We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”
Review of Hotel JS Horitzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel JS Horitzo
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Having booked a different hotel and on the day of travel being told that it was double booked and we were now staying at the js horitzo we were a bit apprehensive to say the least however it was a pleasant surprize. Ok the room is a bit small and basic although cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels provided daily. The balcony was a sea view and the location is ideal with bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel is spotless clean. The main hotel can picafort is where the dining facilities are and the pool is a minutes walk away where the pool is clean and plenty of sunbeds on offer. The resort caters mainly for german guests however this by no means made us feel unwelcome or outcasts. I would highly recommend this hotel and think the negative reviews are unjust. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nitronat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Gerente at Hotel JS Horitzo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Nitronat,

Thank you for your positive comments about the JS Hortizo Hotel.

Our staff takes great pride in our customer service, and are always thrilled to know our guests can see that in their actions. We're also very happy to hear you found our rooms very clean and that you enjoyed the sea views from the balcony, and also that you highly recommend us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and remember you can follow our "JS Hotels" profile through the main social networks.

Sincerely,
Your JS Horitzo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed in JS Horitzo in august 2013.I booked I double room for single use.The room I was given was smaller than any single room in any other hotel, but the bed was double.in fact the room was the size of the standard double bed. You are left with just a little space .The bath was just 80 cm long and 50 cm width, so even babies would fit in. Moreover, you can not have a shower standing up ,because the power of water was very weak(fourth floor).They clean the room very late, you come back at 2 o`clock pm and the room is still not done-I complained but they just ignored me.It was annoying when you want to have a rest after the mornining swim.In my opinion They should have rented it as a single room, but they want to get more money from it...that is cheating.The hotel was full of kids , it is not the right hotel for a single person who wants a quiet holidays.The beach is very exposed(the sun) and over crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Gerente at Hotel JS Horitzo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Abdel59,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit at our JS Horitzo hotel and for dedicating your time to publish this review.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel did not achieve your expectations.

We are glad to may learn from your experience and take your vision into account to achieve maximum adaption to our guests needs. We are sorry to hear that apparently we failed to meet your expectations related to the room; I have already passed your comments to the person in charge in order to revise the procedures and guarantee a splendid service from each and every staff member as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction.

We hope that your stay in Majorca was a pleasant one and to may take the opportunity to serve you again in one of our ten hotels in Majorca.

Kind Regards,
JS Horitzo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked this hotel very last minute, staying for four nights B&B.
First the plus points;
it was very competitively priced.
It is in a super location right on the sea front with the lovely beach and all the facilities right on the doorstep.
The breakfast offered was of a good standard and choice.
The room was of an adequate size (particularly for the price we paid) and cleaned and the towels changed every day.
The hotel pool,although not directly adjacent to the hotel, was never overcrowded and was quiet and peaceful.
Lots of restaurants to choose from and you don't have to go too far from the seafront to find nice little authentic restaurants/cafes offering something a bit different from the seafront bars/restaurants.
Minus points;
The balconies were microscopically tiny.
Our room was next to the lift so we could hear that coming and going.
The air conditioning rattled and the bed was very hard so not particularly restful.
A generally tired ambiance with an update needed.
The resort itself had too many tatty souvenir shops.
Overall though an adequate hotel in a lovely beach-front location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wealden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

C'an Picafort is a predominantly German resort. If you've issue with this don't go, its not just this hotel - its every hotel in the resort so complaining about that while reviewing a particular hotel seems a bit harsh. With their shameless approach to getting their white wobbly bits out on the beach, their total disinterest in becoming your best friends just because you happen to sit next to them on the beach and their quiet un-loutish demeanours means frankly, i'm alllllll for Germans everywhere!

So - Horitzo. We booked last minute, didn't pay much and had a pretty good week here. Reception was fine, friendly if not all that fluent in English at times - but helpful nonetheless. Rooms are TINY...literally a foot or so round the edge of the pretty comfortable bed. We had a bath and shower which i note not everyone staying here has had - to be honest, we used our room to sleep in and for that i would describe it as adequate but very very small and basic. Cleaned well though.

Right on the seafront and adjoining a Horitzo cocktail bar there is some night noise but nothing that kept us awake. Along with being pratically ON the beach there's a weird gated-commune type pool too...its about 100m away from the hotel, on the row one back from the beach, and the room cards unlock a bit of a prison-style gate to allow access. We had no intention of using but but following a storm one night that washed up loads of seaweed at the beach we ventured in - and have to say, once you're in and get used to the idea of being fenced, it was actually a pretty nice, very very quiet facility. Only oldies using it, no kids screaming and splashing about (unlike the beach!), good quality loungers and parasols and its free obviously, so if that 10 euro's for a sunbed set at the beach every day starts to grate its a fab alternative. FREEZING cold pool though!

The food was what most suprised us - stayed in plenty of cheap and cheerfuls in Majorca so never have very high expectations but we were pretty impressed with this place. Beef wellington, duck in orange sauce, paella, lemon and garlic chicken...a pasta dish, rice dish and fish dish every night too...just thought it was a level up from what we've been offered at other hotels previously and definitely exceeded our expectations.

To sum up, tiny uninspiring rooms, good food, fab location, decent 'communial areas and a nice pool facility...for what we paid - under £300 each for a week half board - i don't anyone can really complain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tetchy186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked our trip through Expedia and unfortunately completely forgot to look at the reviews of the hotel first. When we arrived we waited in the lobby for about 20 minutes before a German man pointed us towards the hotel opposite where we apparently needed to check in. When we eventually got to our room it was tiny. Through Expedia we specifically said we wanted a double bed, not just two single beds pushed together - but that's exactly what we got. On the second day the maid even pushed the two beds apart. Other than that, all I can really praise about the hotel is the cleaning service. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day.
We went half-board and the food at breakfast and dinner was mediocre, mainly because the food there was specially catered for Germans. None of the staff in the restaurant spoke any English and the staff behind the bar only spoke German.
The brochure stated that we were supplied with free wifi access - it was certainly not free. It was actually the most expensive wifi I've seen.
The description also said that there was a pool and a spa in the Hotel. There was no such thing, the pool was a 5 minute walk down a small alley and onto another street, and the spa was in a completely different hotel down the beach.
I would definitely not recommend this hotel. The beach and sights around Can Picafort are lovely though.
I hope this helped.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Room was big enough for a hamster...reception rude..we were booked in js can picafort next door but were put here with no explanation or apology...dirty..outdated..no bath, which wasnt too bad but i was expecting one as that's why i booked the can picafort...i have lived in spain so am quite used to basic facilities etc but this takes the biscuit....DO NOT GO....ENOUGH SAID!!!!!

Room Tip: only a room with a FRONT sea view would compensate for this outdated dirty hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Cheap and cheerful, clean bathrooms located on sea front, it is an annexe to the main hotel opposite and shares a small pool with it. Rather noisey hotel - but we were too close to lifts so may depend on your room location. Our side room did have a sea view and a third pull out bed. if you go with view that it is 3 stars then ok place. We did bed and breakfast and food was good plenty of it - hot meal plus usual fruit, breads and cakes. If you speak german things are easier as that is where it's main clients are from. Safe key provided small charge and you get a pool door key which is locked to keep out public - about 100 metre walk to pool from hotel along lane, about 30 beds and we had no problems getting spaces after breakfast. Lively resort mostly aged over 50 we thought entertainment was good along the front at various bars (food just average) - tribute singers to beatles abba m jackson etc etc. we hired a car and there was parking along various side streets. You could get bus to palma about one hour. We found reception staff at main hotel very polite, helpful and pretty good with their English.
All in all a good deal for a three star hotel but don't expect luxury fixture and fittings; it is what it is just a place to sleep. :-)

Room Tip: not sure you can - looks like all good rooms are at the front and cost much more - avoid being near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alphatangoae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0 mi away
Hotel JS Ca'n Picafort
Hotel JS Ca'n Picafort
#31 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel JS Yate
Hotel JS Yate
#24 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Miramar
Hotel JS Miramar
#12 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Ca'n Picafort
Hotel JS Sol de Ca'n Picafort
#30 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
67 reviews
25.1 mi away
Hotel JS Es Corso
Hotel JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
361 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
#7 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JS Horitzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JS Horitzo

Address: Via Alemanya 1, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £45 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JS Horitzo 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's unbeatable location, right in front of the beach of Ca'n Picafort, spacious terrace with sea view over the marine walk and right in the middle of the shopping centre and nightlife, makes "JS Horitzo" an ideal place to enjoy a relaxed, entertaining and memorable holiday. Situated in front of the marvellous beach of Ca'n Picafort , that's where you will find this bright and elegant hotel where you will be able to enjoy the breathtaking views over the bay of Alcudia. 24 hour reception and the dining room are located in the sister Hotel JS Can Picafort, just accross the street. Free WiFi. This centrally located hotel is situated just across the pedestrianised promenade from the kilometre-long sandy beach in the lively resort of Ca'n Picafort where guests will discover many shopping and entertainment venues. Links to the public transport are to be found directly out front. The welcoming rooms each come with an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, air conditioning (centrally controlled), central heating, a hire safe and a balcony. Various entertainment venues are to be found in the centre of Ca'n Picafort. Restaurant and Reception services are located in the sister hotel, Hotel JS Can Picafort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JS Horitzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Js Horitzo Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Stil Horitzo Hotel
Hotel JS Horitzo Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing