We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Hotel Lux de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lux de Mar
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Perfect location, cute deco, clean, nice staffs, awesome sea view.

It would be perfect but we had some minor issues.
Everyone speaks German in the hotel and around Cala Ratjada but very little English. Also, only German tv channels.
Breakfast time was overcrowded everyday.
You can get wireless only in the reception, nowhere else.
There is no parking facilities, so if you rent a car you will need to park on the street and most of the time you will not find parking space near by.
If you book through Agency I would advise to call the hotel and confirm your booking with them as we had problems with our booking. I called the hotel one day before arriving and they ended up saying that there was no reservation under my name. It was solved between the agency and the hotel that day, but anyway I was very stressed calling here and there.

Anyways... in the end we had such a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Estella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lux de Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in July with family, 8 of us in total. Although we enjoyed our holiday and the bedrooms have been totally refurbished there are some niggling issues that need to be addressed. First of all the breakfast set up. This is a very stressful experience and rather like a huge canteen with people here there and everywhere overcrowded. Every morning the staff would surprise the waiting masses by changing the location of foods causing rather a disturbance. One morning with no available tables 4 of us made our way to seating outside to which the staff decided was unacceptable and therefore locked us out!! By the way this outside area had dirty tables and cigarette ends all over the floor. We then had to proceed up the stairs and through the foyer of the hotel and back down to the dining room for any further food or drinks. The manager was unavailable for many hours but eventually we managed to talk the lovely lady at reception to persuade him to come from behind the screen to talk to us about the breakfast problem who was not in the slightest bit interested. Basically the breakfast time from 8 - 10 is too short for the amount of people and exactly at 10 every day all food disappears rapidly. Apart from the breakfast problems and the manager that was never present the rest of the staff where exceptionally helpful, the reception staff through to the housekeeping who couldn't do enough for you. We booked this hotel through Voyage prive who advertised it as a 4 star but it has it's fourth star covered up and is definitely a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Sea facing
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank time55out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Hotel Lux de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice hotel, with the perfect location just 5 min. to the perfect beach by feet, very quiet and comfortable. Food was very nice and different, very friendly stuff. I can recommend you this hotel for the nice rest:)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed from 28.06 to 9.7.2014
This hotel was renovated and new decor looks fantastic, all is new in rooms. Hotel is very clean friendly helpful staff, absolutly great location the best in Cala Ratjada. Super seaview from rooms and from bar seating place. The food was excellent, lots of fish . Fantastic location for good price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Evgenyia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed 8th - 18th June 2014 in room 408. Booked through Voyage Prive as a 4 star, but the hotel only has 3 stars and has a little way to go to get that 4th star. Please bear in mind we were expecting a 4 star experience, so naturally we were disappointed with a 3 star hotel.
The good bits:
Reception staff are excellent, except Joan, who has an abrupt & unfriendly manner.
Bar staff all excellent and hard working.
Restaurant staff all excellent. Attentive without being intrusive.
English is very much a third language behind German then Spanish. But all staff tried very hard to understand and help us, even if that meant fetching someone else.
The hotel decor is smart with a colour theme running throughout.
Very nice seating in the lounge. But the lounge bar was never open during our stay. Free wifi at Reception and into the lounge.
Plenty of sun beds available poolside. We only saw a towel on a sunbed once during our stay, despite this being a very 'German' resort.
Food was plentiful and constantly replenished. The usual breakfast buffet. At dinner there was a huge amount of choice so you would never go hungry. We found the food pretty good for a buffet.
Our room was big enough with a small balcony with a view over the pool and out to sea. We had sun in the morning only.
The bed was comfortable and an extra pillow was provided almost immediately it was requested.
Free air conditioning. Safe requires a deposit which is returned when you hand in the key.
In the bathroom shower gel and shampoo are provided along with soap, but no conditioner. Lovely fluffy white towels, obviously quite new.
There is a free shower/changing (no toiletries, but towels are provided) room should you have a late departure, like us.
The not so good:
The hotel is popular with parties of young men. This can make poolside very rowdy. We were only disturbed by their homecoming on one occasion, thankfully.
The nearby Cala Aguller beach is also very popular with parties of young people and it can be hard to see the sand for the discarded beer cans. There are also competing sound systems. However the further you walk round the beach the quieter it becomes.
Back at the hotel, you will need to provide your own pool towel.
There is a gym but it does not seem to be well maintained. There is a lot of rust on the equipment. This was disappointing, as it's something we always look for in a hotel, but we decided not to chance it. The jacuzzi was not working properly while we were there, with two of the jets out of action.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and there is no fridge. Very disappointing.
The toiletries provided are of inferior quality and with shampoo but no conditioner, again very disappointing. They were never replenished during our stay. But we had been to the supermarket and bought some decent products anyway so we didn't complain.
The bathroom has no storage provided despite there being plenty of wall space for shelving. So toiletries end up in the bedroom, not ideal. Annoyingly there is no bin in the bathroom. The bathroom has been poorly designed so that when you are sitting on the toilet you are UNDER the basin unit. Also our shower screen leaked, which we reported. This was not fixed during our stay. So our bathroom floor was a constant puddle.
The cleaning could have been better. We found a stash of 'weed' in our safe, left by a previous guest. The smell gave it away, so why didn't the cleaners find it? On a couple of occasions we had to ask for a towel or a floor mat which had not been replaced.
After a couple of days the cleaners no longer felt the need to re-set the room as it was on arrival. Our table and chairs would be pushed into the corner. The bed runner got folded up and left on one of the chairs after a couple of days.
There are very few english speaking channels on the tv. But there is one news channel and a good music channel.
There is no car park and street parking can be difficult but you will need a car. There are many beautiful beaches nearby.

Overall a very nice 3 star hotel but spoilt by the rowdy behaviour which goes unchecked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Suerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Hotel Lux de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us and for offering us your comments and opinions. We will take them into account carefully, because they will help us improve every day, and also to adapt our facilities and services to our customers' tastes and needs.

All our guestrooms and facilities are inspected and cleaned rigorously, and so we apologize if during your stay there may have been an isolated failure in the process that would have caused the inconveniences that you describe, and we will take measures so that it does not occur again.

We are at your service for anything that you may need. We hope that you can visit us in the near future so that you can enjoy a real Vincci experience.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Delpi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Meerblick ist auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WI93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.1 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#3 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Son Moll Sentits Hotel & Spa
Son Moll Sentits Hotel & Spa
#4 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#9 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#7 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
Petit Hotel Ses Rotges
#5 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux de Mar

Address: Diseminado Cala Agulla 120, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Vincci Bosc de Mar)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#5 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range: £67 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lux de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In front of the sea, only 200 meters from the beach of Cala Agulla, 1km. from Cala Ratjada center and its harbor, 80km. Palma and the airport. The hotel has 236 rooms spread over 6 floors, all with shower and hair dryer, beds and bed 1X2 meters, telephone, safe, air conditioning, balcony, satellite TV, most with sea views. Internet access, handicapped rooms on request. Fully renovated in 2014, it features an outdoor swimming pool with children's section, surrounded by large seaside terrace, lounge bar with TV. pool bar, snack bar, garden with a children's mini-club, luggage room with toilet and shower. Full buffet breakfast. Equipped with jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lux de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lux De Mar Majorca/Cala Ratjada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing