We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else!”
Review of Illot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Illot Park Hotel
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our family of 4 (2 kids aged 3 and 6) stayed here for 2 weeks in August. The room was small, but adequate for 4 people and in need of an update. Once the kids beds were in use, the living area was very cramped. The bathroom was TINY and difficult to use when trying to bath / shower children. We were on the 2nd floor, overlooking the bar area - not a good spot as the evening entertainment happens here, which is VERY loud and goes on until at LEAST 11pm - with 2 young kids it was difficult to get them to sleep.

The pool was small but ok, although the surrounding area was grassed, not tiled which meant that when wet (all of the day!) it became a slippery mud bath. The mud then got carried onto towels, sun loungers, over feet and into the pool. I suggest the hotel invests some money in tiling this area. Several children's feet (6 in one day once) were cut by tiles on the steps getting into the shallow area of the main pool, which also needs addressing by the hotel. To get a sunlounger, don't leave it later than 7.30am to go down to the pool. After this time they're all taken by some crafty towels with no owners!

The restaurant was ok - staff attentive and plenty of variety of food.

The reception staff were professional but unfriendly. No information was offered on arrival about the hotel, location, restaurant etc etc. All information around the hotel was only in German, Dutch and Spanish - luckily I know a bit of Spanish. The kids club was only run in German, so my kids were ostracised by the staff, despite me making sure they knew they were British. The staff DID speak ENglish, it's just they couldn't be bothered when only 5% of the guests were English speakers (this was pointed out to me on more than one occasion!). I do not go to Spain to only hear German spoken - I'd prefer to hear the native tongue!

Overall, I'd say there are plenty of nicer places to stay in this resort. This is not really a 4 star hotel. It's really a 3* that has somehow achieved another star by having, say, a hair-dryer in the bathroom . I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clartst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Illot suites and spa just down the road from the Illot park. We visited the illot park a couple of times just to compare and thought the pool area was better at the illot park.. but the spa was twice the size and nicer at the illot suites. One draw back to the illot park was the situation/design of the baby pool .... if you had children of various ages, it was difficult to watch them in the water at the same time due to a wall around the little pool that obscured the view. It was clean and well maintained as it was tiled though... unlike the illot suites which had decking that needed attention.
We met a few people at the illot park who were so unhappy with the food that they had compained and arranged with the management to eat at our hotel, the Illot Suites.

Room Tip: choose illot suites and spa instead.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank podandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Well wasn't sure what to expect, it was 42 degrees and the air con in both the room and restaurants is awful and this took the edge off the holiday and we were just so hot and we love the sun and heat. Food was overall good, too much pork everyday not enough beef or lamb. Breakfast awful fatty bacon all you have to do is crisp it, scrambled egg rubber and fried eggs were being cooked in front of us with shell in them! Evening entertainment was twice as in two shows and then other nights just music. Had to complain about animation team on our last night because Ramon the adult animation was just wonderful and our children at least did something at 4 in the afternoon they are 14 and 11. We hardly say Ramazain the child team and when we complained to kamal the boss he was quite defensive and said we should have said something before, we shouldn't have to next day lots of stuff was on offer therefore they are just plain lazy apart from Ramon who is lovely and works hard. Again the bar staff lovely sylvio is just great and his dark haired lady colleague. The restaurant staff again very friendly and attentive. Can't fault them or reception.

Simple things could make this hotel the 4 star it could be but because of the above and paying for WiFi I would say its a 3 star.

The marina and port is lovely and walking distance as well as the beach there. The bigger beach we got the shuttle bus to which was very efficient and helpful.

Probably wouldn't return as not enough on offer for our teenagers but only through laziness of some of the team and this was high season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just returned from a week here and what a fantastic holiday!!!! The area was mostly a German resort and there were not many British people staying at the hotel but the staff said there was a rapid increase in Brits staying. We have done 4* all inclusive before but other hotels have not been as clean, well equiped and served such fresh food. The entertainment team were fantastic; Zoe and her team were really good and inclusive with the children. The poolside bar was well stocked. The food was amazing. We had a one bedroom apartment which was enough space for two adults and two children, although the sofa bed was small. The staff in the restaurant and at reception were fantastic and very friendly. There was a great pool, kids club, a good park over the road and a shuttle bus to the pool. The hotel was reasonably quiet and it was possible to get loungers at the pool, but as always when abroad, there were often many taken up by towels before breakfast had even been served!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0se01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Took my 2 children on their first holiday abroad......age 6 and age 4. Read a few bad reviews about this hotel but still decided to give it ago as my partner and i had always wanted to try majorca. Had a brilliant week at Illot park and are looking to book up next year. Hotel was very clean and reception staff was very helpful and their english was excellent which was a big help as we dont talk spanish!
Food was excellent.....so many different choices so there was something all the time to suit everyones taste. The staff in the restaurant were all friendly and served your drinks very quickly....always pleasant and greeted you on every arrival.
Bar area was nice and my only negative point about this holiday was the bar staff could be grumpy at times....some days they were very chatty and other days would ignore you despite tipping them when we visited the bar!
Animation team were good fun and really got the children involved and the adults aswell if they were willing! My 4 year old daughter loved the mini disco on the evenings and we purchased the cd to bring back home aswell!
Overall a brilliant holiday and we will definitely go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which provided a view of the garden where our 2 children could play sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for nine nights. The hotel is nice and modern, the room was ok, I say ok as it would have been better had it been a little bigger for the four of us- but it was fine. The restaurant was great, lots of food, good choices every day and the food was good quality. Fresh melon and pineapple every lunch and dinner time which I particularly enjoyed. The staff were really good and helpful. Towel charge (refundable) for pool towels and if you want to hand them in during the period for fresh ones it is one euro (not 4*) but ok. The pool does get a little busy and so you need to get involved in the tiresome early rise and towels malarkey if you want to secure a sunbed. Pool bar for drinks and snack was fine. Staff were good and the snacks were mediocre. They charge for the wifi which I thought as poor and again maybe not 4*. The entertainment crew we're all really friendly and helpful. The hotel is definitely patronized mainly by German guests, we found ourselves the only English speaking family (we are ok with this, others may not be) in a resort that is similar - mainly German. We had a great relaxing time here and were sorry to be heading back t the UK.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
10  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Recently stayed for one week All Inclusive with wife, daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandchildren. The restaurant and staff were excellent, Gabriel and his team were most helpful. Reception staff were more than helpful. Bar staff were miserable and rude. Didn't clean tables after use, probably because there wasn't enough staff. Also, there were no ubrellas on or near the tables to give shade from the sun. Bar stopped being All Inclusive at 11.00pm but remained open to purchase drinks and didn't like it when customers tried to get drinks at 10.55pm.
There wasn't enough poolside loungers in the day and not enough tables and chairs in the evening. Evening entertainment was extremely limited and there was very little for the youngsters to do in thew daytime.
There were no towels provided for the pool area and no toiletries in the bathroom.
Air con in the hotel was switched off so, as the atmosphere was extremely humid, the hotel reception area was very uncomfortable.
I have stayed in better 3 star hotels in Spain.

Room Tip: Rooms adequate but beds extremely uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Caerleon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#5 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lux de Mar
Hotel Lux de Mar
#9 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#8 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illot Suite & Spa
Hotel Illot Suite & Spa
#44 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cala Gat
Cala Gat
#19 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illot Park Hotel

Address: Calle Monturiol S/N, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range: £83 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Illot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Illot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Illot Park Hotel
Hotel l Illot Park
Illot Park Hotel Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing