We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday and lovely staff - don't listen to the moaners!”
Review of Hotel Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sultan
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have just got back from a week long holiday here. We are a young couple and have had a wonderful holiday.

The hotel is basic (as you would expect from the price), but the staff are so friendly and helpful, bar prices very cheap (around €2 euros for an alcoholic drink), food is basic but delicious, and rooms were very clean.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, literally a one minute walk from the beach, and plenty of shops, supermarkets, restaurants and bars right outside. There is also a car rentals place down the road that does all the excursions you could think of for approx €40 per adult. We went on 3 and we're very impressed with the service.

We stayed half board. Breakfast consisted of a selection of cakes, cereals, croissants, bacon, scrambled egg, fried egg, meats and cheeses. Also included unlimited juices and coffees/teas which you could help yourself to. Evening meals varied but usually there was salad, potatoes, soup, a fish dish, pasta, chips and a meat dish. You do have to pay for drinks in the evening but as I said before, these are very cheap. All in all the food did get a bit repetitive but what can you expect of a buffet? It was delicious and I would have been happy to eat there every night if we hadn't have wanted to try some of the restaurants in the area too.

I have noticed that a number of people have said that this a mainly german area. Although this is true there were also plenty of English people and bars and everyone we spoke to spoke English so we did not feel alienated at all.


The staff were also very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. When we checked out it was half 5 in the morning, the restaurant was obviously closed and we had only a couple of euros left. The man on reception made us coffee and orange juice and even gave us some cakes to take with us. All free of charge. You would be hard pressed to find anywhere in England that does that!

If you are looking for a budget hotel that's close to the beach and nightlife then i would certainly recommend the sultan. It's not the hilton and the area is hardly ibiza if you re wanting to go clubbing, but we really enjoyed ourselves and would certainly go back again.

All the moaners on here should try spending a bit more money if they want a 5 star hotel! Also with regards to the fact that you have pay extra for the tv - you re on holiday so why would you want to be inside watching TV anyway?

The only thing I would say is that the rooms do not have air con so it did get very hot in the room at night. However we kept the door open and the sea breeze cooled us down some what.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derby_traveller_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

lovely location for the beach, shops and restraunts.
stayed in a twin room overlooking the road, room too small for 2 beds in my opinion , barely enough between the beds to get out, bathroom was ok with towels changed everyday , if somewhat shabby and threadbear,
rooms cleaned everyday,
breakfast was ok , with juice and coffee machines , and a good choice of hot and cold, you had your own table for your stay.
reception staff could have been a bit more friendly,
no cuertesy room on day of departure, shower in pool area not working either, so be be prepared to shower in your room before you leave, not ideal if you don't fly till 10 in the evening as we did.
all in all a good base to stay , eventhough the room was tiny.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeNorhWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Went here for a week in second week of August.

Good hotel. Does what it says on the tin and a bit more. The staff really made it for us though.

Yes the rooms are tired and dated, but like many have said, you get what you pay for. However, they are by no means bad. Very comfortable feeling. Cleaned daily. And I was shocked at how poor some reviews were about rooms.

If possible, ask for any room not facing the pool. Our first night, there were no fans for hire and we had a pool view room which had no breeze through the door. The sea breeze is pleasant in all other rooms. In fact, we didn't even need a fan to keep cool in the evenings.

Some noise from nearby bars until late hours (1 or 2am) but nothing like being inside a club either. In fact, some of the tunes played were very familiar so singing along helped me sleep.

The staff were fabulous as I mentioned earlier. When our first room became too much to handle, they moved us next day to a slightly better room. Also, everything was done and said with a smile. Nothing was of too much inconvenience.

Breakfast is the same every morning. Unlimited vended coffee/tea/hot chocolate, pineapple and orange juices, milk, cereal, eggs (scrambled and fried), bacon, tomatoes, salami, cheese, bread, rolls and croissants, fairy cakes, jam, butter and toast/bread, and fresh oranges. No Michelin starred dishes but it was good and filling. The oranges are a must-have.

Bar prices were very reasonable compared to UK. 2 euros for a large beer, 2.50 for your typical smirnoff, jack daniels etc. And they pool bar is exactly the same prices with sufficient choices of snacks. (Please note: they frown upon you bringing your own food or alcohol although done sneakily, no-one batters an eye-lid).

Fantastically close to beach. Good location for shops, cash machines, wide range of restaurants (5 or 6 pizza places, some Indian, Chinese, English etc) and some good authentic spanish restaurants too. Also in close proximity of supermarket for essentials i.e. bottled water (which is cheaper than in shops) snacks, alcohol etc. Bus stops nearby and the bus/train that runs through Ca'n Picafort.

Overall, we believed that it was money well spent and we got the best of what we payed for. I would recommend to anyone who seeks a place to sleep, and do nothing but not pay through the roof. It serves it's purpose and we had a great time.

Thanks to all the staff for making it a memorable holiday. Hope to return again next year!!

Room Tip: Any apart from pool-view. These have the best views of mountains and sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Travelled with husband and 2 kids 6 and 3. Don't normally write reviews, but we had a great time. Pool was lovely with part of it shallow enough for the 3 year old to stand in so we could watch from side, and good splash pool which kept them entertained for hours. Staff friendly, helpful and professional. Went all inclusive and have to say that most things included, cocktails as well. Nothing that we wanted was not included. Sit down service at pool bar welcome, if sometimes busy, and staff slightly harassed. Evening buffet generally fantastic, drinks service in restaurant prompt. Breakfast all self service but varied, and excellent quality, with frequent refreshing of dishes. Evening drinks table service could be slow and hard to get table if not prompt. My kids wouldn't go to kids club but seemed to be quite well run, and we were able to relax due to pool arrangements. Didn't get to see much of adult only area as had to go in relays but looked lovely. Evening entertainment wasn't bad and kids enjoyed which meant we could have a drink and relax. Went with hotel for trips - local firm very good. Thomas cook pretty rubbish service in this hotel. Playground lovely, kids spent a long time there. Rooms good, bathrooms lovely, beds hard though! Not actually far form beach and town but seemed it in hot weather! All in all great holiday, and we are fairly picky!

Room Tip: We saw some lovely rooms on ground floor with private garden, they look really nice if your budget s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We knew it was old and was a 2 star, but we don't mind as long as it's clean, with clean bedding and a clean bathroom, we knew the food wouldn't be up to much but thought we could manage something off the buffet. How wrong can you be, on all counts? The rooms are tiny, and ours smelled appalling, I complained every day, the water in the sink won't run away, and every day I was told they would send maintenance .... still waiting. I asked for airfreshner because of the stink on the whole floor, not just our room, and was given a home made spray with a miniscule drop in the bottom, and asked to take it straight back. The towels are as thin as paper and full of holes, absolutely disgusting. The restaurant is a joke, the food isn't edible, we had to go out to eat, even the salad was limp and dry. Fish floating in water, dry spaghetti with no sauce, and chips, for dessert, melon or a bread cake. Ugh! My family are all Spanish speaking, yet none of the staff could speak Spanish, even the cook was German. Everything is outdated, doesn't work, not repaired, or repairable. My advice, choose a different hotel, if you've already booked, be prepared to take extra money for eating out.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ana0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

in a great position with bus stops, beach and centre amenities all very handy, staff were polite and willing to help. the hotel is in need of updating, our room was cleaned regularly but needs lots of repairs and there were only 2 elec plugs, one in the main room and one in the bathroom, with the fridge plugged in there was nowhere to plug the mozzi killer. no air con but fans are available to hire at a price, TV can be hired at a price but there is nowhere to plug them in. shame as it is a great resort. breakfast and evening meals were poor for half board

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We just came back from a lovely trip in Palma de Mallorca, Can Picafort resort.

We chose to stay at Sultan, a very nice hotel situated no more than 100 meters from the sea in a very good, central and easily accessible region of the whole resort.
Almost each morning we woke up at 5h30 to catch the sunrise and since we were very sleepy at that time, we still felt it was very quick to get to the beach. Waking up at the 7th floor, feeling the fresh morning air and being able to see the sea and mountains directly from the bed made each morning a very enjoyable experience even if we got very late to sleep - many things to see and do:).

The hotel is situated next to a car rental shop and we were able to easily book a car for 1 day at 33 EUR and visit Formentor and Sa Calobra. If you want to keep the car overnight it's 12 EUR and for us it was nice that we also got to visit Alcudia by night.
The hotel staff was very nice and polite and they gave us one of the rooms with a terrace with an exceptional panoramic view of both the beach and mountains. This was room number 709 but there are several rooms that offer the same in the hotel - I think all the rooms on corner. But please consider this room is on 7 th floor - the last one- and in june the temp. was fine but in july or august you might need to rent a fan from the reception. We closed the terrace door and curtains during midday and it was fine. In any case,
Also they were nice to call another person speaking our language and so it was easy to get around and know a bit about the area and the hotel facilities.

There is a buffet breakfast. It is not a wide variety and we're not eating meat, but still could choose from cheese, tomatoes, eggs, cereals with milk, croissants, oranges, toast with jam and butter...The beverages - hot and cold - from the machine were included.
We also took dinner which was also buffet and the price was very good compared to eating elsewhere. Having dinner in the hotel saved us time, and there were so many things to see and visit that the 8 days didn't seem to cover. The beverages were not included for dinner, but were quite cheap - 1.2 euro a beer, etc. The breakfast was always the same but dinner was different. Every evening there was fish, salads, fries, rice, soup,, etc . One evening also paella. I don t count the meat :) Also fruits(melon or apple salad) and some sort of cake.

I wish you a pleasant stay at Sultan !

Room Tip: The upper floors(7th) has a great panoramic view of both the sea and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#33 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
279 reviews
18.4 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
960 reviews
30.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#2 of 6 in Cala Figuera
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
388 reviews
18 mi away
Europa
Europa
#24 of 29 in Sa Coma
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#6 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan

Address: Passeig Colom 147 | Can Picafort Mallorca, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £26 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sultan 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sultan Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing