of light,s shops and bars is only a five minute walk away. The drinks were of a reasonable quality.And available until quite late.
The food was good, never saw a soul hold back! Dinner wine very acceptable!
All in all don't be shy about using this well priced hotel. It is a no frill 4 star, but not a thing to complain about!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jackbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

What can we say... one of the best stays on the island for us.
Breakdown....
Cleanliness ....98%
Food ..............99%
Accomodation.95%
Location ........75% .. (8-15 min walk to beach.)
Only issue is that yes, like other reviews the place is geared up for Germans and Dutch, although we did know this at point of booking and visited with friends and problem solved !
Although at end of stay we did say this on survey and hope things may improve in this .
Advice from me is to do the same and d'ont get the english a bad name for this one !

Room Tip: Rooms near entertainment area may be noisy, but not too late though. One side overlooking pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PatioJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel was lovely and yes it was all german guests apart from me and my hubby but i knew that before went the hotel was spotless and the pool area was vast never had a problem getting a sun bed no matter what time of day food was fine and the staff were all very friendly.

Wouldn't have any hesitation on booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a pool view if you want a suuny balcony in the afternoon all rooms have fridges which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyndieloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just spent 4 nights at the Garbi with my wife ,our first break without the kids for 6 years . Fantastic ,The Hotel as said in other reviews caters solely for Germans ,however the staff do understand english . If you go on holiday to watch english tv and eat english food ,and mix with other brits ,then this isnt the place for you . However for peace and quiet , good food and the ableness to relax without hearing moaning british voices ,its great . The restaurant had a good selection at all sittings ,and its great to be able to be trusted to choose your own table and serve yourself to beer ,wine and soft drinks ,without any queing or fuss . The restaurant staff ,work extremely hard and with the hours they seem to do( 14hrs in 2 cases) ,were in my opinon ,very pleasant and helpful to translate the German food listings .Also good fun trying to work out what food was what . Our German has improved! . At both bars, again, its help yourself to drinks other than the spirits ,so no waiting around to be served . The swimming pool area is excellent with ample sun beds and space ,and the pool is nicely heated . Our room was nice with a fantastic wet room shower and nice lounge area The beach is a well worth 5 mins walk ,as is the town if you wish to venture out . Beers ranging from 2 - 4 euros in the bars ,jugs of sangria from 3-5 euros . One bar along the promenade has a beer meter with your own pump at the table for 5 euros per litre . The Sportsman bar ,just a five minutes walk turning left out of the hotel is a great place to watch football and sport , also a lively british crowd .If you like being confined to your hotel and meeting fellow holiday makers ,this hotel is not for you ,but as a great base with good food ,drink and service and the desire to get out of the hotel in the evenings then ITS A BIG YES . We intend to go back with our 2 sons next spring and explore the region on some of the many bikes for hire . I will treat it as full board with drinks thrown in when on site ,. Also a big thanks to the receptionist (i didnt catch her name ) who was so very helpful to us on arrival and throughout our stay . All in all a great escape away from it all holiday . Thanks to the Garbi .and again Travel republic .

Room Tip: take pool towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Why we were put in this hotel I dont know! Saw a hotel in Majorca on teletext holidays website,when rang to book was told no longer available,was offered Garbi at same price,was not told by Purple Holidays this hotel only catered for Germans! Didnt read reviews as shouldnt be necessary price we paid and booking with "reputable" agents! We finally saw a Thomas Cook rep on our 4th day who was extremely apologetic and offered to move us to a hotel a few miles away,as we only had two days left we declined but she stated no way should we have been put there,she was a lovely German girl! Hotel very nice.pool excellent,daytime no problems,food was aimed at obviously for Germans,we ate mainly salad,only holiday I have been on and lost weight! Had to go out every night as entertainment German therefore spending more money which we dont normally expect on an all inclusive holiday! Staff were helpful especially the night porter who loved practising his English vocabulary with us! Just stay away if youre British!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCUN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Returned to UK on 9th October following a one week holiday at the 'Garbi' in Cala Millor.

If you're reading this review then you may wonder why there are very few reviews - the fact is that this hotel caters ONLY for German speaking guests and during most of our stay, the hotel was full with some 500 Germans and us!

We chose the 'Garbi' simply because it was the cheapest 4 star 'All Inclusive' we could find for the first week of October and having been to Cala Millor in the past, we knew that it is a really nice resort although dominated by Germans who must easily account for 80% of the tourists staying there.

The staff at the Garbi are obviously not used to hearing anyone speak English - the first night we asked for a drink at the bar, the barman - a miserable so and so called Leo, insisted on seeing proof that we were actually residents at the hotel BEFORE he would serve us - this really annoyed me!!

However, I have to say that the rest of the staff were very good - particular mention to Carlos who was extremely nice and seemed pleased to be able to speak English - I think he also felt a little sorry for us!! The reception staff were also very good and surprisingly spoke excellent English.

As far as the hotel is concerned, the room was adequate and clean although they have no maid service for two days per week which doesn't seem very '4 star' to me!

The food was pretty good - we have had better but also much worse and the pool area was excellent - plenty of sunbeds at ANY time of day so there was no need to beat the Germans to the sunbeds at 6.00am in the morning and it seems that most Germans prefer to go to the beach which is approximately 400 yards away from the hotel.

The public areas were also clean and tidy with the EXCEPTION of the bedroom corridor in horrible brown carpet which looked like it hadn't seen a hoover for weeks and in my opinion, this really let the hotel down.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay at the 'Garbi' but I would recommend that if -

1) you don't like Germans - don't go there as it is near 100% German.

2) If you don't like walking more than a few yards - don't go there as the hotel is situated well away from the seafront.

3) If you like to watch TV on holiday - don't go there as the first 19 channels on their TV's are German followed by some 50 or so Spanish channels - not one English channel to be found, not even BBC World News or even CNN!!

- none of this bothered either myself or my wife but it certainly wouldn't appeal to most Brit's!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TelfordMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sebastian Charl... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morito Apartments
Hotel Morito Apartments
#34 of 59 in Cala Millor
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#4 of 59 in Cala Millor
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 59 in Cala Millor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#15 of 59 in Cala Millor
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Said
Hipotels Said
#12 of 59 in Cala Millor
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garbi Cala Millor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garbi Cala Millor

Address: Avenida Cristofol Colom s/n | Urb. Son Moro, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: £80 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Garbi Cala Millor 1*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garbi Cala Millor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Cala Millor Hotel Cala Millor
Garbi Cala Millor Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing