We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money break away with decent food and a great Spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great value for money break away with decent food and a great Spa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Arrived here at end of October for a 5 night cheapy myself and my wife. Very clean hotel friendly staff. We are Northern Irish and it was mainly Germans staying at the hotel and the food was catered more for them rather than plain English food but i am not a fussy eater and my wife always found something nice to eat ( especially the nutella crepes for breakfast...!) but the food could be a problem if you are really fussy apart from that it was good quality food and drink! We would recommend going all inclusive to get the most of it as we did ( as many cocktails as you want!). We were unsure of what the weather would be like but we got 3 days of sun around 27 deg celcius and 2 days dull some rain. Majorca is very quiet this time of year a lot of places are closed for winter but we didnt mind as we just wanted time to relax. It was an enjoyable break and another good point was the entertainment every night in the hotel was good fun! We would come back sometime during the summer some year for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kat_monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you very much for your valoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    151
    45
    23
    5
See reviews for
108
161
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

It is a 3 star hotel. Nothing more, nothing less. The rooms were on acceptable (i.e. basic) level, cleaned every day. The staff was friendly and helpfull (except the main waitor named Jose - he behaved as a fool). The food was OK, however if you have only half board, you can forget the drinks during dinner (or pay for that). The beach is close, water clean. The use of spa by children is very limited (hmm !?).
The hotel is full of German guests, so if you do not mind that you have to compete with them for parasols and sunbeds around the pools (and be prepared that you can not wint this game against them :-) then this hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enviro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thanks for your valoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Janeiro in early August 2011. We were a party of 5 - one couple, plus a separate room for my three sons aged 20, 18 and 14. My girlfriend had been to Mallorca before, but for the rest of us this was our first visit. We went on a bed-and-breakfast basis, which was unusual for this hotel as most guests were clearly on an All Inclusive option.

This hotel is overwhelmingly occupied by Germans, with the odd Dutch or French visitor - we were the only English family there, as far as I am aware. This wasn't a problem at all, as most of the staff spoke reasonable English. However, we didn't have small kids so didn't make any use of the Animation team, where the dominant language was German - this may clearly be an issue for some.

The rooms were of a reasonable size and clean and comfortable, if a little basic. The bathroom was of a decent size, though beware of having a lie-in as the hotel tended to run out of hot water after 9am! The portable TV in our room was fixed to the wall in a ridiculous place - I lost count of the number of times I hit my head on it as I walked past the end of the bed. The TV itself had just one English TV channel (CNN) which was a disppointment - everything else was in German. The aircon in our room worked, but wasn't that effective - in the boys' room it worked so well that it made the room too cold, with the result that they turned it off at night and ended up too hot when they woke up! Our room had a balcony, though the view wasn't too enthralling - straight across the street to another hotel (Hotel Sarah). Our sons room was bigger (3 single beds, as opposed to 1 double), but they didn't have a balcony at all, just a view out of a window. This wasn't a particular problem for any of us, but I would recommend that guests should request a balcony with a view of the pools. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned regularly (as was the hotel generally) and fresh towels were always available if needed.

The pools themselves were very good - one shallow one with a couple of jacuzzis for families with small children and a separate larger (25m?) pool for adults. Despite all of the jokes about Germans and their reserving of sunbeds with towels there were never any issues on that score for us, though getting a parasol to shade yourself from the intense heat was a different matter.

The Spa was excellent - as a bloke I wouldn't normally bother, but as our stay included 3 free visits I went along and found it to be very good indeed. An excellent sauna, steam room, plunge pool, hot jacuzzi, etc. Some of our group also used the small gym a few times - not bad but not great, disappointed that the treadmill wasn't working.

The food was good. Everything was buffet style, but the selection and quality were very good. Of course, the hotel tends to cater more for its German guests - so lots of hams and cheeses, but there were also hot food selections (German sausage, scrambled or fried eggs, streaky bacon, etc) and cereal / fruit combinations. My girlfriend wasn't a big fan of the tea - I stuck to coffee. I deliberately didn't choose to go All Inclusive as I generally prefer to eat out at restaurants and am always concerned that All inclusive dining can be too repetitive. However, we did have lunch at the hotel on several occasions, paying a 9 Euro supplement per person, which was good value.

The bar staff were bloody great - Evet and Sergio in particular deserve an award for their great service and terrific sense of humour. They were great fun to be around and made "the crazy English family" feel very welcome.

The evening entertainment was mixed - everything from traditional flamenco dancing to a parrot show. Again, language barriers could be a small issue. The only one we really made an effort to see was the "We will Rock You" show, based on Queen - it was total crap, just a bunch of people dressed up in weird costumes (somehow based in the distant future, God knows what they were thinking) miming to the lyrics and prancing around with air guitars. Other entertainers on other nights were, thankfully, much better but generally we only got back from restaurants in time for the last half of their acts.

The hotel Janeiro is at the quieter, southern end of C'an Picafort. This is both good and bad - generally it's quieter at night when you want to sleep (though we did have some issues with buses pulling up and one weekend when the locals all seemed to go out on the raz until the early hours), but it can be a 20-25 minute walk to the livelier parts of town where the better beach and most of the bars and restaurants are. Again, this didn't particularly bother me as I was able to walk off my dinner on the way back to the hotel. Maybe I am naive, but I found the restaurants to be more expensive than I had expected - the bill regularly exceeded 100 Euros for the 5 of us. Nasty credit card bill when I got home. Try the Su Cova restaurant (about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel) if you get a chance - traditional Mallorcan cuisine and the best steak I have had in some considerable time. A bit pricey, but well worh it. And no, I'm not on commission . .

C'an Picafort itself is a pretty nice place, but be aware that many of the larger attractions such as Aqua parks, Sea Life marinas, etc are to be found on the western side of the island. This meant that they were at least a 90 minute bus journey away, and added to the cost. In the end, we stayed mainly around C'an Picafort, with two trips to Alcudia where we went on the large beach there and hired the pedalos and banana boat / sofa, which were great fun.

All in all, I would say that the hotel was very good and we had a great time. What improvements could they make? Well, tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms would be very welcome. Some more English TV channels would also be a help, as would a few more parasols around the pool / sunbathing areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertywells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su valoración - thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel guets are 99 % germans. rooms are basic, but clean. very noisy. We had a room with a sea view, but there was sucha a strong wind and the patio doors didn' t close properly, not much sun on that side. Very noisy day and night due to entertainment. Spa looked nice but we did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annaboneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su valoración - thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

we came her july .had great time although we were the only english, we enjoyed being with germans they are very nice. pools were great and rooms excellent although towels out by 7 am spa was great went daily .food was poor but edible we would come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Muchas gracias por su valoración - thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2006

I stayed at this hotel earlier this year for a week.
The hotel as a whole was very clean and the receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful.and the food was to a high standard.
I'm not a complainer so I havn't bothered to do anything about it.
The main part of the hotel was air conditioned, although the room I was given lacked air conditioning, (it looked as if it was fitted but didnt work) and the websites said the hotel rooms were air conditioned, the receptionist seemed to know all about it, (and I seemed to be in the complainers room). The manager spoke little English and came to the room and tried to convince me that there was nothing wrong and seemed unkeen to swap me to another room, so I led in my own sweat every night.
Most websites say this hotel has parking.....IT DOSENT....there is plenty of on street parking close by.
And on one wbsite it mentions large gardens, there is outside space, patio etc and its close to the beach but NO LARGE GARDENS.
Not really a problem as such, but when I went i was the only Englishman,

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank jarvis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thanks you very much for your valoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

Stayed at the Janeiro in July for nine nights on a half board basis.
When we firsted got there at 4 in the morning porter spoke in German initially but obviously changed to English.
We Had an apartment which when we directed to found that it was actually over the road a ways wasn't to bothered though since we would be away from the hotel if there was any major late entertainment and noise.
Found the apartment to be good for a 3 star hotel. Had a seperate room for me and my wife and my 15 year old boy had a nice bit of privacy in the lounge area where he had a choice of sleeping on the sofa or the pull out mattress underneath. These being extra long and wide even I could sleep on with enough space length or width ways.
Food was ok, breakfast more continental than the full english and the German influence was present in dinner too but not too bad just found the choice lacking.
All together wasn't a bad hotel just too German, expected more spanish spoken.
The room was excellent, kept clean every day and changed towels regularly. Had enough to eat even though on a buffet restaurant the choice was not good at all.
Nice hotel, good room if you stay in the apartment and good base if like us you want to see the island mixed with sun worshiping. Oh and the beach was only about 300 metres away.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank De51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerrerHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thanks you very much for your valoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#8 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro

Property: Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro
Address: Avenida Diagonal 41, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#9 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferrer Janeiro is located in the zone of Son Baulo, one of the most peaceful parts of Ca´n Picafort. Only 80 m away from its fine sand beach. It disposes of 211 rooms distributed in 5 floors and 22 apartments, in a one-storey building right in the neighbourhood of the hotel. All rooms and apartments are equipped with air-conditioning / heating, bathroom, satellite TV, direct outward dialling phone, safety deposit box and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Ferrer Janeiro
Ferrer Janeiro Hotel Appartements
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing