We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try It, You Will Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amoros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amoros
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
Mid Glamorgan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Try It, You Will Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Amoros. Firstly can I comment on a review made by a couple in November. Clearly November is not high season so one would normally consider checking how to get from the airport to the resort prior to arriving at he resort? It is not the hotel's fault that you did not consider booking transfers when you booked the holiday. We booked transfers via Alphrooms which cost 34 euros and the transfer took 50 minutes going and 1 hour returning. No problems, excellent service. He states the area is derelict. Again, clearly in November, as in January, many places are closed for the quiet season. That does not make it derelict. Places are only boarded up because it is WINTER. (Plus I saw no stray dogs!) The review gives the impression that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere when in fact the sea is about 5 minutes walk (you can see the sea from outside the hotel), beaches about 10 minutes, a quite large beach to the right as you look at the sea, and a small cove about 15 minutes walk past the harbour. The harbour itself has plenty of restaurants and bars so you can just sit looking out over the sea, drinking a glass of wine/beer/sangria!! We tried Cafe La Luna several times where the owner is keen to serve you and always gives you a plate of something nice to try with your drink - for free (hence us going back a few times!!). Makes you wonder what some people want when they complain about a hotel when it is more the fact that they only want to stay near the airport so how is it the hotel's fault that you booked somewhere further away?!!! Anyway, now for my review. We were greeted by the owners when we arrived and were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the doors. The hotel is spotless and all staff cannot do enough for you. Our room was lovely with a massive bed, and not 2 pushed together. The bathroom was good and the shower excellent. We had a balcony overlooking the pool but it was a little cool to use either! There is heating in the room which we needed because although it was lovely when we were out walking in the sun (it's a bright yellow thing in the sky not often seen in the UK at this time of year!), when we returned to the room it was nice to be able to turn the heat up to take the chill off. We stayed full board, and the reason for this is that having stayed this time of year in Majorca (Magalluf that time) a few years back, there were very few restaurants open, so I wanted to make sure I didn't go hungry!! No problem though regarding places to eat here as it is more of a residential area and appears to have many Germans who are staying for weeks/months at a time. Not everywhere is open but there are enough places so there is plenty of choice. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was stunning. Catered mainly to the German guests, but this was great because there were numerous meats and cheeses to try, far more than other hotels I have stayed in. There is some hot food, boiled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, etc, but mainly cold food but plenty of it. Plus coffee machines to help yourself to as much caffeine as you can take! We were the only guests staying for lunch so the hotel chef was placed at our disposal and would basically cook whatever we wanted. We were also offered a picnic if we were going out for the day. Just can't fault the customer service at this hotel. It is family run and it shows because they want you to be happy. Dinner was a buffet, generally four hot dishes, plus soup and numerous cold dishes plus of course salad. Drinks at the hotel were cheaper than the bars we tried, 11 euros for a bottle of wine and 2 euros for a glass of San Miguel. Yes, the hotel is 95% German and we didn't hear another English voice all the time we were there, but for me this was a good thing. Everyone seems to keep to themselves but the general feel of the hotel is one of relaxation and quiet. Part of this is no doubt because it is January and the hotel and resort itself is probably more lively in Summer. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is so close to the bars and restaurants and the sea but far enough away to not be bothered by any noise. I will most definitely go back and this is mainly due to the way we were treated by the owners and staff. Yes, it's a bit further away from the airport but so what, it's worth it when you get here. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebnMartMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, Propietario at Amoros, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest.

We thank you so much for your very nice comment.
We are happy to hear you had a pleasant holiday and you must know that it has been a real pleasure to serve you and that we are thankfull to have such wonderful guests staying in our Hotel.
You know we do all our best to make your stay comfortable and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    54
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
76
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I stayed and got engaged here in 1971. I had previously stayed with friends in 1969 and '70.It was a great hotel THEN and by all accounts it still is, although another floor has been added since. Spent many a happy night down at the Harbour Bar with the owner playing the Beatles White Album till the cows came home. Bacardi and Coke 5 pesetas, the huge pot steins of beer, and next door, a crepe and liquor filling also 5 pesetas. On the walk back to the hotel, the Bratwursts were to die for. ah, the memories. Would love to return for our 42nd wedding anniversary.
CC

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubacarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, Manager at Amoros, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Google Translation
Hallo Herr Cubacarlo:

Danke für ihre kommentar..
wir freuen uns, das ihn das Hotel gefallen hat!!!
Vielen dank um uns zu wählen.
Wir würden uns sehr freuen wenn Sie wiederkommen um Eure 42. Hochzeitag mit uns zu feiern!!!!
Danke in namen unserem personal.

Bis das nächste mal...

Alles gute

Hotel Amoros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Where do I start... Trip advisor had made this hotel out to be fantastic, well nobody mentions that there is no transport running in November and that getting to cala ratjada is a total nightmare if you don't have a hotel transfer booked, which most companies don't run in winter. They also don't tell you that cala ratjada is around a 2hour journey from the airport and if you do decide to get there alone you need a Tib bus that runs every hour and drives like your going to die. They also don't mention that this hotel is in a arena surrounded by nothing but a supermarket across the road and a few other small pointless shops it's a derelict area with stray dogs and ransoms walking all hours. This hotel is lovely if you want to stay indoors and do nothing all day. Plenty of elderly people and NOT suitable for younger people at all. Also the staff don't know where to get buses from or which ones take you back to the mainland of Palma resulting in a taxi journey costing 90euros. So I spent 24hrs in hell finding and getting out of hotel amoros and cala rajada to re book all inclusive at riu which was 5mins from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Far L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just back from 1 week stay at this hotel I can only say what wonderful helpful hard working people all of the staff are They simply cannot do enough for you and make your stay home from home A big thank you to you all Margo the lady at reception was especially helpful when asking places to visit and arranging car hire and the gentleman too (sorry I didn't get his name )Everyone always having a smile and really making you feel at home That said the hotel itself is spotlessly clean rooms comfortable and modern with tv fridge and safe Food is lovely and good selection every night and the waiter (sorry didn't get his name ) really funny with always a smile This I think is mainly German guests at hotel (didn't bother us) all very pleasant We had a lovely stay and would definitely go back again.The position is fab close to shops bars restaurants and beach is 5-10 minute walk away but far enough away from any noise. bus into other towns is 10 minute walk away you could not find a better hotel in Cala Rajada for sure Also the shuttle bus transfer Alpharooms offer is the best by far £35 return for 2 people .All in all a wonderful stay and a special thank you to ALL the staff for making our holiday lovely from Tracey & Courtney x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heald green
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

we went to visit our daughter and grandaughter who live in Mallorca. The location was good for the beach, walking, sight seeing, coffee places. All the staff were efficient, polite and helpful. Our room overlooked the street, but the sun shone on the balcony all morning so we relaxed and read books in bright sunshine in November! The pool was cold as expected at this time of year but we were able to sunbathe on the sunbeds. The food was excellent, so much choice! Buffet style, but that meant we could taste lots. Our family visited us and were able to stay for dinner at the hotel for a small extra charge. We went to do some walking but it was too hot to walk far! However we strolled around Cala Ratjada, enjoyed the port, the beaches and the promenade. Stayed four nights, wonderful time . thank you all at Amoros.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyHealdGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Amoros hotel.We went to Cala Rajada to see if we could find the hotel we has stayed in on honeymoon 40 years before.The staff at the Amoros could not have been more helpful and with their help we found it.It was even better than when we stayed there all those years ago but when we return we will stay at the Amoros.It is immaculate as is the swimming pool and great value for money.It is close to the main street in Cala Rajada, but the hotel far enough away not to be noisy.There is a lovely family atmosphere there and it is within easy walking distance of the port and harbour.Food is nice and the drinks reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, Gerente at Amoros, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
We are really happy to hear we were helpfull and that you enjoyed your stay.
We look very much forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zingem belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel real last minute and after reading previous reviews which were very positive.price was 32eur pp in a double room,which was very acceptable in the high season(compared to the rates we've seen on other hotels).room was small but ok,a bit noisy on the street side however.very nice staff and superb choice at breakfast for this class.on the negative side:juices were watery although fresh oranges were available but to be paid extra.also:there was a frig in the room which was locked!it could be used at 3eur/day which i found exaggerated with outside temp at 30 +.airco was ok.
If you like the crowd with shops , restos and bars nearby,its only 50 m to the main street.for the car it can be difficult to find parking in the streets nearby in the evening.a small parking is avbl opposite the hotel entry at 5 eur/day.
All in all good experience to discover cala ratjada for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.1 mi away
Ses Rotges
Ses Rotges
#3 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Diamant
Aparthotel Diamant
#17 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#6 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#7 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Green Garden
Aparthotel Green Garden
#10 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capricho
Capricho
#19 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoros

Property: Amoros
Address: Calle Ses Llegitimes 37, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amoros 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amoros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoros Cala Ratjada
Amoros Hotel Cala Ratjada
Amoros Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing