We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

an excellent Aparthotel. Nice for Couples and Family. Beautiful well-maintained rooms. The Aparthotel is in very good Condition. Very attentive staff. Great, really good and varied buffet.
I would come back any time!

Room Tip: Look to the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schattenplaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    57
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Reception staff were very helpful especially Marta and Daniel. One morning we requested an early breakfast because we were going on an excursion and when we got there all the coffee, tea etc had been consumed by other guests. Although it was not his job to do so, Daniel made two mugs of coffee for us and got some water for the children.
The standard of the food was excellent. The only point I would like to make is that the lady on the "cook to order" station at breakfast and for the evening meal could have done with some help from a colleague. She worked flat out but still it often took 15 to 20 minutes to get the cooked piece of meat, fish, omelette etc. Similarly the lady who did the lunchtime cooking seemed to be doing the cooking for everyone in the restaurant plus whatever orders were given to the pool bar.
We took an all inclusive package and I like the way it covered proper drinks not just local brands, as is often the case. It was pleasant sitting at the pool bar in the evening, sipping a cold drink while listening to the different live music performances. Juan was particularly attentive to our needs.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. As most of the guests are German, the staff are more accustomed to speaking German rather than English but this was not an issue for us. We noticed that the General Manager was present quite a lot, keeping an eye on the running of various aspects of the hotel.
I used the spa facility once during our visit and it was very pleasant and relaxing.
There is free WiFi. It wasn't great in our room but it worked on our balcony. The signal was also good around the pool, in the restaurant, in reception and at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailbhe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The positive side of this hotel is, that it is reasonably quiet, clean and visited by well-behaved middle class families; so the overall atmosphere is calm and relaxed. Its reasonable size and small number of rooms distinguishes it in a friendly and positive manner from other nearby huge tourist bunkers, which cater to the more desparate vacationer.

The negative part starts with the bed. We got two single beds in a pseudo-king arrangement, which drifted/slided apart every night, regularily having one of us falling in the opening gap. The sheets were too thin and the general sleeping experience was terrible.
Zero points in this category.

Our kid had to sleep on a wobbly sofa-bed of something like former-days Ikea quality.
Again zero points.

The large proportion of German guests results in the fact that all and any pool benches are reserved with towels at six o'clock in the morning.
It is not exactly the five star experience one pays for to ask for a pool bench in the mid afternoon (many german towels, few people around) but being informed by the pool boy that a) the pool is full and no free benches are available and b) that this kind of affair is beyond his job description and should be handled by the reception desk.
Had to solve that issue regularily by sitting down on the floor in protest until - predictably after 20 to 30 minutes - some special agent appeared with additional benches and a friendly excuse.
Zero points again.

Reception desk operates in slow motion; ladies are friendly to some extent but unable to do elementary mathematics such as summing up a minibat bill of three items without the help of electronic gadgets (which they again poorly master).
Thie leads to frequent queing of guests for no obvious reason.
Again not anywhere close to a five star hotel reception experience. Zero points again.

Porter service is inexistant. Guests are hauling along their luggage themselves, which - as it requires some insider know-how to figure out routes avoiding stairs - is a major annoyance.
Again zero points.

The breakfast restaurant is nothing short of a joke. I appreciate the quality of their coffee and a particular kind of fresh bread roll on their buffett.
Everything else is either of sub-par (compared to a real 5 star breakfast buffet selection) quality, difficult to obtain (standing in a line for 20 minutes to get a burned omelette), or only available occasionally at seemingly random times (orange juice was out about 80 percent of the time).
Tables are prepared on demand; which means that you have to wait about 5 minutes until somebody takes notice of you, another five until the leftovers from the previous guests are removed (in a hurry and not adhering to any acceptable standards of cleanlyness) and another ten until - if you are lucky - coffee arrives at the table.
Like many restaurants in Cala Ratjada, this one is run with only 50 percent of the people that would be required to create a satisfactory customer experience; in the light of the high Spanish unemployment rate they may re-think their staffing policy.
Sorry. Again zero points. This is not a five star breakfast experience. Very disappointing start into the day.

As a result of the crying lack of atmosphere - which is not untypical for a three star family hotel (but, hey, that's not what we paid for) - we avoided their restaurant for lunch and dinner.
Thus we can not judge, whether it is of any outstanding quality or matches the cheap and uninspired tourist-food served in the local restaurants we actually visited.

It is difficult for us to understand why this hotel is rated so high by so many travelers on tripadvisor. For the same money one can easily buy a true five star experience in a place with a sufficient number of staff (and pool benches) elsewhere.

Finally we wish to remark that all (the tiny number of) staff was professional, friendly, smiling and helpful within their means; no bad experience at all.
The management however may be significantly improved or may wish to get some professional training and advice on how to really run a five star hotel.

Apart from the hotel, which did not impress us and will not see us again, we somewhat liked the rather clean and unlittered nearby beaches, which - though crowded - are well suited for having some family fun in the sand and waves. (many other beaches on the island unfortunately turn into waste dumps and sewages during the high season; I prefer not to swim alongside plenty of objects that have obviously been flushed down some toiled by somebody else; beach-wise Cala Ratjada is a good and safe bet.).







Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank HH_WW_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We thank you for your comments with regard to recent stay with us and are sorry that some aspects were disappointing. We have taken note and will strive to make improvements where deemed necesary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I will start by saying that this is a genuine 5* hotel. The employees all seem very proud of working at the hotel and this shows with how genuinly happy they are to provide top quality service with a smile. The bar staff and restaurant staff are very friendly and welcoming to children.

The facilities are very good and there is an abundance of sun loungers etc so there is no undignified scramble. Likewise there is no queing for food or drinks making the experience very pleasurable.

The kids club is run by a lovely girl called Daniela who really looks after the children well and is full of enthusiasm.

The rooms are of a decent size although not massive. However the rooms are cleaned daily and to a very high standard. The only down side is that the sofa beds are a little uncomfortable (we ended up on this and put the kids in the main room as there was no TV in the other room and access to the balcony was through the lounge).

The biggest praise however must be reserved for the restaurant. I cannot stress how good the food was. The menu changed every day however there was always a choice of fresh cooked steak an seafood (monkfish etc) and this was intersperced with duck, venison, lamb... Again the management of the restaurant was top notch - the attention to detail showed.

It is important to note that this hotel is very quiet and is in the German resort. This means that if you are looking for English/Irish pubs you will not find them - this was a bonus for us as the Germans familys were very polite and friendly and it was nice to be surrounded by similar middle class families whose children know how to behave.

We will pay this hotel the best accolade we can by rebooking for next year :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainmaker_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent holiday! My wife, baby daughter, and I stayed at the Protur Turo Pins in July 2014. The junior suite we stayed in was well furnished, clean and very comfortable. The quality of the food was absolutely superb, and the variety was great, especially for our baby daughter. The staff throughout were friendly and helpful. The other facilities like the pools, spa, and children's play area were great too. Faultless!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet hotel with excellent facilities, this really is 5* unlike many others which have this grading. We stayed here as a family twice on the same holiday as our second hotel that we booked was simply not up to the same standard despite being more expensive. We quickly decided to go back to the Turo Pins and had a fantastic relaxing holiday.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A great hotel, first-class service, nice and clean rooms, well organised. Very good food, champagne for breakfast, theme evening meals. The rooms facing the street a bit noisy, better to ask for a room facing the pool and inner area. The hotel provides bicycles, but unfortunately not enough with child seats

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabinecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Ratjada
0.2 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#3 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
#6 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#8 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Son Moll Sentits Hotel & Spa
Son Moll Sentits Hotel & Spa
#5 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
133 reviews
10.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#7 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Address: C Ses Savines | Esq. Cala Lliteras, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Turo Pins Aparthotel Hotel Cala Ratjada
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing