We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here from 29/07 - 05/08 and really couldn't fault it. The room (suite) was as good if not better than many a 4 star hotel room, air con in each room that worked. Included mini fridge stocked with water, juices etc. to use. Everywhere - restaurants, pools play areas etc. were spotlessly clean. The main buffet restaurant offered a variety of food whilst also offering freshly cooked ( i.e. as you waited) stir fry, chicken, fish etc. Smaller versions of the buffet were available also at the pool bar area. The kebab hut also offered a nice change as well. The themed restaurants also made a nice change from the buffet restaurant.

Plenty on offer in terms of kids clubs but one or two activities were limited to a certain number of kids so had to get there a bit early to ensure participation. Some parents had pre-booked and paid for additional activities prior to leaving the UK only to find that they would only get half of the sessions they booked. This seemed to be specific to soccer academy.

The holiday village itself is not a massive complex for 1500 people when full. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool even if you did need to be there about 8 ish in the morning to get one. It did get a bit busy around the pool but not so much in the restaurants, bar or snack bars etc.

Some nice touches & rules that I appreciated:
- poolside waiter service of beer, water lemonade melon etc.
- inflatables for the pools left by previous holiday makers collected and made available for new arrivals
- no reserving sunbeds before 8am
- entertainment & all inclusive was over at 12 midnight thus no late night revelry

Would I we go back - answer to that is yes.
What would I do differently - visit Cala Millor town a few times more

Room Tip: some swim up rooms can be in the shade for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Not long returned from a week at HVM for our second year in a row! As expected, it met all our expectations and it was just a fantastic holiday. We went as a family of 4 with our 2 kids aged 3 and 4.

Hotel transfer on coach was fine but at the airport you won't necessarily have a UK based rep but there will be someone who can speak English from TUI with a clip board. Once you find your coach, tell the driver you are going to Monte Safari in Cala Millor and NOT the holiday village as they won't know what you are going on about! This is First Choice terminology and is not Spanish coach driver friendly! Transfer took just over an hour and we had about 4 drop offs before ours, no biggie as it means you get to see a bit of the resort! When we stayed here last year we were the first drop off and it took about 50 minutes so it's luck of the draw.

Upon arrival at the hotel, check-in was swift and we had a glass of bubbly, wrist bands on, a quick run through of hotel services, provided with a map and off you go!

We stayed in a duplex apartment (3506) which had views out over scrub land from the balcony and upstairs we could see out to sea and over Cala Millor. The rooms are spacious and modern and really comfortable. Not that you go on holiday to watch tv but all the main UK freeview channels are available, especially cbeebies which is good for the kiddies when having a bit of chill out time!

This time we got to make more use of the kids clubs which were great but work on a first come first served basis, so queue early if you definitely want to get in.

The food gets mixed reviews but personally we found it excellent, good variety and good quality nosh. I was having 3 small meals each night as i didn't want to miss out on all the different stuff on offer! Be sure to try the live cooking where the chefs are - freshly cooked foods throughout the day from gorgeous omelettes in the mornings to stir frys at night!

We tried the Mediterranean and Italian specialty restaurants. Didn't do the Mexican as I remember from last time it didn't quite hit the mark but maybe it has since improved. Of the restaurants we went to they were both excellent, really helpful and friendly waiting staff. If there was just one minor point then it would be that the portions for kids were HUGE so it meant not all food got eaten - I don't like to see food go to waste!

The 'honey bees' are a bit of a problem and freak the kids out a bit, especially at the soft drink dispensers. Obviously they will be attracted to the sweet sticky drinks on offer and yes the hotel are aware but really I can't see what they can do about it. According to the signs they are a protected species so best advice is just be careful or wear a bee keepers outfit if you have one to hand! I think since we returned they have installed sliding doors over the drinks machines to prevent them buzzing around.... Time will tell how effective they are but the important thing is that the hotel are listening and trying to do something about it.

Sunbed reserving was an issue. You will always get it I suppose but my advice would be if you are going to spend the day at the pool then get yourself down at 8am with your towels like I did, if not then don't be selfish and reserve them all day on the off chance you might go down. To us it was important to be next to the pool by the steps where we could watch our kids hence reserving but generally I disapprove of reserving. I think the hotel could be tougher here and implement a system to remove towels from unused beds after 90 mins - I hope they do take this suggestion on board.

The pools were great and lovely and warm. There are about 5 different pools to choose from so something for everyone. What some people need to be more aware of though is little ones not wearing swim nappies when they really should. Twice, two of the pools were cordoned off whilst we were there because of little ones 'accidents'. It's quite simple, if your little ones aren't potty trained then stick a swim nappy on them for the sake of theirs and your dignity and the benefit of everyone else. If a pool is 'contaminated' the staff will simply close it off which just squeezes everyone into the other pools and they can be quite busy at the best of times. Not to mention the health risks of poo-gate.

The weather was fab as you would expect. At least 30 degrees in mid July with one day hitting 37 degrees!

We went to the beach on a couple of occasions. Ivan the mini bus driver is a bit of a hotel icon and likes his dance beats on in the bus.... It just adds to the sense of the occasion! It takes just over 5 minutes in the bus to the beach but if you walk down like we did one evening, it took about 20 minutes with the kids ambling.

Bring a bath mat as the shower tray gets very slippery when wet, particularly for the kiddies.

The entertainment was mediocre. It starts at 7pm but the restaurants don't open till 6.30pm, so if like us you wanted to eat, get to the entertainment and then get back for a decent time for kids bed then you had to be organised! For the first part until 8pm it was the widgets show which our kids loved to dance around to. After that then it gets a bit more grown up and the reps put on a performance. They do try hard and are having fun in the process but it's very much something like you'd get at Butlins and not a 4* resort (not that I'm a snob, but I felt we deserved better given how much we'd paid). If there was one area they needed to work on then this would be it.

One night we went to the Pirates show which is a must. It's not cheap and ended up costing us about €300 for the 4 of us only because we had the expensive seats at the front. Cheaper packages are available. It was in Magalluf which is the other side of Palma so took a good hour to get there but well worth it. I won't ruin it for those of you who are going but do it, you won't be disappointed!

Would definitely return but next year we are going to Blue Lagoon Village in Kos so maybe in 2016 we will come back again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank andy_k_77_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was around the 4 star mark,the food was lovely but could have been a bit more varied.
The main letdown was the night time entertainment which was mainly done by the first choice reps and unfortunately they were a bit lacking in the singing and dancing etc. they did have acts on alternative nights but some of them were poor

Room Tip: we had a family room but kids got to sleep on sofa beds which could have been better(ie they didnt o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank s_henderson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I think in all honesty that this hotel merits 4.5 out of 5 stars, but as that's not an option, I have rounded it up to 5 stars based on how much our children enjoyed it (aged 6 and 4 at the time of our visit).

There were a few negative points, which I'll come to later on, and it's a shame that these seem to have ruined it for some of the other reviewers here on Tripadvisor. I think you need to approach the hotel with a positive frame of mind and just look at how much your children are having fun. But it's certainly NOT the place to go if you have older kids or you are travelling without any!

On to the good points then: the hotel itself is very clean and tidy, and they have made the most of the relatively small area which it occupies on a hillside a mile out of Cala Millor. The layout is very pleasing, with mulitple swimming pools, eateries, children's activity areas, drink stations etc. There are two quieter areas - the 'Chill Out Zone' by reception with its lovely fountains, and the Relax Zone at the bottom end of the hotel which is (supposedly) adults only, and contains a jacuzzi pool, private cabin style sunloungers and plays cool laid back Latin jazz music.

What really makes the place though is the staff - both the hotel workers who are all so friendly, and the First Choice team, who are just astoundingly good. They work very hard all day long - arranging poolside games and quizzes in the afternoon, hosting the fun at the children's entertainment, running the kids' clubs, though to singing and dancing themselves on the main stage to end the evening's proceedings. They all go out of their way to be friendly and chatty. They also run swimming lessons, football academies, dance classes - I really do think they deserve a very special mention. And well done also to TUI/Thomson/First Choice - whoever it is that is responsible for recruiting and training this excellent bunch of talented young people. They even managed to get away with a crude reference to the sound and light engineer/ adjudicator Ciaran every night, which never failed to make me smile, big kid that I am!

There is a wide variety of All Inclusive food which is always appetising, although we found the themed restaurants to be a bit of a mixed bag - we enjoyed the Italian and the Mexican was ok but the Mediterranean one we felt was a bit of a let down. The outdoor cafes - the Oliva which is open all day, and the kebab hut by the teaching pool, were both very handy places to pick up a snack. And there are free ice creams for the kids (or adults) all day and all evening!

Also of special mention is the Spa and indoor pool which is a beautiful oasis of calm in the othewise noisy, lively atmosphere of the hotel. Children can use the spa pool each day between 1 and 3 – it’s well worth a visit.

I mentioned a few issues stopping this being a true 5 star review: and other reviewers have picked up on these. Firstly, the sun bed situation. This hotel is very busy - and I suspect it tries to cater for a few dozen people more than it strictly should. This means that a) it can be difficult to get sunbeds unless you are prepared for the “8 am charge” (you’re not meant to reserve them before this time) and b) the areas surrounding the pools are all very cramped and difficult to navigate. The sunbeds are jammed together quite tightly and it’s difficult to avoid the umbrellas as you try to thread a path toward one of the pools or try to catch up with a speeding child (who of course can fit through much smaller gaps than you can!) This is a shame, because with a bit more careful planning I am sure this problem could be alleviated. True, it’s not entirely the hotel’s fault – the Brits Abroad Sunbed League need to revise some of their selfish ways, but we were usually able to commandeer a solo sunbed and dump all our stuff on just the one – we spent most of the time in the pool rather than sitting around it anyway.

Secondly, there are a lot of honey bees around the drinks machines (NOT wasps, as some have erroneously put in their reviews). There were a couple of stingings whilst we were there, but generally the problem was bearable – the staff dealt with my son very sensitively and quickly when he was stung, and the life guards all have first aid kits with anti-sting lotions. It does need to be addressed however, because it’s not pleasant for any insects to be attacking your food and drink whilst you are trying to eat.

More minor issues – the walk-in showers were a bit prone to leaking onto the bathroom floor, so you’ll need to put a couple of towels down, and the pool outside the swim-up room we had was very cold! But neither of these things would put me off recommending the accommodation. The rooms were cleaned 6 days a week, and were very pleasant to stay in. The air conditioning could have been a touch cooler (it was limited to a minimum of 18 degrees) but again, not a dealbreaker.

There is a regular free bus service to Cala Millor town with its marvellous beach (although the beach does get very crowded around the middle of the afternoon), but we rarely had any reason to venture out of the hotel complex – our kids were happy with the entertainment provided on site. The kids clubs were varied and regular and our children enjoyed them immensely – things like sweetie bingo, dance parties, face painting, crazy golf, fantasy football – loads of stuff was on offer.

All in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone with young children. Yes, it’s quite expensive, but if you make full use of the All Inclusive options, you don’t need to spend much money at all once you get there. There are a few cocktails and drinks which you have to pay for, so the ‘all inclusive’ banner doesn’t quite cover everything like it might do with some other travel operators, but we never found the selection on offer to be wanting for anything. I think we upgraded our choice of wine one night in the themed restaurants, and even then it was a matter of 4 or 5 euros for a bottle – nothing really compared to UK prices.

There are some negative points, but the location, the facilities and the excellent resort team made this a great holiday for us – next year is already booked!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms in Block 3. Pool access best from Block 1. Children's activities accessible easiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went for a week beginning July and had a fab time. The place is great, lots to keep kids entertained.
Food is lovely, good selection of food at meal times and good choice of where to eat at lunchtime. Book restaurants as soon as you get there as we missed out on the Mediterranean one as only had spaces on Friday night (adult only night) and as it was our last night we wanted to eat together but got offered another night in the Mexican instead.
Hotel staff were really nice. The entertainment team were absolutely brilliant, they work so hard and do an excellent job, my 4 year old (and me and hubby) can't stop signing I 5 live and chocolatte!!
Rooms are lovely, clean, spacious and modern. Fridge in the room as well which is useful for keeping water cold!
It was a bit far out from Cala Millor although there is a shuttle bus which runs from the hotel, Ivan is lovely (he ran me to the chemist when hubby was poorly), others have said it's a 15 min walk to Cala Millor but with a 2yr old and 4 yr old we didn't fancy it as it was a dusty road with not many bars on the way down.
All in all though a brilliant holiday, fantastic place with lots to do and great entertainment on a night (some nights better than others though!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The "Suite" is nothing of the sort. Too small.
Mini bar (soft drinks only) was not restocked for the entire trip.
Balcony very small and no lighting for evening time
Food very repetitive and not good quality.
Eve entertainment was very repetitive - same acts, same music, same jokes most nights.
AI wine was foul, white or red - and no option to purchase anything better in the main restaurant.
Premium spirits are not included and bar staff didn't seem to know how to charge you if you asked to pay.
Can't get a sun lounger by the pool unless you "reserve" with your towels before 7.
Pools far too crowded.
Very expensive considering all the above.

Room Tip: If you want space, minimu req'd is a duplex. The "suite" is not very big at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DouglasDrewser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks with the wife and son aged 6. Some great positives with the space in the room, excellent air con, I question having walk in showers for a family orientated resort as it turned into a skating rink when wet and soapy.
Resort has some great positives, warm welcome with a glass of fizz or OJ. Clean and tidy everywhere, food excellent and staff /reps very friendly, bar staff not the usual AI 2 drinks per visit religiously stuck to. Good choice of drinks and option to purchase others for minimal €.
One big concern is the "honey bees" that allegedly don't sting but I seen two people get stung so a bit scary for kids and adults alike.
Entertainment repetitive where totally kids orientated, but credit where credit due the First Choice staff do a great job and always have a smile and a hello for everybody, until about 9.30pm when it moves onto more grown up but also bed time for younger population so seen many families, including my own departing the scene around this time.
Swimming pools crowded especially around activity, toddler and splash pools, need to be up early to reserve sun beds 7.30am latest or it will be a struggle at these pools. Shuttle bus ran every 10 mins or so to beach, can also walk in about 15 mins.
Overall good quality, but felt there was not enough pool space and would have liked an outside bar away from the main entertainment area.

Room Tip: I was in room 1011 at the rear of block 1 close to everything, but not facing entertainment which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stevsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.6 mi away
Cristina Villas  Apartments
Cristina Villas Apartments
#4 of 60 in Cala Millor
708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 60 in Cala Millor
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#15 of 60 in Cala Millor
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hipotels Bahia Grande
Hipotels Bahia Grande
#14 of 60 in Cala Millor
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari

Address: Ctra. Son Servera | Porto Cristo, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protur Monte Safari, a four star aparthotel in Majorca, is located in the outskirts of Cala Millor, to the side of a hill with beautiful views from Costa de los Pinos to Sa Coma. The city center is about 1000 m away. It has 306 apartments with heating and air-conditioning that have one bedroom, a living-dining room, satellite TV, piped music from TV channel, safe-deposit box, direct-line phone, fridge, microwave, bathroom and balcony. The Aparthotel has a lounge bar, poolside bar, restaurants (Sa Sinia, Es Moli, Sa Gondola), TV room, games room, outdoor swimming pools with area for children, heated swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna, gym, children's playground and Mini Club. Amongst its numerous facilities is noteworthy its real turf football pitch and Spa centre (open tuesday through sunday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Monte Safari Hotel Cala Millor
Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing