We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice 4-Star hotel. Close to beautiful Beach, very friendly stuff. Good SPA area. You schuld book a renovated room with balcony at least On Second floor. Good Food, Free Sauna, Minigolf, table tennis.

Room Tip: Book a renovated room at least in Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fphol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    73
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
102
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in the Bella Playa for the last 10 days of August 2013. We arrived at 1pm and were met by the reception staff, Laura was particularly helpful and explained everything we needed to know. Laura continued throughout the holiday to be helpful, cheerful and friendly. The room was very clean, with ample towels and bedding supplied for the 4 occupants, one being a 2 year old in a cot. The upgrade had been given free of charge in order to 'fit us in comfortably'. With the overly large layout we were able to sleep the baby and child separately and have our own room, plus additional lounge area. The housekeeping staff especially Ana and Mari were very friendly and welcoming, they always left the room very clean and supplied more than enough clean towels every day. The only problem with the ground floor suites are that they get no direct sun on the balcony and that you were disturbed by chairs and tables moving above in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner times, however with a family we tended to be up anyway. I never saw any insects nor bugs inside the hotel nor entrance approach. A very clean hotel and I am pretty fussy. The Breakfast and evening meal were definately better than we expected. At breakfast there was ample choice and excellent choices of freshly cooked hot food, probably the cereals range could have been more extensive. The waiting staff were friendly and very patient with the 2 year old who made a lot of mess. They were never rude nor unkind even though my son was terrible at breakfast and dinner each day. The maitre d' even smiled and spoke with us outside of the hotel complex. The evening meals were very good, always a meat and fish freshly cooked choice along with rice dishes, paellas, pasta, spaghetti, breads, potatoes, vegetables and salad. The desserts were also plentiful and never in short supply. The poolside bar and staff were great and made a good effort with all clients, mirroring the image of the rest of the hotel. The spa was lovely, fresh and newly done. The pool was warm and we enjoyed our visits. A brilliant hotel and would strongly recommend to others, a very family friendly holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weeks stay at this hotel. This is a very nice hotel situated at one end of the main tourist thoroughfare. The hotel looks quite small from the main road but is quite sprawling and larger than you think. The décor is tasteful with marble floors and tiling throughout. We had rooms in the main building and in the annexe, all the rooms seem to be similarly decorated. The twin room was a good size with a nice seating area, enough storage space and a balcony overlooking the side of the hotel away from the main road, which was a blessing as the noise was pretty minimal. In front facing rooms the noise can be an issue. The single room one of us had was small but adequate, although there was no space for luggage once unpacked.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable although the pillows were far too soft, but these were changed when we complained. I felt the room furniture was a little dark and dated, starting to look a little shabby and old fashioned and perhaps a little renovation might be in order. There was a flat screen television a fridge and a lockable safety deposit box in the room.

The bathroom was also clean but a little shabby, towels were replaced regularly although the one issue we did have was the poor quality of the toiletries. In particular the soap seems to be a problem, I presume it's hotel policy that only one small sliver of soap was available and was not replaced daily, our first tiny bar of soap was not replaced for 3 days! I know we had our own toiletries with us but I feel that soap is a standard requirement for hand washing and as such should be changed regularly, I just felt that one small soap to last for 3 days was cheap and mean.

The pool was nice but cold and deep, there are several sun terraces and a larger tree shaded terrace at the back of the pool area. The main bar is at the pool side and there is a small games area room with snooker table tennis and table football, which were well used.

The spa area was lovely and we used that quite a lot. It's not an extensive swimming area but pleasant and not as cold as the outside pool. There is a sauna and steam room as well as a quiet room.

The meals are buffet and were o.k., not brilliant, Breakfast is mainly continental with a small selection of cereals, a good selection of breads and rolls. There is a hot buffet with slightly odd bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs chorizo sausages, pancakes and very unpleasant omelettes. Dinner is buffet also, with a good selection of salads. The hot food was o.k., mainly consisting of pork and fish, with some pasta dishes with Italian sauces, there is supposed to be show cooking but that consists of 2 chefs grilling the fish and pork loins on a hot plate. Most people would find something to their taste, but sometimes I felt I had to be creative. Puddings were fine.

The room safe has to be hired, pool towels can be had from reception for a small fee as well as bathrobes.

The staff were universally friendly and helpful, any complaints we had were dealt with promptly and courteously.

The guests ranged in age from middle age and elderly but many were young couples with occasional groups of young men and women, but this hotel is not one of the livelier spots I'm glad to say, but there was a good mix of age ranges. There were a few children but the hotel was not over run with them. The vast majority of guests were German with some Spanish and only a very few British.

If you go out the front door and cross the street and walk down to the sea front there is a pleasant sea front walk, which takes about 10-15 mins from one end to the other. About 5 mins walk to the left will take you to a very nice beach if you prefer to sunbathe on a beach.

The main thoroughfare is completely lined with tourist shops, supermarkets restaurants and bars, but if you walk down the main road for about 15-20 mins it goes to the port area which is where the main night-life of the resort is. There are hundreds of bars, café's , restaurants and clubs. The resort has been called Düsseldorf by the sea and this is a fair comment, but we never felt uncomfortable or excluded. There is a very nice walk way around the port area, probably about 30 mins from end to end, with a small beach at the left hand area and a much larger beach to the right.

This is a nice hotel and we had a good time and would not hesitate to stay there should we return to this resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the garden side of the hotel as this is much quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in.
The rooms were lovely and the restaurant offered amazing buffets every evening.
The spa was so peaceful and in general this hotel has to be one of the very best that I stayed in.
the Hotel director and staff were very friendly and helpful and to be honest I will be booking another stay again before the end of season.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent in every way, rooms dated but very comfortable, all have balconies. ( Some rooms have been updated and others will be updated over the winter.) The food was outstanding, especially the breakfasts.
We used the hotel guided walks which were free up to the end of May. These varied in length and terrain the longest being about 9 miles. Spring was late so the wild flowers were in bloom. Our guide Hayo was very informative about the plants and the local terrain. We also did the bicycle ride to Arta. This was along little tracks and small roads which we could not have found ourselves.
We had a very enjoyable holiday.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just got back from staying at this hotel. It is situated 150m from a beautiful sea promenade in the peaceful, beautiful area of Cala Agulla short walk from Cala Ratjada harbour. The hotel is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with beautiful marble floors and stairs. There are many facilities, an outdoor pool, crazy golf, and tennis. Indoors there is a games area, snooker and table tennis, a library with comfortable chairs and even an area for a game of bridge!! All beautifully maintained and decorated. The Spa is wonderful and apart from treatments, is free to guests. After a day walking it is great to spend time in the massage pool, sauna and relax with a book. ( or doze in the warm atmosphere! )
The food is of a high quality, plentiful and varied. There was something to suit all tastes. Vegetarians would find the variety especially good. The waiting staff were very polite and helpfull. The buffet style restaurant was arranged in 'stations' where staff were on hand either to cook to order or replenish.
Reception staff were very helpful. Renting a car was the easiest ever experienced. Ordered at reception, signed and paid for. There it was the next morning, a brand new Polo. When finished with, keys given back to reception!
All in all, ahassle free holiday at a great hotel.

Room Tip: Out of season a sea view.During the main holiday season a garden room would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I can say nothing bad about this hotel. It is clean with excellent facilities, good food and friendly staff. We were there on a walking holiday which was excellent and the beaches were good – But it is not a Spanish resort it is Düsseldorf by the sea. We only managed to find one little area that had Spanish restaurants every were else seemed to think curry wurst was the height of cuisine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the interior garden - they are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#9 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#5 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
#3 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Diamant
Aparthotel Diamant
#19 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
THB Cala Lliteras
THB Cala Lliteras
#14 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Playa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Playa & Spa

Property: Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Address: Diseminado Cala Agulla 125, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bella Playa & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the comforts of a hotel which has conserved its classic charm and has gained the Touristic Merit Award. Its enviable location, just a few meters from the breathtaking beach of Cala Agulla, and its policy of constant innovation allow Hotel Bella Playa to offer its guests unforgettable holidays in a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella Playa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Playa Cala Ratjada
Hotel Bella Playa And Spa
Bella Playa Cala Ratjada
Bella Playa Hotel
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing