We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week returning on 20 September. I read the reviews and can agree that the resort does seem to be german orientated but this did not pose any problems and we thoroughly enjoyed our break. The hotel is very light and airy and is of an excellent standard. The grounds are extensive and there is no shortage of sun beds. The rooftop bar is a must see. Our rooms were cleaned every day and the maid was always very cheery and helpful. My only criticism would be the evening meal which was very disappointing but I won't go into that as I find what suits one doesn't always suit another! The resort centre is only a short walk away from the hotel as is the bus stop where you can catch a bus to go to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    262
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
335
385
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We read the reviews thoroughly before booking the Gran Vista through Thomson Holidays and travelled from 8-15th October. We were not disappointed.

The hotel itself is a beautiful airy building with manicured grounds surrounding it from behind. We were in room 312 which overlooked the restaurants, ground and pools. It also got the sun from around 8.00am - 3.00pm. The 3rd floor seemed to house the majority of the English vistors who were staying. Our room was more than adequate for us.
There is no bath in the room but a large walk in shower, WC and sink. There is a socket for shavers and a Hairdryer in the bathroom as well as the usual complimentary shower gel / cap etc. The bathroom door is made of frosted glass and just "pulls to" rather than being lockable. To be honest, this didn't worry us but I know it has come as a shock to some visitors.

The twin beds were firm with one bolster pillow. Extra pillows were requested and brought up swiftly by Housekeeping. A large wardrobe with plenty of hangers and shelf space was appreciated as was the full length mirror. 2 Single Duvets were also in the Wardrobe should you need them and additional blankets could be requested as desired.
The safe is €15.00 + €5.00 returnable deposit per week and the Wi-Fi was also €15.00 and very easy to use with good coverage around the entire hotel including outside.
We requested a kettle which was brought up by Housekeeping at no extra cost.
The rooms were cleaned daily and were in good order throughout.

The grounds and pools were immaculate and all in good order. There were plenty of sunbeds an plenty of places to put them, whether this is around the pool or on the grass in the shade. Very few sunbeds were reserved and this is frowned upon by the Hotel too.

The Restaurant was buffet style which suited us. We were Half Board so ate in most evenings.
Breakfast had a range of items from Fresh Fruit and Juices, cereal, hot breakfasts, various breads, jams etc.
Evening meal was themed every night from Majorcan Evening, Italian Evening, American Evening, Gala Evening etc. There was always a range of plain meats - pork / chicken / turkey / steak (beware that steak is cooked rare in this area) along with plain potatoes / rice / pasta as well as offerings in sauces / risottos / paellas / local stews etc. There are always Salads, cheese, cold meats on offer at both meals. Puddings are very European / German and would not look out of place in a french patisserie. There is also a selection of 3-4 flavours of ice cream each night with plenty to go around. All items are plainly labelled in Spanish, German and English so it is easy to make a choice.

The Bistro in the grounds serves snacks in the sun or shade from 12-4pm every day. The food ranged from baguettes and sandwiches (sandwiches are always toasted) to pizza, burger and pasta. The prices are similar to ones in the resort so you are getting value for money in this respect.

The staff were lovely. Most speak Spanish or German as their first / second languages but there is no difficulty in being understood. They are always smiling and are there to ensure you enjoy your holiday to the full.

The evening entertainment was usually only on from between 9-10 in the evenings with a couple of evenings running a little longer. Some of the entertainment is run by the Animacion team who double up as the Kids entertainment. We took the entertainment all in good fun rather than expecting to be wowed and therefore were not disappointed! There was an Elvis Evening, a Beatles evening and some "pop" duos etc. All very amateur but very enjoyable for an hour or so in good fun.

We do not have children but saw the Animacion team constantly looking after the few children that were staying. Yes they spoke German but that is because they were only looking after German children! An English child joined mid week and loved it. They spoke English to this child and as the games and songs were all self explanatory, it crossed the language divide. The children all seemed to have a great time and could not wait until 10.00am the next day for the fun to start again!

This really is a German Hotel but we knew this before we went and had a wonderful time. However, the resort of C'an Picafort itself is aimed at the German market. All notices in restaurants etc are written in German first and then English and most serve German foods such as Bratwurst sausages. Again, this is not something that bothered us but you should be prepared for it otherwise it may come as a bit of a shock!

We can't wait to go back and stay at this wonderfully relaxing hotel. It is probably the best hotel we have stayed in for a long, long time.

Room Tip: The hotel is an "L" shape so if you have any requests for either a sunny room or a quiet r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Having read several reviews, I felt confident booking this hotel and I was not disappointed. Beds were firm but comfortable, air conditioning just adequate, bedroom furniture ok. Balcony chairs were relaxers with a mesh so you don't stick to them. Great shower. Rooms very clean, linen changed often. Huge dining area including outside area. Great choice of food and plenty of variety with second week not being a repeat of first week. Lots of food marked as Gluten free. The grounds were extensive with lots of sunbeds, no shortage and plenty shade under the trees. No need to be right next to people like sardines as is often the case in other hotels. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Central but very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Can't really fault this hotel, and fully justifies it's 4 star label. The grounds are truly excellent and we never had the usual problems with sunbeds. Although meal times were a little frantic at times there was always a reasonable choice of food and the restaraunt staf were first class. This is a well managed hotel with a high standard of cleanliness in both the rooms and the public areas.Slightly disappointed that "bathroom" was really only a shower room and was a touch on the small side. The lack of a bath was more of a problem for my wife than me.
Faclilties in the hotel truly excellent and like previous reviewers can only reccomend future visitors to witness the sun going down from the roof top bar.
As for the Germans I have stayed at other Grupotel properties where German visitors are in the majority. Can Picafort is very German orientated, but I didn't find this a problem and I'm a little suprised if others do. We certainly did not get the impression that German visitors were given preferential service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here for a week in an apartment which is

Apartment
Our apartment was on the ground floor, located in a separate block opposite the hotel. We had a large terrace with reclining chairs and overlooking the main pool area. The only downside was people positioned their loungers very close to the terrace so it lacked privacy. It was shaded most of the day whereas hotel balconies opposite were in full sun all day.

The kitchen was well appointed with two ring hob and all cooking equipment, fridge with freezer compartment, kettle, toaster, microwave. Sadly no wine glasses or basics provided such as washing liquid etc but there is a small spar shop next to the hotel for provisions including fresh milk, bread, drinks etc There was a table and 4 chairs in the kitchen area. The lounge had two single spare beds one of which is the sofa and quite uncomfortable for sitting on.

The bedroom was large but bed was two single beds pushed together. Beds felt cheap and uncomfortable after a week. Each bed also has separate bedding which was in no way romantic!
There is a TV in both the bedroom and lounge which had BBC 1,2 & ITV. Small safe in the wardrobe cost 15 euros with a 5 euro deposit on top. Plenty of wardrobe space in the bedroom and lounge area including two hanging spaces and lots of drawers/shelves.
The air conditioning was not always cool enough although it was quiet.
Apartment was kept clean and the hotel in general was well maintained.

Hotel
Pool area is very good with a good choice of outdoor and indoor pools.
Kids pool and play areas very good.
Spa is well worth visiting for its relaxing saunas, steam rooms, jacuzzis, ice cave and pool. I was treated to a massage which was good.
There is a small laundry room with washing machine, tumble drier and ironing facilities (tokens from reception).
There is a kids club but this is mostly in german.
There is tennis courts, mini golf, table tennis, darts, pool, beach volley ball etc so plenty for teenagers.
Other reviews have picked up on the fact that the hotel in geared towards the german majority. We would agree with this and we found even the hotel staff spoke to us in German before Spanish which became very annoying and rude. After a week we almost felt that we were on holiday in Germany as there was little or no Spanish spoken or served in the restaurants.

Food
As a couple who eat out a lot we thought the food was very average and at times poor. Poolside bar had a limited lunch menu which grew tiresome. Breakfasts were the best meal with a good range of cold and hot foods but be prepared for lots of pork most of which is over cooked. The dinner was disappointing and after a day ot two we were fed up with the dining experience. Sadly few proper spanish dishes were served in favor of lots of dry overcooked pork, chicken, chips, over cooked veg and food which would be more suited to lunchtime. The main restaurant serves a lot of people for dinner and the tables were turned over quickly but this in itself meant it was a rushed affair and didn't constitute a relaxing dining experience. The buffet style service was chaotic. People seem to prefer greed over having an enjoyable meal! The desserts were pretty average with standard dry sponge cakes, ice cream, fruit etc We eventually skipped having dessert in favour of going to a local ice cream parlour for a much better dessert.
The restaurant only serves limited alcohol - only wine and beer. I found this out after trying to have sangria only to be told this isn't served and another night I tried to have a gin and tonic with no joy. No tea or coffee available either.

Resort
A 10min walk from beach and across the road from the main shopping street. The shops are not great with cheap holiday stuff in abundance. Beach is narrow but crowded. We loved playing in the waves and would recommend buying a li-lo! There isn't a lot of places to eat other than cafes and this is not somewhere for foodies.

Trips
The local bus takes you to Porta Pollenca or Alcudia approx 30-40mins. There is a bus to Palma which takes about 1.5 hours. It would be worth hiring a car to see the more scenic sights the island has to offer.

There are some better resorts on Majorca and I doubt we will return to Gran Vista or Can Picafort.

Room Tip: Apartments offer more space and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel. The service provided by it's staff can only be described as EXCELLENT particular praise to Rafael, Xavier and Jose at the pool bar, the evening staff were very good as well. We stayed in room 257 which over looked the childrens play area and a petanque court, not the best but we did request a quiet room and that is what we got, the only thing with the room was it's location to the stairs, during non-restraunt times it is a long walk through the corridors to the main stair well and lifts, perhaps the hotel could look at allowing the use of the stairs that lead to the restraunts during non meal times. The room was kept clean by Patricia who was also very friendly and cheerfull always singing and greeting you in the mornings whilst passing in the corridor, the walk in shower is very good and gives plenty of room to move. The staff are bi-lingual speaking both English and German to a very high standard.

Food
The food whilst providing a limited choice to the english pallet was of a high quality with Pork, chicken and fish being the meat dishes, the vegetables were pretty repetative. The sweets were to die for with an extensive choice of cakes and blancmange type things. All in all the food was biased towards the mainly German cliental. The manager Manolo is hovering around ensuring that all staff are attentive and efficient

Entertainment
Good some nights not so good on others, but where do you get any good acts in hotels abroad? The animacion team work hard during the day.

The roof top bar
WOW you must go up to this and watch the sunset with a drink.

Pool Area.
The pools were very clean and good, however a little chilly. The pool directly adjacent to the building was the only flat non-grassed area with limited sun beds, the remainder of the pool area was grassed with enough sun beds for everyone no matter what time of day you wished to go to the pool, Again perhaps providing a larger flatter non-grassed area would help the physicallly limited and the older generation.

Location.
Excellent for the shops and busses, although on Alcudia market day don't bother with the bus it's packed and takes about 45mins. A taxi with tip is 20 euros each way and alot more comfortable. On Can Picafort market day get a taxi from the hotel to the market as it is cheaper than the land train if there are two or more of you.
All in all we would definately go back and would recommend this to our families and friends without hesitation.
Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this splendid hotel. Efficient friendly staff instantly made us feel at home and allowed us to relax and enjoy all the hotel had to offer. The food served was beautifully presented and selected to suit a wide variety of tastes. Nothing bland about this fair.We were never bored with the choices offered nor were we tempted to eat elsewhere. The grounds are extensive, lush and shady surrounding the sculptured pool area. Early reservation of sun beds is frowned apon and we had no problem in securing sun beds in our prefered area of the gardens around 10am each morning. We also used the well appointed gym and the relaxing spa pool which is included in the price of the holiday. The bedrooms are adequate and as with the rest of the hotel scrupulously clean.The walk in power shower was a plus. Evening entertainment on most nights was OK and roof top bar was excellent. for a night cap. If you have an adversion to sharing your holiday with other europeans particualry those from Germany this is not the hotel for you. The childrens clubs have a strong German theme but all languages inclusing english are spoken by all entertainment staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at front and rear of hotel are cooler in the hight of summer than those surrounding the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.3 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
3.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa

Property: Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 68 | Crta Arta-Pto Alcudia, Km, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#3 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 M away from the Can Picafort beach. Wellness & fitness Spa. Attractive relax and health programmes. Rooms & Apartments: air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Apartments: Living room with sleeping-couch and kitchen. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools. Children's pools. Swimming lessons. Bicycle Center. Tennis courts. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Theme buffets. Show Cooking. Pool-Bistro. Panorama & Lounge bar with terrace. Special Services: Discounts on green fees at several golf clubs in Mallorca. Car rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Vista Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing