We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a duplex room, it was fantastic! There was a huge double bed in the bedroom and a large sofa bed in the lounge with a flat screen in both, tea, coffee and a mini bar with coke, fanta, water and fizzy wine (doesn't get re-stocked) - nice surprise. There was a balcony and this is where we watched the evening entertainment as it was so busy in the stage area and the pillars and trees get in the way nit to mention the people that just came and stood directly in front of our table. We had a spiral staircase leading up to the deck where there was a beautiful area to relax away from the chaos around the pool and a whirlpool tub with a lovely view across the resort, there was also a double padded bed up there along with 2 two seater wicker chairs, table, two sun loungers and a shower - adjustable temp! So the room was absolutely awesome :-)
The hotel and grounds were immaculate, theres even a reading room with coffe machines and pastries but there were a few things that really put a damper on this holiday...
Trying to find our coach transfer was a nightmare as it was so busy at the airport and there were no reps there to meet us - something that has never happened on our previous first choice holidays. We were then directed to the wrong coach ad there were no signs and there was no-one from first choice on the coach either. Pulled up at hotel - still no-one so we wern't sure if we were at the right place.
They have crammed in so many loungers around the pool that people are climbing over you (and dripping on you) to get past. The reserving of sunbeds is forbidden before 8 am so it's a mad rush to get one or 3 in our case.
Having previously gone to HV Rhodes, we thought that being 5* this one would be similar but it wasn't really, we found the staff in the main buffet area quite rude and they closed half the seating area before breakfast was over - still 1 1/2 hrs to go and my husband got told to move to another part -very rude. The food was nowhere near the standard of Rhodes and it is very spread out but with the same things, even the kids food was the same as the adults just on a lower cart. I will eat anything so it wasn't a problem just a bit let down really but my 9 yr old who is heavily into her veg was gutted and there wasn't much in the way of salad - not even cucumber lol.
Lots of drinks stations and places to eat which was good. Another good point was the life-guard at the pool. €15 deposit per towel is a bit steep. Swim up rooms are away from the pool so we never saw anyone in them and the pools - although a few- were very small, by the time all the kids have their inflated toys and the staff have their area blocked off, there really isn't a great deal of room.
All in all nice, clean resort with awesome duplex rooms but we prefer Rhodes even though the flight is more than twice as long :-).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Olwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    386
    144
    41
    17
See reviews for
892
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shillelagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Really likes this hotel, the ertainment team were great for my kid and everything elce was just great, Food beer and weather excellent. Definetly would go back. thanks holiday village. the restraunt facility was spotless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel welcome (hi ABS).A nice welcoming drink and then we were shown to our room which was nice and spacious for wheelchair use .We were very impressed with the care and attention we received from carina hope i spelled that right she was the nicest person you could meet and always had time to stop and have a chat no matter where you met her .The hotel was wheelchair friendly with plenty of ramps all the staff were lovely and always had a friendly hello.
The entertainment team were the best we have ever come across hello Ryan Shaun Rihanna Lisa Cameron and Claire and hello to ciaran from the west of ireland this gang were the nicest bunch of guys you could ever meet. Thanks to everyone the extra little touches meant so much especially the last 2 nights everyone involved will know what I mean .Lauren still says she felt like she was walking when you all lifted her onto the stage

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here at the start of August for one week, and met our friends out there who had booked for 2 weeks! Both us and our friends had a brilliant time here and we can't say anything bad about the place! Food was great, rooms spacious and tidied daily, pools were great, entertainment team where brilliant with the kids and the shows had variations for all types of audiences, from comedians to tribute acts and magic shows, fully enjoyable!
Cameron and the evening entertainment team where brilliant and we had good banter with them and Russell the Brussel sprout!!!!
Would certainly recommend this hotel to families, really good place!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alandon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Returned from a weeks holiday at the holiday village,calla millor.
We travelled as a family,and had a good time this is the third holiday village holiday we have had and this one,although good is not 5 star.

I think the 5 star status is based on the presence of swim up rooms and private rooms with jacuzzis etc which are located on the roof. 4 star would be more appropriate.

We had a swim up room which was lovely and handy not to have to join in the early morning rush for sunbeds.

In our experience the holiday village costa del sol is better but has been downgraded to a 4 star from a 4 star plus.

However, the restaurants at the holiday village,Calla millor were excellent and well organised. The main restaurant was the usual holiday village buffet style food, something to suit everyone, if not you can always fall back on the usual chips, chicken nuggets etc for the kids.

Plenty for the kids to do, my 12 year old is an only child and went to every escape session which he loved and made lots of new friends. The kids reps work really hard.

The shows at night left a lot to be desired, and weren't worth watching really......

Overall a good hol, just not a 5 star experience as expected.

Room Tip: We were in block 2 and had a swim up room, no sun in the morning. Lots of sunshine from 3pm onwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shodgkinson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel 2 weeks ago. There is so many good things about this hotel - the best was the food. I looked forward to every meal and it was prepared beautifully. Things like omelettes and pancakes were made to order, dinner was perfect. You has staple food like pasta with sauces, but every night had something different like sushi, stir fry or steak pie. Truly delicious.

I loved the poolside, there was activities on all the time but you could relax by the other pool if you wished. There was even a relaxation area with seriously comfy sleeping pods.

The staff were so kind, nice and happy.

I just had a great time on this trip... Perfect holiday, and can't wait to go back. It has something for everyone here, kids had a great time and adults have plenty to do.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ambrynni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks from end of July 2014 to mid August 2014. Have almost nothing bad to say at all. This place is fantastic - food was a good range and lots of it (think Cruise Ship on land !).

Entertainment team were amazing - Cameron does a great job along with all the others - Claire, Lisa, Shaun, Ryan and Russel the Brussel (you had to be there!).
Kids activities were plentiful and well setup. We did the high ropes 3 times, climbing wall, family canoeing, rookie lifeguard among others. All the Kids team were fantastic.

Night time shows were overall very good - some nights were purely the in-house entertainment team, other nights professionals were brought in. Didn't see them all in our two weeks, but the Kenyan Acrobats were amazing. Unfortunately, the Beijing Acrobats and the UK comedian/magic guy were nowhere near the same standard. Overall I would rate the evening entertainment highly. It started every evening at around 7pm with smaller kids shows and worked up to a big show each night which finishes at about 22:30. Even the late shows are still very very kid friendly

Hotel itself was fantastic, we were in block 2 far side from the pool. Meant our balcony was always out of direct sun which suited us. (look for pool side of block if you want a sunny balcony all the time). Hotel was very clean, our room was serviced 6 out of 7 days (they take 1 day off in each block each week).

Bar/restaurant staff are all very good, very child friendly. Our daughter had her birthday whilst we were there. Without prompting, the hotel had organised a birthday cake and restaurant staff sang Happy Birthday for her during the evening meal. very nice touch

Only slightly sour note was the First Choice (or Thompson - not sure) rep "Hailey". she was not the most helpful - when asked about a kids activity she seemed annoyed at the question and then got stroppy when we didn't know where exactly the actual kids club was (1st day). Maybe she was just having a bad day.

Hotel was located a 15 minute walk from the beach (not particularly scenic walk - just a boring stroll along footpaths), but the hotel runs a shuttle bus for free up and down (with a very friendly driver, Ivan)

Cala Millor is a fairly quite little town, can easily be walked in an hour through the length of it. Beach is nice with some family activities (typical banana boat type stuff). We took bikes for 2 days (3 euro per bike per day - cheap!).

I would definitely recommend to anyone, most especially for families with kids. Ours are 9 and 7 and suited them perfectly but would suit most ages I think.

Room Tip: If you want sunny balcony ask for Pool side of room blocks 1 and 2. If you want a shaded balcony as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 58 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
16.4 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
21.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 58 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#12 of 58 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari

Property: Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari
Address: Ctra. Son Servera | Porto Cristo, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protur Monte Safari, a four star aparthotel in Majorca, is located in the outskirts of Cala Millor, to the side of a hill with beautiful views from Costa de los Pinos to Sa Coma. The city center is about 1000 m away. It has 306 apartments with heating and air-conditioning that have one bedroom, a living-dining room, satellite TV, piped music from TV channel, safe-deposit box, direct-line phone, fridge, microwave, bathroom and balcony. The Aparthotel has a lounge bar, poolside bar, restaurants (Sa Sinia, Es Moli, Sa Gondola), TV room, games room, outdoor swimming pools with area for children, heated swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna, gym, children's playground and Mini Club. Amongst its numerous facilities is noteworthy its real turf football pitch and Spa centre (open tuesday through sunday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Monte Safari Hotel Cala Millor
Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing