We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#Strictly No Kids Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Ormesby St. Margaret, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“#Strictly No Kids Pleased”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Before you say here is another bad review - think again. This hotel is worthy of its 4 stars and its reputation for cleanliness, high standard of staff service and the quality of food served in its restaurant. The rooms are fine and the view from the gym/spa room is lovely as you sweat buckets in the sauna and steam room. The location for the beach is close and plenty of shops to buy things. The food was excellent and the quality superb.

BUT.........there is a a couple of facts you need to consider before you book.

If you are a couple who are in the later years of your precious time, this place is fantastic. If you are German, even better as you will have many people to chat to around the hotel. If you have children like my daughter who is 7, a little disappointing. The hotel caters for many and you can't please everyone. I would like to write this in the mind of my little girl. She says that the pool is great but got told not to splash too much as it will annoy the people laying on the sunbeds. The table tennis was free and got used alot but as there were not many children around, she got bored. We did as much as we could to entertain but she needed like minded people who want to play and chat in a like minded way ( I mean children). The pool table might have got used but at 1 euro 50 a game - a bit steep. The hotel is very close to a lovely beach but beware where you walk as there is a nudist area ( for those offended by the old birthday suit). If you have a room facing towards the road, you might enjoy the loud music being played in the Poker bar which is attached to the Hotel ( but you can't use your all inclusive wristband to get a drink). The entertainment provided in the hotel bar was really great - especially the drag act and the guitarist who plays great rock music- but over a week, 3 nights of entertainment was a bit sparce. It would have been nice if there was a selection of games that we could have used but we couldn't see any.

As my daughter said, lovely time but if the weather was bad, things would have been difficult. I am just glad that she was not too demanding and made her own fun in the pool (but no splashing). I hope reading this has not put you off considering this hotel but look further if you want your kids to get the full enjoyment factor from their stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea if you want some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    119
    57
    17
    14
See reviews for
51
209
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I was there in June 2012 before season with my friend and granfathers. It was an unexpected trip (my grandfather's friends resigned one day before) so we didn't expect a lot.
HOTEL AND STUFF: It's good but not for its standard I would say. Located perfectly, near all the restaurants, shops, bars, pubs-not a lot in there. ALmost at the sea so we loved it :) Clean and pretty saloon, wifi available (but not so good in the rooms). One of the recepcionists didn't say a word in English, good that we knew a little bit Spanish. However, everyone very helpful. Cleaning ladies very pleasant too
FOOD: Choice for everyone, fruits, veggies, meat, salads, dishes, a lot of desserts too. Breakfast were a little bit boring. Main man in the hall was very rude.
SWIMMING POOL: Very poor! It's incredibly small.
There are also no animations, shows etc.
Generally, perfect for old people or couples. Not for teenagers willing to have fun and children since there are no shows, games. It might be quite boring.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewa X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, , Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed there for a week from the 8th of May . A nice hotel , staff are very friendly , the food which is self service was very good and varied , bar prices were reasonable and we enjoyed our stay overall . The only downside was having my phone stolen right under my nose ( I literally had my back turned ) beside the deserted poolside last Sunday . I would be concerned about that aspect , the receptionist suggested I go to the local police station and report it to them but she didnt offer much help . A CCTV wouldnt go amiss there if it wasnt an isolated incident . Some opportunist is keeping an eye there .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DomoDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THBHOTELS, Director del Hotel at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for your opinion about our staff and our hotel. We regret the incident on his mobile phone. Our staff did the right thing by following the Spanish laws. In Spain, it is not allowed to record images of our clients. Best regards.

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungsholmen, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I can really recommend this hotel.Quiet, clean, great food (had almost all our meals there), friendly staff and good service. Very close to the beach and some good restaurants. Stayed 6 nights and could go back again, anytime. Mostly for couples, didn´t see so many families with small children (perfect for us). Fully recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Berkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My mum and I went on holiday for a long weeken last september. We arrived after a very long 2.5 hour transfer as we had to wait for another flight to come in for 40 minutes before we even left and we were the last drop off. this happened to be the only downfall. we paid for a taxi back and it only took 25 minutes and cost 60 euros. when we arrived at the hotel the staff were very friendly and spoke very good english. the hotel is small but clean. i would say 3/4 of the guests were german. the buffet food was very varied and fresh and the floor manager was very welcoming. the entertainment in the hotel is quite low key but there is so much entertainment on the doorstep of the hotel. the promande to the beach is less then 30 steps from the hotel. great selection of hotels/bars for entertainment. we found a great bar less then 5 minutes along which has live tribute acts every night - its always full and they are superb. they will definately get you out your seat and dancing! half the street stops to watch they are that good. I loved this hotel, clean swimming pool, plenty sunbeds, friendly staff. perfect for a little get away. I am returning to this hotel again this year, just booked a week in august - cant wait!

Only thing I say is: I wouldnt recommend children or elderly at this hotel as the pool doesnt have space around the sunbeds beside the pool. you have to walk along the side of the pool

Room Tip: sea view fourth floor is ideal - amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bluewkdchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel after looking at the reviews on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is well positioned for the beach,the promenade and the shops. The public areas are nicely furnished and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was good quality and there was plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner. The rooms are on the small side but there is enough storage and everything is spotlessly clean with new towels each day and new bedding twice in our stay(10days). Overall the hotel was very good and we would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel get the sun but are on the main street. Rooms at the back are on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Patricia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived after lunch time promptly checked in first impressions very good,one of the receptionist Javier was very helpful and spoke good English. Went to our room 414 on fourth floor room average size, very clean and a great view so we were very impressed to start off with. Then it all went down hill. We were all inclusive for 3 nights the food was awful, luke warm and not much choice seemed to cater for the Germans, who were not very friendly, no English people in the hotel at all. All inclusive be very wary because you only get certain alcoholic drinks, all soft drinks at the bar were very flat.Next day thought id try the spa but was told out of order which was very disappointing because that is why we booked this hotel. No entertainment on what so ever unless you like whale music blasting out of the speakers.Could not go in pools because both were dirty. I know it was the end of season and things were coming to a close but this should be stated when booking a holiday, me and wife left kids at home and were hoping to have an all inclusive spa break, ate out 2 nights had nothing at lunch had no spa and very little to drink and the snacks were a laugh a minute little fridge with ham and cheese sandwiches in and sweet pastries on the bar that were never changed in the 3 days that we were there.So all in all a very disappointing holiday. Please don't read this and think i am twisty i have never complained i am 42yrs old but felt i had to say something now.

Room Tip: Sea view on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank johnw2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Gran Playa

Property: Hotel THB Gran Playa
Address: Passeig Colom 126, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THB Gran Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, only 50m from a magnificent beach. The Hotel THB Gran Playa offers a bar-cafeteria, dining room with buffet service and show cooking, lounge, satellite TV room, a completely air conditioned main floor, board games, billiards and internet access. Outside there is a swimming pool for adults and children and our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THB Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing