We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couples (because?) not much good for teenagers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for couples (because?) not much good for teenagers!”
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This was our first holiday as a couple since our kids were born (19 and 17 years ago) and we wanted somewhere quiet and nice. We couldn't have picked better.

The clientèle is 70% German, 20% Spanish, 10% British. No yobs, almost no kids. There were a few toddlers, too young to get bored, but there are very few organised activities apart from some low-key evening entertainment. Thomson's Web site says "ideal for couples or families", but they are wrong. Ideal for couples, lousy for families, at least if your kids are active!

Plus points:
- The location, right on the water. No sandy beach, but get a sea-view room and wake up to the sound of the Med 30 metres from your window.
- The food. You can eat conservatively (Wiener schnitzel) or Mallorquin. Hot breakfasts cooked in front of you. Big buffets at night. Lunch feels like lunch: a reduced buffet selection but always plenty to choose from. We enjoyed almost everything except perhaps the fish (surprisingly, on an island), which was sometimes overcooked or lacking in flavour. The desserts and cheese were all excellent, which is often not the case on buffets. The grilled vegetables were as nice as the wonderful ladies cooking them "live".
- The all-inclusive package. Make sure you get this!. I don't know how much it added to the cost of our holiday because we filtered our Web search for "only all-inclusive" but it was a great move. Very few guests take "all-inclooseef", so the bar is still set up as a profit centre, not a cost centre. You can choose from a range of good wines, almost all of the cocktails, and all the spirits apart from one or two high-end whiskies and cognacs. All are served properly, not slopped out like in many all-inclusive places. In fact you get to sign the bill for each drink as if it was being charged to your room. Even if you're not a "serious drinker" the ability to have a freshly-squeezed orange juice whenever you want it and without worrying about the budget is great.
- The spa. The treatments are reasonably priced and the free part (sauna, steam rooms, ice fountain, indoor pool) are brand new and superb. Note for the shy: you will feel out of place if you keep your swimmies on in the sauna. Just go naked like the Germans do.

Minus points:
- If you like chatting to other Brits on your holiday, you won't have a big choice of conversation partners.
- Cala Ratjada is not really a quaint fishing village. It's not a total dump like Magalluf but it's not totally unspoilt either. Get a car and explore the east side of the island. We went out most mornings and worked on our tans in the afternoon.
- Unfortunately, at the end of your allotted stay, you will have to leave. You will not enjoy leaving. You will want to come back.

  • Liked — Food, all-inclusive package, views
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sTeamTraen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    69
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
171
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Having printed Martin Cleverly’s useful review to take with us, I felt that I should reciprocate by adding some of our experiences on our return. I echo many of the comments already posted and will try to expand on a number points previous reviewers have made and discuss areas that I feel have been neglected.

The distance from hotel Grupotel Aguait to the small Son Moll beach (mechanically cleaned daily), which is over the road from the Hotel Serrano Palace, is about 1.4Km and should take you between 18 and 20 mins at normal walking speed or you could wait, and wait, for the bus. Martin speaks highly of the coastal path to Son Moll beach; this a natural earth path adjacent to a residential area and is also popular with the locals and their dogs, while I would agree that the views are special and the sea bracing, I found myself having to watch where I walked. Son Moll beach is also where the nearest small supermarket is located, but it doesn’t seem to open before 09:00. The next nearest supermarket is a quite large Aldi about 1.5km drive inland towards Capdepera.

The regular tourist train runs every 1.5 hours, twice in the morning (10:10 & 11:40) and three times in the afternoon (16:25, 17:55 & 19:25) and costs, adults 2.70 euro, children 1.4 euro. The bus service, cost 1.55 euro, runs more frequently but I can’t say the timetable is regular, starting at 9:30 and ending 20:45 but at a frequency varying between 15mins to 1 hour 40mins depending on the times of day, with an average of about 45mins.

Martin says that the hotel rooms are much larger than a normal hotel; I would probably say our room, nearest the sea inlet, facing the sea and with a great view of the 07:00 sun rise, 74 degrees East of North, was adequate, not sure I would stretch to large. Room dimensions – Main part 4.3m x 2.95m with a 1.67m wide double wardrobe, corridor passed the bathroom 2.8m x 0.82m, bathroom 2.0m x 1.9m with a shower over the bath, the balcony was 3m long by 1.8m deep with a small table and two chairs. Our previous room, first night only; (they had over booked, but we were later generously compensated), facing the pine forest, had a bidet (not with view ; < )) and was very slightly larger. By the number of towels hanging over the balcony railings on that side, I suspect the sun didn’t make an appearance until the late afternoon and wasn’t enough to dry towels (no excuse really as the hotel offered clean beach/pool towels daily for a refundable weekly deposit.) Our bedroom had two single beds and a 14-inch television. There were 19 television programmes, 10 Deutsch, 5 Espanol, 2 Catalia, 1 Holland and 1 English tragedy channel (Sky news).

I can’t say the provided evening (alternate nights) entertainment was worth waiting in for, usually started at 21:30 and one occasion finished 45 minutes later. We did have one night where the group (three musicians and one singer) wowed the audience for two hours with popular songs; many in English and quite a number of people took to the floor dancing. Piano music throughout the day was absent during our visit and I’m fairly sure the bicycles were for hire and not free.

The gym was typical of many hotels, in that the equipment provided was only just sufficient to warrant an entry in the hotels list of amenities, however anyone intent on keeping in shape while on holiday should think again. The 4 or 5 weight machines in particular didn’t seemed to have received any maintenance for many years and in one case the weights were stuck in the up position and may have caused injury if accidentally released. The one tennis court attached to the hotel appears to be disused, however I believe there are good facilities within a short walking distance inland.
I enjoyed my daily swim in the sea, easily accessible down a few swimming pool style steps. The Cala or inlet is ideal for snorkelling, numerous underwater small caves housing many colourful small fish. My wife liked the salt-water swimming pool, which she said provided excellent buoyancy.

The fixed dinner times are 18:00 and 20:00; as I wasn’t too bothered about late night revelries my preference was for the later time, more time to enjoy the evening sun or extra time to return from trips in the car. I couldn’t fault any of the members of staff, except maybe that the Manager (a mini Hank Marvin look-alike) was the only one to speak English to any degree of fluency, I guess if I return I will take a German or Spanish phrase book. However, we did have a deal of fun with our waitress exchanging English and Spanish words. If the management want more English visitors, the least they can do is provide labels and menus in English; after a week or so it wears a bit thin being adventurous with meat dishes and wondering what you might be eating.

The road (C-715 multimap.com, the AA used Ma-15) from Palma to Cala Ratjada via Manacor and Arta is excellent. As you approach Cala Ratjada the road circles around to the left of Capdepera located high up on a hill. Watch out for road distance marker Ma-15, 77km; shortly after this you come to what I called the ‘palm tree’ roundabout. Take the second exit, which is a small road running at an angle towards the left from the roundabout, easily missed; the supermarket Aldi should be on your left. Drive down this road, called Carretera de Sa Pedruscada, about 1km, until you pass a Farmacia (pharmacist) on your right and approach a Tee junction. Turn right and the hotel is about 600 metres along on the left.

Reading my review again it would appear that I have been very negative, however my intention was to be factual wherever possible.
I wholeheartedly agree with most of what other reviewers have said and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and its location for a peaceful, relaxing holiday, it is an ideal location also as a base from which to explore this part of Majorca, either on foot, bicycle or car (we hired for 10 days at the airport for 170 euro plus petrol). Just be aware that no holiday location is perfect, being prepared for the shortcomings can only enhance your experience.

  • Liked — Friendly well behaved people and proximity of suitable bathing
  • Disliked — The totality of the language barrier
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SayitlikeIseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

The first thing to hit you as you enter the hotel is its rather splendid location - the sea is beautifully vivid as you walk through the reception doors. To the rear are pretty pine forests and very desirable houses!

Positives:
A very peaceful location. No discos, no awful cafes offering English breakfasts or reruns of Only Fools and Horses, no Irish bars etc.
The clientele (even the children) appear to be very quiet!
Very pretty setting.
Excellent food, great variety, should suit everyone.
Really lovely staff and excellent service - well done Aguait!
Small compact hotel with easy layout.
No fights over sunbeds (I think it is the English, not the Germans, who rush for sunbeds on a morning!) you seem to be able to get one at any time of the day.
Nice walks.
Very safe.
No beach, but there are steps into the sea at the side of the hotel if you like swimming in the sea.

Negatives:
This hotel caters for Germans, not English, so you may feel alienated and it may take you a few days to adjust. What you should also know is that the whole area is a German area so you will find German cafes/menus in the town. Spanish/German is spoken primarily. The Germans have found themselves a nice little spot here. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the Germans are polite and respectful which is probably preferable to rowdy Brits!
I would have liked a small supermarket and cafe to be a bit nearer to the hotel. The hotel would do well to open its own shop. Otherwise, it's a 30 mins walk. The newspapers at reception are in German.
The hotel is quiet, but a bit too quiet in the evening and I would have liked a bit more atmosphere, nothing racy, say a piano bar or something whilst having my post dinner drinks. Otherwise there is entertainment 3 x weekly.
All the TV channels are in German!
Set evening meal times i.e. you have to decide a the beginning of the week if you want to eat early or late. I like to eat when I'm hungry!

Tip for the girls - take your own hairdryer - the one in the bathroom takes several days to dry one strand of hair... You have to put a deposit down of 10euros for a pool towel -if you don't like this idea, take your own. The safe is 12 euros.

Generally, a delightful hotel which is fine if you want a relaxing time and not too much excitement.

  • Liked — Peaceful location overlooking the sea
  • Disliked — Caters for Germans rather than Brits
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Whatawonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands ,England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Just got back from this holiday and would like to say what a lovely hotel. Right on the edge of the sea with beautiful views. Staff were really nice and helpful and the manager was always around saying hello a personal touch from all. The food was never repeated and there was lots to choose from. The rooms were larger than expected although we were on the back of the hotel overlooking the pine forest. The mini bar was useful and quite reasonable. Air-con was very good. A few things for British travellers to note, they do not exchange sterling travel checks( take euros) the hotel is predominantly German and Spanish with few English guests( although this did not bother us) there is not a single bar or a shop around the hotel at all you have to go into the resort by bus or walk (around 25mins) taxis were 6.5 euros. The resort can be busy and you will get treated as German, this did annoy us slightly as because we were obviously not Spanish therefore we had to be German!! Lots of lovely places to eat and drink.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — isolated
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlover70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

just got back from mallorca... hotel aguait was indeed a find...
the setting is beautiful and ocean front rooms are definitely it!

the food was very good, the choices limitless...

it does not have a good beach however, just a little entrance to the ocean which is quite rocky...

went to canyamel beach, which is gorgeous, instead....

went to a 5 star resort in cala millor afterwards, it did not live up to hotel aguait's charm and setting... the food there was plentiful, but overcooked....

USA

  • Liked — the charming building, the ocean front setting
  • Disliked — ac was not working
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank edieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Wonderful seafront location (worth paying the premium for the sea-view rooms). Comfortable and spacious seafront terrace and reception/bar area, functional bedrooms and pleasantly varied buffet breakfast/dining.

The majority of the clientele are German and in many respects this is a “plus”, as during our stay they seemed a civilised crowd.

The staff are very helpful and courteous, with the Manager in particular always making a special effort to ensure that each guest is made to feel welcome.

Much of the Hotel’s social scene revolves around tennis, with the nearby Tennis Club a major attraction, offering well maintained clay courts and a lively bar and restaurant.

The 15-20 minute walk along the coastal path into Cala Ratjada is either a plus or minus, depending upon whether one prefers to be at a reasonable distance from or in the middle of the night time action. In any event it is worth hiring a car to explore the inland villages and the off-the-beaten track beaches.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank amwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

Wow..............

Actually lets start with the only downside there is to this hotel. Its distance from the centre of Cala Ratjada. Its only a downside if you like to be in the middle of a resort. It wasn't for me as their was a regular tourist train and regular bus service stopping just outside the hotel. And the hotel provides a timetable for these on arrival. If you have a hire car parking is fine as there is loads of space in the secluded surroundings of the hotel. If you don't mind a short walk of 10mins everyday day ( and its a fantastic walk along a coastal path right next to the sea passing several little coves and inlets-heaven) the hotel location is not a problem, as you quickly arrive at Son Moll beach - fantastic - and then walk along the developed promanade passed bars and shops and the port to the main town.
Did I mention the hotel is right on the seafront! The pool, sunterraces and sitting areas are right by the sea and great places to relax and eat,drink and talk. After breakfast in the restaurant that also looks out over the sea, why not take your coffee and sit on the terrace and verandas in the early morning sun and chat and read the newspapers (coffees free, newspapers can be bought at reception) while watching the fishing boats go by..... everyone else does!
Oh....... guess you wanna know about the food and rooms and stuff. The rooms are much larger than a normal hotel. Lots of space and furnished to a high standard. Very large secluded balcony-overlooking the sea!!!- wow pull back the curtains in the morning and the first thing you glance at is the sun glistening on the sea and the waves lapping the shore of the small bay this hotel sits on. Unless you get a room facing the other way. The hotels horse shoe shaped and 3 stories high so only half the rooms face the sea. But don't be too disappointed if yours doesn't as you'll get a fantastic view of the pine forests that surround the hotel and distant mountains.
Food glorious food!!! Yes it most defintely is. A massive choice of buffet food for breakfast, everything you can think of from cooked breakfasts , to ham and cheeses, cereals, fruit, breads, crossionts, wine etc etc and again in the evening with a wide range of meat and fish grilled cooked in front of you. Plus pastas, salads, veg, other meats and fish, stews, piella, etc etc etc........ I could be hear all day writing a list. And the service is great, helpful and friendly and typically laid back and unflustered. Quality and presentation of all food is exceptional.
So whats to do at the hotel....... well there are two very nice bar areas, good live entertainment every night (not the corny clyub singers you usually get at an hotel). Piano music playing throughout the day, a gym, sauna and jacusy (excuse the spelling). Free sunbeds, free bicycles (and many fantastic routes to take), tennis courts and much much more. Or if you are looking for a quiet life walking is a must. Many 100's of great places and treks to take. The small picturesque resort of Playa de Cala is 15 mins in the opposite diresction to Son Moll-spendid!. There are many signs walks through the pine forests. And as well as the beaches mentioned also the small bay of Cala Gat- 30 mins walk from hotel. And the amazing long sandy bay of Cala Agulla-30 mins walk, along the Cala Ratjada port and then up through the main shopping streets- or take the local Aumasa bus or tourist train from right outside the hotel.
Places to visit nearbye- Arta, Capdepera, Cala Mesquida, Coves de Arta and the amazing Cala Millor that joins with SA Coma, Cala Bona and S'Illot.
Well lets finish with the hotel staff.......all I can say is they are the best in the business. Friendly, helpful, HAPPY, and never too busy. No waiting to get advise and help. They are quick to serve and easy going.
In all a mighty hotel, in a magnificant setting. If you are English you may find yourself to be a bit of a pioneer like me. As the hotel if mainly German and Dutch orientated. But for me this just made the hotel even better. Well mannered polite and interesting people to talk to, not an English lager lout in site. Pure escapism.

see ya.............

and if you're reading this, book the hotel now!!!! you won't be disappointed, you'll be amazed.

Martin Cleverly.
Bognor Regis. England. matclevvv@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Coastal Setting
  • Disliked — Distance to Cala Ratjada
  • Tips/Secrets — A hire car is very useful.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank MartinCleverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Ratjada
1.7 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#5 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
#3 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
929 reviews
50.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#9 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa

Property: Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Pins 61, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Grupotel Aguait & Spa was erected upon the rocks on the eastern coast of the island of Mallorca in 1963. This hotel has managed to maintain its status as one of the most prestigious hotels of Cala Ratjada for all these years, by offering guests unique views and the opportunity to wake up each morning to the early morning sun of Mallorca. In 2008 the doors of the new Spa were opened, thereby completing the sport and health range together with its tennis and paddle club featuring 11 clay tennis courts and a team of professional instructors. Special Services: Discounts on green fees. Car & bicycles rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensimar Aguait Resort & Spa Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing