We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab family holiday, good hotel, great facilities and very customer focused hotel team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spent our two week summer break here with our 9 year old son and had a great time! The food was plentiful lots of choice and of good quality. I think it can be difficult to make the most of all inclusive but we tried to decide on a meal each evening instead of picking random food. Breakfast was fantastic with the bar area running a full service till after 11:00 making pancakes and omelettes to order ideal for those of us who don't do early breakfast easily. The hotel was modern and well equipped and the additional program of sports and entertainment was excellent. The football and swimming coaching although available at an additional cost was very professional and the team members give everything, Ash, Nick and Nathaniel were favourites. The entertainment team worked so hard and their energy and effort was not lost on the audience. I think there is a genuine appreciation for the commitment these young people put into creating a professional show. A lot of tongue and cheek holiday fun but fits perfectly with the holiday village format. Well done to Cameron's team, Sean, Lisa, Ryan, Rihanna and Claire they tried to make everyone feel special and join in if they wanted but not pushy like some other experiences we've had. All in all we had a great time and if your looking for somewhere that provides the opportunity to do as much or as little as you like and keep the kids interested then this hotel is for you. Really nice touch was that when going to bed with a sleepy 9 year old the bar staff were happy to provide a bottle of wine and a couple of glasses for the grown ups to enjoy on the balcony. Others may say that it's not a 5 star hotel and In terms of the decadence I would probably agree but I don't remember being at a hotel where the staff were tripping over themselves to be helpful so for us that made the difference between ordinary and excellent. Priced at the top end but as a family holiday in the sun was worthwhile stretching the budget a bit.




Received from : +447557366457
Subject :
Sent to : +447456026545; +44
Date/Time sent : Fri Jul 18 14:33:26 BST 2014
Message will expire in : 7 days

Room Tip: Block 2 apartments look out over a small field with a skyline view of the resort centre, nice and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noonansfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This was our third in the series of First Choice Holiday Villages, having stayed at Costa Del Sol and Menorca previously.
We chose Majorca this time around as it has been redecorated recently and looked great on their site.
Our kids love the holiday village because of the kids clubs, pools, evening entertainment and independence they get with the all inclusive package. At 4, our son loved the little stars activities, and at 7, our daughter got loads from the super star ones she chose to take part in too. These really do make a huge difference to the holiday. Not only do they give the kids the chance to make new friends, get away from the sun for an hour or so and enjoy different activities to their normal play, but they also give the parents a respite too. The staff in the kids club were brilliant throughout our stay.
The hotel is well appointed. Great mix of splash pool, baby pool, covered pool and two big pools, one of which has a section that's only 1m deep which was great for our 4yr old. The were endless food/bars/snacks available throughout the day with ice creams and lollies available most of the time too.
The rooms were great, nicely decorated with modern furnishings, comfortable beds, good bathrooms and two flat screen tv's.
The restaurants were lovely. The kids loved their independence and ability to chose their own breakfast lunch and dinner.
The i5 live entertainment was spot on for the kids, even if we did tire of it after a week. They loved the usual mix of dance, competition and comedy each night.
We booked the Pirates excursion, which was the highlight of the holiday and a show which we'll never forget. I cannot speak highly enough of it and was a welcome break from the holiday village entertainment for us adults.
We walked and also got the free shuttle bus to the beech a couple of times. The beech is spectacular - white sand, warm sea and surrounded by bars and restaurants. It's such a shame it's too far for the kids to walk to/fro in the heat and too far to walk back in the dark as the shuttle bus ends at 8pm. It's about a 20 min walk alone or 30 min with the kids and in 30 degree heat that's a tall order with children.
We brought our own poolside towels as we were told they were €15 each to hire and that seemed expensive to us. The usual sunbed debacle was as prevalent here as it is everywhere, complete with the usual wasted empty threat of towel removal if placed before 8am plastered all over the hotel. Honestly, if you're going to put the threat in place, for the sake of those that comply, honour it or remove it to level the playing field. The dawn towel laying brigade made sure that trying to get a normal sleep and also secure a sunbed to watch over your kids and enjoy the pool was futile and remained a number one annoyance and the only thing we came away from the holiday with negative thoughts about.
The free wifi was ok, available throughout the hotel/pool/room/restaurants albeit a little fickle and sluggish, but it was free so fair play to the hotel for providing it. The gym was ok, but with only 1 of treadmill, bike and cross trainer, early in the morning there were queues for the machines.
Finally, everyone that worked at the hotel, from its own staff to the first choice team were all exceptional. Faultless in their manner and customer approach. They really did make us feel welcome.
Our son cried the night before we left as he didn't want to leave which just goes to show how much he loved his time there. All in all, the family rated it as a great holiday and one that they'd recommend to anyone wanting the holiday village experience.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just returned from one week at HVM. Before booking I did my research of various hotels and have to say reading reviews I did feel very positive I had made the right choice for my holiday with my grandaughters. I booked a swim up room which cost an extra 900.00 + for the pleasure of having our own pool which I was happy to pay. However once we arrived it soon be can apparent that some of the swim ups have ideal spots (South facing) where they gets lots of sun, our swim up in block 2 North facing got sun from approx 3pm for 2 - 2.5hrs approx, people next to us were even unluckier and infact I only saw them use their pool once !! I feel to put swim ups inbetween two fairly high apartment blocks was far from ideal and it should be pointed out to those booking swim ups that some rooms do NOT get very much sun, these rooms should be cheaper that the other more ideally placed swim up rooms.
The sun bed situation is a joke, the rule of not putting towels out before 08.00 is not inforced so hence trying to get a sunbed anytime from 08.00 was impossible. Closing off areas of the pool for activities pushed more people into other pools and this made thing quiet crowded at times.
Quality of evening entertainment could certainly do with improving.
On the plus side the hotel and grounds were very clean, room was lovely, food was good, staff very helpful. Bees did not prove to be a problem, you just need to be aware they are there.The shuttle bus to the beach was a great service. Girls enjoyed being able to have a chocolate massage in the spa. My tickets for the Pirates Show were booked in advance for me by the First Choice staff which was a great service offered by them. Would I go to HMV again probably not.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are a lottery !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director Comercial at Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

We thank you for your comments and are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting positive aspects of your stay and we will look into the aspects that you suggest need improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Not cheap but excellent Hotel for families, ideal for children 4 - 11/12. Food good, all inclusive a bonus, pools excellent, swimming lessons excellent. Resort spotlessly clean. Shame about the guests who felt it necessary to reserve pool loungers at 6am. Our accommodation with roof terrace and jacuzzi was brilliant. Free wifi across the site another bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 days at the holiday village and have to say we're a little disappointed. After spending a vast amount of money on what we hoped would be a brilliant family holiday with plenty to do for our 10 year old we felt extremely let down. On the positive, the room was lovely although a little out of the way ( we requested pool view and were given sheep view!) and the staff of the hotel and first choice reps were all brilliant and helpful. The food was good and there was plenty of choice and our son enjoyed the selection too. Great shuttle bus service and driver. But really that was about it.

We found the whole hotel to be just too overcrowded particularly round and in the pool. The sun bed situation was ridiculous, 7 am I had to get up to secure a semi decent spot...supposed to be on holiday relaxing not stressing about whether we'd be up a corner without sun shade!

My husband hated eating in the resteraunt as it reminded him of a chimps tea party with unsupervised children running riot and spoiling lovely food by dribbling sauces and chocolate into the dishes. In the end we ate out most nights and stayed at the beach every day. Our son tried several kids clubs activities but came back bored and reluctant to go back each time. Evening entertainment was not for us and I watched my son more interested in his DS than anything else.

To be honest it's probably just not the type of holiday we were expecting or enjoy so won't be returning.

Having read a few reviews prior to writing mine I have to agree that it seems that the guests were a huge part of the problem rather than the hotel itself but I think management should be able to address the sunbeds and supervision of children situation without further cost.

Recommend if you enjoy a hectic, crazy holiday but if like us you have been waiting all year for something special for which you paid a lot of money for then you may be disappointed :(

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Emmahodgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director Comercial at Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. We will look into the matters you have raisedand are are sorry that you did not have the relaxing holiday that you would have liked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Myself, husband and our 6 year old son are just back from a 7 night stay and we would highly recommend it. We've stayed in several holiday villages over the years and the First Choice team including the entertainment people were truly awesome as usual. They couldn't do enough to help. Lots of activities for the kids and the Razzamataz stage school gave use a few hours respite each day and the extra money that is paid for this is worth it. Kids clubs were excellent too, although with lots of activities around the poolside our Son only went twice to the kids club during the week we were there.

We were impressed with the "Adult Activities" too as well as the "family fun" sessions. So much to do - all you need to decide is what you want to do.

We had an apartment in block 1 which was right next to the activity pool and entertainment stage. The room was finished to a high standard and the beds were very comfortable. I had worried about the noise levels, but you're on holiday and most of the noise is finished by 11pm anyway.

The evening entertainment was excellent too and the team very friendly. Our son spent most of the evenings on the dance floor doing the various dances and watching the Panto and various shows. We enjoyed doing the same and of course the free flowing cava is a must! You get the sweet cava as standard, but if you ask nicely you can get the dry cava (white label). In the evenings you can get a bottle to take to your table and two champagne flutes too. Be careful using the tables in the entertainment area tho as they have three legs - lots of children lean on them and everything slides off and straight onto the floor!

Always sunbeds available, but if you need more than two together you will need to get up early to find a spot. We have a rule about only adults having them as the kids spend most of the time elsewhere and not on the sunbeds - if only everyone shared the same rule, or just had one sunbed between two kids!!

The food in the restaurants was good, although at times the food was warm rather than hot. We went to the Mediterranean restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the Mexican. Book early to avoid not being able to get a reservation tho! Can't comment on the Italian as we did not visit that one.

Hope you enjoy your holiday as much as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We are a family of 4 just returned from a week in the HV mallorca.
After our orignal holiday in UK was cancelled on us last min we decided to try something different so booked HV with all the convienience it offered, we though it was an easy option.
We upgraded the flights to day flights and paid for a suite upgrade as well as a private transfer.
All these turned out to be value for money and suited our family needs.

The hotel. It is what you expect from a 4star and we were suitably pleased on arrival.
The room. The suite was in block 3 facing the adult only pool (don't be fooled, always kids being noisy there), whilst it wasn't the biggest it was comfortable for a week. We have a sofa bed which I shared with my youngest as the patios doors don't lock and we were 3 floors up. I now have a gigantic bruise on my leg from it's metal frame. AC I found adequately cool but ran it all night to drown out rest of noise in the resort.
The pools. Crammed with Sunbeds, can hardly walk around and can't move in and out of the shade. Also if you want a particular spot you have to be there by 7.30 to secure it. Also seen sick bring cleaned up. Mostly likely the place my eldest picked up her sick bug which knocked her out for the entire holiday and passed to my youngest.
The food. The buffet was adequate, we mostly enjoyed what we had but after 5 days got bored and got the bus to cala millor to eat out. We did approach the buffet with caution as obviously couldn't exactly identify the source of our children's illness.
The entertainment and staff. We didn't see much of it as our children were in bed by 8 but the staff are friendly, enthusiastic and keen to please. Also they worked tirelessly in the day running activities. The hotel staff,extremely helpful in getting clean bedding to us in the night despite going 'rushed off their feet' (lots of illness maybe at 2am??) and yet other nights less helpful without exchange of stern words. The room was not adequately cleaned and we had an ant infestation by the time we left.
The wasps. Not anywhere near a problem as in the other reviews.

Would we go again? No. We are not holiday village people. Infact it was the few villigers who discarded rubbished, allowed their kids to run riot, leave toilets unflushed and proceed into the buffet without hand washing or sanitising, creating noise in the block until early hours of the morning and generally spoiling it for other guests. If you want even 1 moments peace, this is not for you.

Room Tip: If you want sun you need to face onto the pool in block 1&2. If you want quiet (!!) you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L5414POLaurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director Comercial at Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the problems you had but trust that you had an enjoyable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#4 of 59 in Cala Millor
593 reviews
21.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cristina Villas  Apartments
Cristina Villas Apartments
#5 of 59 in Cala Millor
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Cala Millor
Iberostar Cala Millor
#3 of 59 in Cala Millor
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#14 of 59 in Cala Millor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari

Address: Ctra. Son Servera | Porto Cristo, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protur Monte Safari, a four star aparthotel in Majorca, is located in the outskirts of Cala Millor, to the side of a hill with beautiful views from Costa de los Pinos to Sa Coma. The city center is about 1000 m away. It has 306 apartments with heating and air-conditioning that have one bedroom, a living-dining room, satellite TV, piped music from TV channel, safe-deposit box, direct-line phone, fridge, microwave, bathroom and balcony. The Aparthotel has a lounge bar, poolside bar, restaurants (Sa Sinia, Es Moli, Sa Gondola), TV room, games room, outdoor swimming pools with area for children, heated swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna, gym, children's playground and Mini Club. Amongst its numerous facilities is noteworthy its real turf football pitch and Spa centre (open tuesday through sunday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Monte Safari Hotel Cala Millor
Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing