We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THB Gran Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THB Gran Playa”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What can I say............. Rooms a good size & clean. Towels changed when you want. Room cleaned every day.

Food, went all inclusive. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, there was a chef to cook! Breakfast was eggs, omelette etc. Lunch & dinner a selection of meat / fish / kebabs as well as help yourself food. There was a selection of hot, cold & alcoholic drinks.

Bar/Pool, waiter service by the bar & terrace area! Limited sun beds but we got 2 every day (might be different in height of season).

Evening Entertainment, 4 or 5 of the 7 nights we were there there was entertainment. Some nights were better than others, but overall was good.

Management & Staff. Without exception we found all to be very helpful & genuinely seemed to enjoy working there.

About 70% of the guests were non UK. Mostly German. For me, this is a good sign as it means it will be a better quality.

So, for me, overall this was a lovely holiday. If you want a full English every morning bring your own sausages!! Enjoy what other countries / cultures have to offer, or you could always help the UK economy by staying in the UK!?!

9/10 for what I paid / expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyL81019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your appreciation of "Good value for money". We work to ensure that our customers are satisfied and decide to visit our Hotel THB Gran Playa in the future.
Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    127
    59
    17
    14
See reviews for
52
221
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have recently returned from a Jet 2 holiday at the THB Gran Playa at C'an Picafort.
The hotel is immaculate with daily room service. The restaurant choice was limited and the
meals eaten over 14 days were never hot, just warm even the soup.
This resort is quite popular with German & Dutch tourists, so when we went we were outnumbered by Dutch and German, no problem at all, Although I think the hotels food catered for these nationalities rather than British. The worst meal I found was breakfast, cereal was Ok but the hot meal meant Spanish bacon and very small sausages.Thanks to the local Shipwrecked bar 5 mins walk, really enjoyed their English breakfasts.
We went all inclusive at the hotel and I can honestly say that we never received a decent cup of coffee i.e from Cappuccino to Latte. We actually found a cafe near the port that served excellent coffe similar to mainland spain.

All inclusive means local beers/vino/shorts and instant coffee rather than ground.

We had problems with the shower screen that had a bottom skirt missing, this was reported but never fixed. I had to improvise with a shower mat wapped in plastic and postioned between the screen and the bath which stopped water flooding onto the bathroom floor.

The main lift was out of service from Sunday till the day we departed on the following Thurdsay (5 days) which I thought was poor for a 4 star hotel's service.

I would not recommend staying all inclusive, rathert half board unless the deal is worthwhile.

C'an Picofort is an ideal location very quiet with lots of bars and shops (no big department stores) just the souvenir type shops. It has a really good weekly market (fridays) The beach is clean but narrow to navigate when the sun is out and the sunbeds are in use. Watch out for sand flies and mosquitos, best to take a repellant, a zapper or some antihistamine cream/tablets..

Room Tip: The rooms either face the main thoroughfare road or the rear street, I would suggest the rear is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,
I thank you for your opinions. As you rightly said, we have had some problems with the repair of one of our lifts for a few days, but at all times it worked the other elevator. We hope that this has not been a great inconvenience to you, and we hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at this Hotel in September this year for six nights.All of the staff were efficient and friendly. Rooms were immaculate towels changed everyday.We stayed Bed and Breakfast but had the occasional dinner in the hotel and the food was good. If I could criticise it would be not enough sockets for hair tongs and travel iron , fridge too small no ice box and no kettle to make tea. Other than this I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,
I want to thank your intention to visit our hotel again. We will do our best to make your holiday unforgettable.
Best regards and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights with my husband in September this year. Rooms are really clean but very small, you either look out on main road which is very busy or back road behind hotel, where you can just about see the sea. Beds were not very comfortable, they seemed smaller than other hotels.Pool area very cramped, but clean, we found food ok, but breakfast was monotonous, very German orientated. Evening meal was themed every night , hardly any veg at all not even usual tinned, and no real potatoes, it was all chips,duchess,slices, fried new, all the kind you would buy from Iceland. Drinks were priced reasonable and staff was on the whole friendly. The nearby beach was really good, could walk for miles in both directions. Many bars to drink in,lookie lookies could get quite annoying at times though, as did massage people on beach.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover201059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Customer,
All staff at the Hotel THB Gran Playa works to make our guests feel at home, and we appreciate the feedback like yours to continue improving. We take note of your comments and we will try to get you back to visit us again
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oria, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We are just back from our vacation in this hotel.The stuff is very nice and helpful.The rooms are ok, though we got a very noisy one just above a bier garten where there was loud music until late night, but let's say that, being on vacation it was ok (not confortable for people wanting to rest, though). The towels are changed every day, cannot say the same for the bedsheets, never changed in one week, even if it was quite warm and people sweat.The bathroom is equiped with everything, we found also a comb.You have teethbrushes and cream.Everything you need.The food is also good, lot of choice.The breakfast buffet very reach.The dinner buffet has also a variety of dishes, though, i think, some were reproposed in the next days but with a different presentation (can swear that the chilli con carne was used for the peppers filling the day after, but i was not in the kitchen so cant be sure).Anyway i would raccomand the hotel, the overall impression is good, i would probably go back there.It is really close to the sea and in a nice street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Rossy,
We appreciate your suggestions and we will do our best to improve. Thank you for recommending our hotel. Hope to see you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have recently returned from a five night holiday at the Gran Playa, after reading some of the reviews I was, at times anxious about what we would find. I can't praise the hotel enough, the reception staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were spacious, cleaned to a high standard, towels were changed daily, plenty of toiletries and toilet rolls. The food was to a good standard with plenty of choice. Entertainment on three nights was good. The bar staff are friendly, especially Tito and Alberto, and we never had to wait for a drink. The only problem is the restricted pool area, but the beach in on the doorstep. I am certainly looking forward to returning.
Doreen - Stoke on Trent

Room Tip: Possibly rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THBHOTELS, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Doreen,
We are glad that you and your family have enjoyed our hotel, and we appreciate that you may already be thinking back to visit us again. All our staff will be happy to welcome you again in Hotel THB Gran Playa.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I found my 4 day stay here rather pleasant with staff and facilities fine. Pepe on reception booked me in and what a professional man he is!

I was on a half-board basis and I enjoyed the choice and style of cooking on offer.

My room was on the smaller side, but perfect for my solo break. I have no hesitation in recommending the Gran Playa ( Ca'n Picafort)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3_D_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THBHOTELS, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Customer,
Thanks for your opinions about our hotel. We hope to see you soon again with us to spend another enjoyable stay at Hotel THB Gran Playa.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Montecarlo
Grupotel Montecarlo
#19 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sea Hotel by Grupotel
The Sea Hotel by Grupotel
#2 of 2 in Santa Margalida
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Gran Playa

Property: Hotel THB Gran Playa
Address: Passeig Colom 126, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THB Gran Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, only 50m from a magnificent beach. The Hotel THB Gran Playa offers a bar-cafeteria, dining room with buffet service and show cooking, lounge, satellite TV room, a completely air conditioned main floor, board games, billiards and internet access. Outside there is a swimming pool for adults and children and our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel THB Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing