We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sea Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sea Club
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed at The Sea Club from 4-11 May 2013, and loved it. It is a unique place to stay, with loads of character and charm.

We had a lovely, bright and airy room (number 7) with a sunny balcony providing a sea view down the side of the main house. The pool is a great place to sunbathe or sit and read in the shade.

Breakfasts are ample and delicious, with an extensive buffet and the option of eggs and bacon, You can make your own freshly squeezed orange juice to make you feel healthy again after the eggs and bacon! There's an honesty bar and plenty of space to sit around and relax.

It's set in a great location, just across the promenade from the sea, with literally dozens of great bars and restaurants within moments' walk. These give you the choice of great Spanish tapas, more sophisticated dinners, burger places, German style Biergarten, and much more - almost an endless choice.

One other great thing about it is the friendliness of the owners / managers. Nick in particular was helpful and very likeable and has the knack of being always there when you need him for some advice or help, but unobtrusive when you don't.

We had a great time and highly recommend it!

Just a note that Cala Ratjada is a very German resort, and the main language you hear in German - but English is obviously also spoken by almost everyone, and the owners of The Sea Club are English. In fact, for us, this was perfect - a combination of Spanish tapas and paella with German beer - what could be better!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseaclub, Manager at The Sea Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear recent customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that it lived up to your expectations. Your wide description of our place and the resort we are in, give a great overall idea of what future customers can experience.

Thank you once again for your nice comments and we hope to see you again with us in the near future.

Best regards

The Sea Club team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
45
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place feels like home the minute you meet one of the lovely family members who own it for many years and are talking care of it and its guests very well. The whole club is uniquely furnished and decorated so that you don't feel like in a hotel but totally welcome and homey. Also the other guests were friendly and open and it was easy to get in contact with other people. The pool and the self-service bar in the heart of the club invite to chill out, meet other guests and to have breakfast (also other meals during high season). On the porch in the front you're only separated from the sea by the esplanade, also a perfect place for having breakfast. Also you can get very good massages in the sea club!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseaclub, Manager at The Sea Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear recent guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and happy that you felt at home with us. This is what we work so hard to achieve, that every guest feels at home and not in a hotel. Thank you again for your nice comments and look forward to seeing you with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

The Sea Club team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent a long weekend at The Sea Club with a group of friends for a sixtieth birthday gathering. The sun shone, the alcohol flowed and we partied like we were twenty one again (if only!). Louis, Nick and Jenny were fabulous hosts and nothing was to much trouble. The atmosphere is relaxed and very easy going. Louis and the team encouraged us to take it easy and to totally enjoy the surroundings. We certainly took advantage of the bar and terrace and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We liked it so much that we cant wait to return. Oh and sorry guy's for the Fire Extinguisher incident which you took in your stride or at least you appeared to and just commented it is always the bloody Swedes or the Irish! in this case it was one of each!!

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilWCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our first visit to The Seaclub', and it will not be our last. Those who like the type of hotel to appeal to the masses should stay away, this is a hotel with character and charm. Those who like to be amongst people like themselves - stay away, this is a hotel that attracts a diverse and eclectic mix. Those who like the owners and workers in a hotel to fade into the background, stay away. This is a family run hotel and they welcome you into it as others would welcome you into their home. It is informal, friendly and the owners cannot do enough for you. Combine this with a room right on the sea, comfort, cleanliness, great food and a lovely pool and you are guaranteed a great holiday full of fun. Thank you Jenny, Nick and Louis.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Sea Club isn't like anywhere we've stayed before. The relaxed atmosphere (like staying at someone's house). As others have said, we were made very welcome immediately and given a tour of the facilities, then left to our own devises, which suits us fine. lovely breakfast, all fresh and something cooked if you wish, eat it anywhere, so we sat a the long table on the terrace enjoying the sea view. It seems you are always likely to meet a character or two during your stay. Everything we needed was there (including a guitar in the bar) and the evening meal we had on the terrace was very good and breakfast there just great. We had one problem on the first night which was a noisy ceiling fan, this was fixed in 10 minutes the following morning by Nick and Co (I understand this was mentioned in another review, perhaps its the way you ask?) .The only other comment we would make is that during the high season Cala Ratjada is a popular place and the night time activities go on well into the night so may disturb some people. We did have one night, when "The Festival of the Fish" was being celebrated, which kept going until about 5am so didn't make for a comfortable nights rest. That said we are definitely returning to The Sea Club. Loved the welcome, Loved the relaxed atmosphere, enjoyed the people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Spending last 2 weeks of July at The Sea Club was a sheer bliss! We felt like spending a holidays at our family country house, when we were kids. We adored our room with a terrace just in front of the house that gave us exposure to absolutely fabulous sea view. The big family table in the front porch hosting dinner for house guests (10 - 20 people) every night was another memorable long lasting experience. The place is extremely vibrant and family friendly. There is a decent size swimming pool inside in the courtyard, which our daughter adored and would not leave at all. The Sea Club is located in the center of Cala Rajada, which makes a 5 minutes walk from the port and dozens of restaurants located at the sea front so there is a plenty of places to chose from. There are couple of umbrellas in the courtyard, where you can have light and relaxing lunch if you do not feel like eating out on one particular hot day. Jenny and her team will secure delicious light club sandwiches and toasties in the afternoon. Dinner's menu differs very much: the one to be remebered was sea food dinner and home made paella prepared by Dan. The privacy of guest is very respected and there is no music played at the swimming pool during the day. There is a bar, which I find difficult to describe as it does not look exactly like a place where both parents and kids can all together stay late in the evenings, but as a matter of fact it is!
However if you prefer to spend your hard earned holidays anonymously in 5 star hotel with no one to talk at the dinner table, if you do not whish to be bothered with new holiday acquintances that possibly may last for year, or you prefer to stay in the place where your only contact with the hosts is the receptionist and the animation team, if you prefer that everyone will be addressing you only in your own language, if you do not like to discuss with almost complete strangers, if you do not think you might accept their eccentricity and original characters this place is definetly not for you.
At the end we could hardly cope with the thought to come home and when we did we were so relaxed that we thought we want be back immediately!


Thing to be absolutely recommended is a motor boat trip with Louis - you will never forget it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view and a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Not so much an hotel, as an ever changing house party of friends new and old. Charming, very much a friendly family hotel, run by Luis and his extended family - glorious garden round a splendid pool, ping pong in the garden for all, no hidden extras and a warm welcome to every guest. Good and vibrant cross section of humanity (not forgetting the ever present dogs and cats) exotic trips to far flung beaches in Luis' speed boat (complete with bloody mary's). We first came here in 1971 in the days of Luis' Mother, the legendary Nora Cumberlege; she would have been pleased how the Sea Club has evolved. Our children and their friends have grown up here, on one memorable occasion organised an entire beach full of young (and not so young) in a mega barefoot football game. A beautifully safe haven for teenagers (the current batch - not ours - who arrived post exam misery - were utterly devastated to be moved to a 'posh' hotel in the middle of the island by pre-planning parents. We will be back .... again ... and again.... this is a party place.

Room Tip: All rooms now have air conditioning fans and private terraces. Rooms in the front can be a tad noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PATREA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseaclub, Manager at The Sea Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear recent guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that as a returning customer we manage to provide the same experience year on year and will work very to keep this going as that we are not trying to hide our true identity of being as many of the travel community have described, a relaxed family run hotel atmosphere. I would like to point out about your room tip that we do not have air conditioning, they are all ceiling fans in case a potential future guest is mis-informed in that matter.

Once again thank you for your review and sharing it with the tripadvisor community. We are looking forward to your return with us in the near future.

The Sea Club Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.1 mi away
Ses Rotges
Ses Rotges
#3 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#5 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lago Garden Hotel
Lago Garden Hotel
#11 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cala Gat
Cala Gat
#23 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#9 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Club

Property: The Sea Club
Address: Avenida America 27, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sea Club 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 17 room colonial-style family-run bed and breakfast. Situated on the seafront in Cala Ratjada Mallorca. A great venue for all ages, we offer all types of holidays from relaxing in the sun to catering for private birthday parties, weddings or special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sea Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Club Hotel Cala Ratjada
The Sea Club Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing