We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 19th September until 26th. The hotel is conveniently situated two streets back from the sea front. The sea can been seen from some of the rooms at rear of the hotel and can be heard.We stayed half board and the quality .of the food was very good with a wide selection at the buffet type restaurant.The restaurant staff were helpful and very pleasant.
The hotel was clean with daily cleaning of room.Good selection of British TV channels at least 3/4.The hotel is ideally located on the main street through Ca'n Picafort with easy local bus connections.It is also convenient for local shops and restaurants. The Friday market is a approx 0.75 mile away. Transfer time to the airport by shuttle bus was one and three quater
hours and took nearly 2 hrs on the return journey due to pick ups. I would stay again at this hotel.j

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank dewipoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    121
    57
    17
    14
See reviews for
52
212
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I spent one week all inclusive here, 15th- 22nd September 2011.Firstly, if it matters, age was 50+ and Germans were the majority. Many of them chain - smoked anywhere that wasn't inside. I. E. around the pool, the patio area, outside dining area and outside of the main hotel door, which kept opening as it is automatic.
The location of the hotel is on a fairly busy road at the front and a quieter road at the rear, although you would hardly know it. All of the rooms face the sun at some time of day.These are very well maintained and clean. The air conditioning is okay but I couldn't seem to set the temperature as low as I wanted. The food was good and there was a wide variety at every meal. At breakfast you had to queue for fried eggs and omelettes as these were cooked to order. A lot of people couldn't be bothered.
We thought that there was an evening dress code in the dining room, but there were a lot of people in shorts. At the bar, if you were all inclusive, you could only have small beer glasses as large ones were for paying customers that seemed to get better service. Entertainment was every other night and was okay with bingo one other night.
One euro for ten minutes on one of two computers. If you want to weigh your bags, it is one euro each time you put a bag on and off of the scale.
Although this sounds like more of a whinge, I have only made some statements, and without a doubt, if you or I wanted a fairly quiet, laid back, relaxing holiday where you could always get a sun bed and eat and drink nearly all day then this could be better than most!

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel on the second floor.The only noise of any real note was from depar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PeterHSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed for a fortnight the first two weeks of September. We decided to change location from Cala Millor where we had been for the previous 4 years.
The hotel is in a great location and is hard to fault. The staff were really helpful with any queries we had and the cleaning staff were lovely. Our room on the first floor at the back of the hotel was absolutely fine with a really large patio area - rather than a balcony. The only real noise came from the restaurant - which it sits directly above, so was noisy in the morning when they were getting it ready. Only really a problem if looking for a lie in!
The pool area is really clean and the pool was lovely and cool. But not freezing cold like some pools. There was never a problem getting a couple of sun beds as there are plenty and visitors did not put their towels out and then leave. We all came and went and took our towels with us if we were going out for a while which worked out nicely for everyone.
The food was plenty and always really nice. We stayed on a half board basis. Having a chef on hand for morning fried eggs and omelettes and in the evening for burgers and kebab was fab.
The air con was really effective particularly as the weather was unusually hot for the time of year.
We can't really fault the hotel.

The only down side as far as we were concerned was the size of Can Picafort. We are used to a bigger resort such as Cala Millor, and it felt very small and there was not a lot there. Because the resort is relatively small the street/beach sellers are contained as such and to us were pretty relentless! If it wasn't massages/watches etc on the beach, lunches were spoilt by sellers thrusting things in your face when you are eating lunch, which for us was unacceptable! We love the beach, but stayed at the pool on more occasions than planned just to have some peace.
If we could move the hotel to Cala Millor then we would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Noise at the far end is loud from the bar. 1st floor rooms get noise from the restaurant. Try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MahoneyclanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A wonderful hotel in a great resort. The hotel was clean and tidy throughout at all times (my friend even did a dust test on the top of the mirror and picture frames and found none!), the food was wonderfully varied, well cooked and tasty and the staff were very friendly. The atmosphere was relaxed and easy going and not overly noisy at night, even when the entertainment was on.
Pool a little small but the beach is within a one minute walk - beautiful beach, busy but not overcrowded; we always managed to find a big space for the four of us to set up base in. Always found spare sunbeds round the pool or on the terrace so no worries there.
We were only there for 5 days and there is so much going on in Ca'n Picafort and the surrounding areas that we need to go back and stay for longer as we couldn't fit it all in!!
Will return and use the same hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ladylilith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Having just returned from this hotel and resort I echo many of the comments on here already. The hotel was very clean, the food was very good and varied throughout the week, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel seemed to be mainly german tourists with the odd Brit and Spaniard,however it was always very quiet and had a relaxed atmosphere throughout our stay. The only downside was the pool area which was quite small and cramped however this offset by the beach and main promenade being a one minute walk away. The beach and sea and the resort of can picafort were all fantastic very clean, relaxing with no hussle and bustle or over exuberatant bar and restaurant staff trying to hound you. We visted the market on the firday morning which was very good with a wide variety of goods and provided great entertainment haggling with storeholders who promise "good price" "cheap as chips" and cheaper than Matalan & Primark" being amusing patter from some stallholders. I would also recommend the boat trip which goes from the Harbour to Formentor an extremely picturesque spot and lovely beach and this trip was nearly £20 cheaper than the ones offered from Alcudia or Porta Pollensa and was a good day out. Overall a great holiday with a fantasic location and a resort that provides the perfect place for a relaxing few days away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and I, along with our 5 year old granddaughter arrived at the hotel late, so after booking in we retired to our room on the 3rd floor. The room was on the roadside of the hotel. I opened the balcony door to look outside and my heart sank. At the end of the hotel was a bar playing loud music, Status Quo “Whatever You Want”. Fortunately when the balcony door was closed you could hardly hear anything and we had a good night’s sleep for the whole of the holiday. In the morning we went down for breakfast and just sat anywhere. The food on offer was good and there was a chef on hand to cook eggs or omelettes which was a nice touch. At dinner we just sat down but the head waiter told us we had to wait to be seated next time. So at the evening meal we waited by the entrance. He eventually came to show us to a table but not before loads of the guests filed past us and selected their food. We did ask the waiter about this but didn’t really get a satisfactory answer. Some night’s some couples were even asked to come back at a later time. Having said that the head waiter was absolutely fantastic and always showed us to a table every night of our stay. Due to previous experiences at other hotels we went down early to get a sun bed but nearly every day there was always sun beds available despite stereotypes of the Germans nicking all the sun beds (the majority of the guests been predominately German). The bar could have done with a one more bar staff at the evening when there was entertainment on, but that’s the case in most hotels on holiday. The hotel itself is nicely situated in C’an Picafort with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants and lots of things to keep the kids entertained it’s also only a few minutes away from the beach. The entertainment at the hotel was bingo, singers and a drag act..The drag act was good but the rest of the entertainment was a bit old fashioned in my opinion. I have read a few comments about the food and the hotel been full of Germans. The food was good and varied and as for the Germans they where no different from the English, French, Spanish etc this is 2011 people if anything they seemed more friendly than some of our own countrymen. I would not hesitate to come to this hotel again we had a highly enjoyable holiday.The only downside was that I can't get that Status Quo record out of my head.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank derekday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hotel Gran Playa has a marvellous position in C'an Picafort, a minute from the beach and just a minute from the busy part of the resort. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The pool area is small but there are ample sunbeds and parasols as most people go off to the beach.The food is not at all bad but does cater more to the German taste. The hotel is rated poorly on trip advisor, I think this is because there is a similarly named hotel in Sa Coma mixed in with the reviews and very few photos relate to the Gran Play in C'an Picafort. The hotel had mixed holidaymakers while we were there, mainly German with a few Spanish and English. All in all an ideal base for a holiday in C'an Picafort. The dining room is very well run by the manager and his staff. The service is of a very high standard.
By the hotel you will find the marvellous beach and promenade, there are plenty of bars catering to all tastes and a good bus service to Alcudia and other resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bripettitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#4 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Gran Playa

Property: Hotel THB Gran Playa
Address: Passeig Colom 126, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THB Gran Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, only 50m from a magnificent beach. The Hotel THB Gran Playa offers a bar-cafeteria, dining room with buffet service and show cooking, lounge, satellite TV room, a completely air conditioned main floor, board games, billiards and internet access. Outside there is a swimming pool for adults and children and our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel THB Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing