We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all round hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of THB Guya Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
THB Guya Playa
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, Somerset
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good all round hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Cala Ratjada is a German resort, which is no bad thing. You really feel like you are abroad as nobody really speaks any English. The German tourists are also very pleasant to be around, expect high standards and this means that the resort itself is full of great bars, restaurants and shops... Not overpriced! There is not a single Wolverhampton Wanderers shirt in sight! Bliss!!

The hotel itself is clean, has a lovely pool and spa and some amazing views of the stunning coastline from a high vantage point. There is a coastal path from the gate by the pool of the hotel which takes you on a lovely 15 min walk to a glorious golden sandy beach

We stayed in an apartment and payed a little extra on arrival to have a sea view, this was so worth it as breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea and mountains was our favourite part of the day

We did not eat at the hotel. There is a fantastic local supermarket with wonderful fresh produce so we decided to make our own breakfast and lunch and then go out of an evening. There awesome fantastic fish, pizza and BBQ restaurants by the marina

All in all a great resort and a decent hotel for the money

Our only complaint? The rude managers and reception staff who make you feel like it is a complete hassle to deal with you!

Room Tip: Ask to pay extra for an apartment overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    77
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I had a holiday with family at the Hotel Guya Playa in Cala Rajada (wife and two boys, aged 6 and 8 years) in october 2011.

We arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in time, but paying € 5 tip at the reception we immediately obtained room on the 1st floor overlooking the sea. We recommend you take the 1st floor room with sea view (starting with the number 236 or higher).

The hotel is not a 4 star hotel , I would characterize it as a 3 star plus. Building and common areas are a little outdated, but the room was clean, with two rooms, a cooking area and large balcony.

The rooms were quite large, good beds, very spacious bathroom with tub. The only bad thing in the room was the presence (in two days out of seven) of a very strong smell (quite unpleasant smell, like dirty beach).

Near the hotel is the Sa Cova bar, where once a week could be live music, and if you have your room oriented in that area, this might disturb you.

Cleaning is almost daily, not on Thursdays.

The food was good, every day we had another specific (Italian, Mexican, American,etc.), fresh fruits, salads, cakes. I do not recommend taking all-inclusive regime, since the only difference was that in the full-board we have not had access to a Coke machine in the restaurant and access to the hotel bar serving local drinks. I recommend the local specialties of fish, paella and pig.

Free Wi-fi was available in the room after I requested the access code from reception.

The staff was friendly and polite, even if no one speaks English (except for those at the reception, everyone speaks Spanish or German).

Advantages: Hotel is on the seashore, 5 minutes from the beach Calla Agula, 8 minutes from Eroski store (which I recommend for common stuff, like food or vine or beer , with much lower prices than the small stores in the area), 50 minutes Son Moll beach walk ( the resort to be crossed on Carrer Agulla street ). Next to the hotel is a small square with children's playground. The hotel had a small playground with a slide and sand, and has kids club, but the kids have not tried it.

Calla Agulla beach is pretty crowded but has very fine sand, the sea is azure and clear. In the days when the sea is agitated, access to water is prohibited by lifeguards. Loungers can be rented.

The hotel has three pools, one for children. The water was clean (but a bit cold), with free sun beds. Hotel has indoor pool with spa, but we didn’t went.

This hotel is ideal for holidays with children and for those who want a good holiday at ok price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We're recently returned from Cala Ratjada and stayed at the Guya Playa.
Initially we were given a studio apartment at the back of the hotel (if the front is overlooking the sea). These 4/5 studios have large balconies overlooking the main street Avenida Agulla - so may be a little noisy.
We asked to move to a room on the side street which leads to the entrance and apart from 2 noisy groups in the early hours it was quiet and there was a small patch of sea we could see from our balcony.
The rooms were spacious with twin beds, TV, sofa, dining table and with the little kitchenette (with coffee machine and kettle) perfect for us as we were not going to eat in the hotel.There was air con. The bathroom was nicely decorated and there was hot water (although this did fluctuate a little), there is a hairdryer as well.
It's about a 15 min walk to the beach of Cala Agulla along the promenade. The beach can be quite busy. If you want to hire a sun lounger for the day get there before 11am!
The main port area was about a 15 minute walk as well. Though there are quite a few bars and restaurants near by.
If you want a safety deposit box you have to pay a deposit and then a minimal charge per day.
The spa looked amazing! But I didn't use it. I think there is a deposit to be paid on the towels (if you don't have your own) and charge per day.
Pool area had lots of sun loungers and umbrellas but we only sat there on two days.
I didn't use the bar area - it was quite quiet. There is a ping pong table and a pool table. There is entertainment in the bar / pool area which may be an issue for people who over look this area.
I would recommend the hotel to others. We had a nice relaxing time at the hotel and found staff to be helpful.

Room Tip: Studio apartments are at back of hotel on the side street and main street. Those overlooking pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were two families one with twins aged nine and the other with 13,15,18 year olds. We paid an extra 5 euros a day for a sea view in a one bed apartment and we had a great view over the sea and mountains. From our balcony we were able to watch our twins in the pool with the other kids and at the kids club. The hotel was well designed and both the bedroom and the lounge led on to the balcony so our children could have the lounge and we could stay up drinking wine on the balcony in to the night which made our holiday.
The kids had big inflatables in the pool and no one minded. We were self catering and bought all our food and drink locally and ate and drank on the balcony and had no problems doing this. The hotel is predominantly German but this made our holiday better as the other children were very well behaved and kept ours in check. Also the other guests were well behaved and we were not woken up by other guests either at siesta time or late in the evening.
The resort of Cala Ratjada was also very German and even had a beer hall style drinking area with bars and German disco music which I enjoyed. There are also a lot of other modern and English bars for all ages. The local beach to Guya is lovely but crowded in peak season.
I would highly recommend it if self catering (but no oven or microwave) and in a one bed facing the sea (not the studios) and open to being in the minority as an English tourist. Otherwise not.

Room Tip: Rooms 263-260 were great location for sea views from balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Really nice hotel 5 minutes from the beach. Nice swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers. The hotel also had a good gym and spa. The breakfast had plenty to choose from although the hot food was a little bit greasy. All of the staff were very friendly and happy to help and our rooms were cleaned every day. This resort is catered for german tourists and there were hardly any British there. The only real nag I would have abouth the resort is that the transfer from the airport was two and a half hours and actually took longer than our flight.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diggler069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Me and my husband had recently just got married and without any honeymoon plans we decided to book a short mini moon to Palma de Mallorca, one of favourite places to visit. We wanted to explore somewhere different so we stayed on the resort of Cala Ratjada.
We booked the hotel online and were looking forward to our week together, upon arrival to the hotel we checked in and settled into our studio.
The studio was a little basic and certainly not modern like it was quoted on the hotels website, but we made do in the hope it would get better. We had a TV in our room which was about the size of a box of cornflakes and from the 1930's era,to top it off you had to pay a deposit of 10 euros to receive the remote control!!
The bathroom was very spacious and the was the only thing I liked about the room to be honest.
We had booked all inclusive so we wouldn't have to thing about where to go to eat, but the food was below average. The vegetables were always frozen, there was always the same desserts, we expected being so close to the sea to have fresh fish most days but we only had one day of fish the whole week.
The outside and pool area were very nice and perfect for children with small children. The Spa was also very nice.
The evening entertainment was shocking!!!! It consisted of ONE very enthusiastic lady starting off with the kids club which was just her playing the same CD every night for the kids to dance too then they would play one game of musical chairs. There was never more than 4 kids taking part.
Then some nights not all there was BINGO so our entertainment was finished by 9pm and if there was no kids club then there was no entertainment at all.
This was the worst Entertainment I had ever seen even Butlins would have been better!

As well as our honeymoon it was also my husbands birthday during our stay at the hotel, so I went to enquire about getting a birthday cake to be brought to him during our evening dinner. It was like I'd asked for 1,000 euros or something by the look on the guys face at the reception, he said he would ask the hotel manager. They came back to me and said it would cost 20 euros for them to make the cake!!! I couldn't believe it I didn't mind paying but 20 euros and plus the fact it was our honeymoon too!!!!

Plus Cala Ratjada itself was a pretty town but with nothing to do!
The only consolation was that the beach was one of the nicest I've ever seen turquoise sea and white sand, perfect!

This is not a hotel and resort I would be recommending the hotel is rated as a 4 star and in my opinion it was more like a basic 3 star. I think the nice picturesque location and the Indoor Spa boosts it a little but nowhere near 4 star hotel quality. We were hugely disappointed because we had expectations of a 4 star hotel and paid for a 4 star too!!!!

So please don't waste your money on this very disappointing hotel in Cala Ratjada!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank Emmam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Was a little apprehensive as some reviews stated it was poor quality. However, was a fab location, room was fine, ok not Sandals standard, but also a lot cheaper, great value for money. Very friendly and although was mainly German speaking, would try and speak English, always included. Were brilliant in helping us sort out food and bottles for our 10 month old. Definitely recommend. Minor problem with Ants, but had our own spray.

Quite a distance from airport. would suggest pay a little more for transfer, we paid the cheapest and took over 2 1/2 hours by coach, on way back had a mini bus and only took an hour.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whiteOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.2 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Green Garden
Aparthotel Green Garden
#10 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
THB Cala Lliteras
THB Cala Lliteras
#12 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#8 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ses Rotges
Ses Rotges
#3 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Pineda
Prinsotel La Pineda
#13 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Guya Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Guya Playa

Property: THB Guya Playa
Address: Calle Es Secret s/n, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Guya Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sea front, offering 100 apartments and 38 studio flats, all totally refurbished and featuring complete bathroom, terrace, kitchen, telephone, safety deposit box, air conditioning, satellite TV and hairdryer.There is a bar, a lounge with internet access and a restaurant, all of which have air conditioning and heating. The swimming pool and solarium are the ideal setting in which to enjoy your leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your THB Guya Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb Guya Playa Hotel Cala Ratjada
Thb Guya Playa Cala Ratjada
THB Guya Playa Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing