We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Viva Can Picafort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Can Picafort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Can Picafort
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Carlow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Viva Can Picafort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just home from a fantastic holiday in Viva can picafort - July 2014. The complex is extremely clean and so well laid out. Our room was in block 2 on the 3rd floor with the most amazing pool view. Our room had a bedroom with two single beds together and an L shape couch which had a pull out bed underneath for the kids. There is a safe in the room, you have to pay extra for this but we were expecting this.
We were all inclusive which was fantastic. The restaurant is self service for food and drink (alcohol included) The buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner was great. Food was lovely and the kids enjoyed getting their own food and a big + is the food was hot. We ate at the pool bar at lunch time which was a nice break from buffet (chicken wings were yummy).
Kids didn't really use the kids club during the day but our little boy loved the soccer in the morning after breakfast and again in the evening and our little girl did do the T-shirt painting which she loved.
The pools were fantastic we stuck to the shallow pool which both children could just about stand up in and they would venture from that pool to the splash pool which had a fantastic pirate ship with slides etc. Yes I admit we put our towels down early before breakfast to reserve sun beds but we used them all day so I hold my hands up!
The entertainment is very family orientated, a bit hit and miss and finishes up around 10pm the kids enjoyed though, personally I think a bit of music left on at the entertainment area after the shows etc would have been good.
Overall I felt the complex was very safe and we felt comfortable when the kids were walking around with new friends etc. The staff were all very friendly and always made a fuss of the kids. The beach is about 15/20 min walk/stroll. There isn't much outside of the complex and feels a bit run down but the beach is nice with lots of bars and the usual holiday shops and spars etc but there is quite an incline on the return to the complex.
Well done Viva this is one of the best family complexes we have visited and we hope to return again.

Room Tip: Email hotel before hand. We asked for room with pool view and request was granted. Some apartments f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quigleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    538
    121
    31
    31
See reviews for
1,304
88
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I do not know what all these negative comments are about. I have just spent 2 weeks at viva and cannot fault it, unless i am really niggling.
Yes beds were hard, but hey!
A la carte was not that great, didn't bother the second week.
Food was good choice and hot, after 2 weeks you get a little bit bored, but i do at home.
Viva reps were great with Children, First Choice rep, was he there???? when he was did he actually know anything.
Rooms and entire complex were very well maintained and clean, pool toilets were always being cleaned.
Yes the pull out bed has legs, after a night off sleeping on wheels, i found this out.
Staff were friendly and joked with you when you got to know them, Manuel and tony you are great.
i was one of the many that was out early to claim our sunbeds,(i did need 8) i was not the only one, its a busy hotel.
Entertainment was entertaining but maybe for the wrong reasons, but a laugh anyway.I am still humming chocolatte and viva songs.
Drinks and cocktails were super, and sundaes from sports bar we childrens favourite, along with the chocolate milk.
Pool area tad slippery, but where are they not.
Beach 10 minute walk, slight incline, go to right much bigger area and better beach.
I am now looking for 2015 and i have to say i really want another viva resort.
Good work guys, you all work so hard and it pays off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned today from a weeks holiday with my husband and our two year old daughter.
The hotel is lovely, grounds and pool areas are kept very clean. Staff were all nice and helpful. Plates were cleared away straight away at meal times.
Meals were a little repetitive, but that's to be expected with all inclusive. I just wish they had a little more variety for children - especially fruit and vegetables. My daughter seemed to live off of chips the whole week.
The hotel room was clean, though beds are hard and we had two beds pushed together. Not too bad, but having a toddler in the bed too, some nights she got stuck in between them!
As this is a family resort, I would have hoped for a more child friendly and childproof room. The main door is easily opened by a toddler, it has no additional lock on the inside to stop a child from opening it and walking out. Same with the french doors leading to the balcony, but we were ground floor so wasn't too worried. Also plug sockets are open and at low level.
If you want to get a sun lounger, you need to be out before 8 am with your towels at the ready, or by 10/11am it's very difficult to find one near the pool.
Overall it was a good holiday and I would return, though perhaps when my daughter is a little older so she can participate in the kids clubs, as they seem to have lots of activities to offer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Well kept grounds, big kids pool and great pirate ship area, great food, big variety theme change every night, we stayed all inclusive, set times for breakfast lunch and dinner, but food made ready to order at pool side bar, branded drinks, lovely cocktails! Kids loved shows in the evening. We hired a car which I definitely recommend to get out and about, we went to Arta Caves and round the mountains, absolutely beautiful! Overall would definitely book with Viva again (and I'm fussy on hotels, if your looking for family hotel this is great!)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for people going away with a young family.

I went with my husband and 2 1/2 year old.

I agree with all below comments and will just add my views

The pool area is so clean and tidy and no problem for a two year old to potter about.

I wish they had more veg at evening meals and not much for kids.

Excellent staff, villa clean the 2nd floor villa balcony is safe. Lifts in apartments

Evening entertainment ok and kids is excellent day/night.

The splash pool was very cold but main pool ok.

Food at hotel is lovely and good selection of food.Breakfast from pastrys to fryups,omlettes,smoothies are lovely and fresh.

Evening meals for children most night were pasta plain or spag bowl sauce,mash,chips,popcorn chicken,chicken,nuggets and obv they can have an adult selection food from most nights of salad,chops,chicken,fajitas,steak,fish.

Hotel has shop on grounds for milk for babies if needed,bucket and spade and reasonable prices.

I would 100 percent go back amazing place.

The only thing i would change is the locks on the hotel rooms,my two year old could turn and open door and as a parent was a bit worried

I also wouldnt book with First Choice!

Lastly the drinks are very strong but i was happy with that,you can take drinks to your room and you can leave them in a box in morning and they get taken.

No flys or cats around grounds!

Good black out blinds so kids dont get up early!

No noise from people moving beds in AM as staff move them,hotel ground nice and quiet and lots of space,i didnt expect this for my first family holiday!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the amenities. Catering staff very clean, decent food. Pools excellent for children. Only thing I'd say, valuables, lock them away or they'll be stolen. We had items stolen from our room. Staff said if it's not in the safe it's not covered. Surprising response, since the item which was stolen, as well as cash, was too large to fit in the safe. Checks were done, only people in our room was us, or the cleaner.....
Good place to stay but lock your stuff away, if it fits in the tiny safe.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Viva Can Picafort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mr Gallear,

Regarding your comment we firstly want to thank for your general opinion about the hotel. As you may know we work hard to improve every day and to have as many happy and satisfied customers as possible.
From the first moment this occurred, as you may remember, we did our best trying to solve it. Our house keeping ladies have been working with us for many years and honestly we have never had a situation like this,
it has always been a very safe hotel.
We truly apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Regards.
Llorenç Pericas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've just returned from a week in the Viva Can Picafort where we had a great time. The hotel is clean, well maintained and has ample facilities. Staff were friendly, entertainment was good (for kids) and the food was good. Air conditioning in the room was great. The pools were clean and they were more than ample in size so we had plenty of room and never felt crowded in the way that you do in most pools. Our two boys have never been too pushed about swimming but it was difficult to get them out of the pool each day.

We haven't done this kind of holiday before so my only gripe probably applies to all these types of operations. The first day we were there we went to the kids club to inquire about the boys attending. Outside the kids club building there is a gate which has a high latch on it designed to prevent kids from opening it (because if they go through it, they are in the pool area). While we were standing in the space outside the kids club, a lady (not a staff member) went through the gate with her two kids and very stupidly let one of our kids out as well (in a way which seemed polite, but in reality was very dangerous). This unnerved us and we weren't going to let them do the kids club at all but we compromised by putting them in but staying on loungers as close by as we could (which turned out to be two pools away) and checking in on them regularly. Around two hours into the kids club session our four year old appeared at our loungers to say hello, having got away from the club. We were shocked and also astounded that he found us among a very packed pool complex (I'm guessing there could be 1,000 people there at the time). I asked him if it took him long to find us and he said it took him a while, that he had walk around the pools a few times. Naturally we were very angry as for a four year old to be allowed roam around unsupervised was madness. I went to the kids club and asked them where he was and they didn't know. They offered to find him so I told them I had him as he had found us, but that it wasn't good enough that he had got away like that. Our other child was enjoying the club so we left him in for the remaining hour but I sat on a bench outside to ensure he didn't leave the area unsupervised.

The moral of the story is that the parents you see hanging around the kids club are not clingy, they are dead right as it simply is not possible for two staff members to supervise 8 or 10 young kids in a crowded area which has hazards such as swimming pools nearby - you would have to have four sets of eyes.

We were very happy with the hotel, they do a great job, especially the entertainment staff who seem to work very hard and look happy doing it. The only reason I am posting this that I couldn't bear to think of what might happen if I didn't highlight it and there was an accident. I intend to email the hotel also to suggest that they install a more secure access control system to the kids club area.

We paid just over €1,000 for the week as we booked at the last minute (the night before we arrived). We didn't choose all-inclusive as the cost quoted to us was an additional €153 per day for two adults and two kids (€51 per adult and 50% of this per child). We preferred having the freedom to eat in a different restaurant in Can Picafort each evening. Most days we did the pool complex in the hotel until after lunch and for a bit of variety we'd go to the beach in Can Picafort (8-10 min walk away) and maybe browse around the shops until dinner. It's difficult to justify the extra cost of all inclusive as we ate all we wanted to for €45 - €70 including tip each evening and given that we had kids with us, we couldn't drink any more than a couple of drinks with dinner. The rooms have a small kitchenette so we had breakfast and lunch in the room most days purchased from the shop in the complex at decent enough prices.

Whilst initially we scoffed a bit at the practice of getting up early to put towels out on loungers in order to reserve them, we had to do the same any day we wanted to be sure of getting loungers anywhere near the pool - there has to be a better way of managing this as obviously some people reserve loungers but don't use them that much.

We would definitely recommend Viva Can Picafort for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Constrictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Viva Can Picafort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your hotel review.

We want all customers to go home happy and having a great memory of their holidays with us.
We were quite surprised about the notice of being ill after eating in our restaurant, on the Oriental night. That night we had over 750 customers enjoying the themed buffet and we haven’t had any comments or complaints about any other customer being sick so far.
We are sorry that you and your family have not been well , but in our opinion it could have been a bug passing to all your family members.
We want to say that all our staff works very hard to try and keep all our customers happy and satisfied, we apologize if at any point we didn’t meet your expectations.
We will work to improve in all aspects you have mentioned and most of all, we do respect your opinion

Thanking you for the information.
Yours sincerly
Llorenç Pericas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
3.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
5.7 mi away
Viva Tropic & Spa
Viva Tropic & Spa
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Can Picafort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Can Picafort

Property: Viva Can Picafort
Address: C/ Camp d_Avall s/n, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#1 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Can Picafort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We present to you the most spectacular and fun family destination of the island. For the children, new and better attractions for their leisure and entertainment. And for the parents, the guarantee of the best service and the most complete and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Viva Can Picafort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Can Picafort Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Viva Can Picafort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing