We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing summer holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing summer holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here from 30th August-9th September 2011. First impressions of the room were a lot better than expected very clean and cool with a lot of marble surfaces which added a modern touch to the room. There was a huge walk in glass front shower in the bathroom. As mentioned in previous reviews most guests are German but this definitely isn't a problem and English tastes are always catered to as well. The grounds of the hotel are spotless and beautifully landscaped there are several different sized pools including a rectangle shaped one which has daily aqua aerobics classes. One thing I loved about the pool area was the availability of sunbeds there are always plenty to go around no matter what time of day you arrive at the pool and as there wasn't a specified sunbed space you could drag the sunbed to wherever you wanted whether in the sun on the grass or under a shaded gazebo. This hotel has an amazing spa and I'm disappointed we only got to use it once but it is perfect to go to when the weather is a bit cooler. The price is included in booking although you do have to pay for treatments such as massages. It was a very relaxing place with a jacuzzi, sauna and aromatherapy room as well as an ice room. The gym is next to the spa for people who like to keep active on holiday. If you walk out of the hotel the beach is about a 5 minute walk down the main strip and it really is a lovely clean beach, the resort of Ca'n Picafort is fairly quiet with lots of shops and nice bars and restaurants. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which goes to various locations including Alcudia which I would recommend for a day trip. The only downside was the entertainment which seemed a bit lacking there was a different show advertised every night but there never seemed to be many people watching and the horror show was particularly bad nobody involved seemed like they were enjoying or even knew what they were doing, this wasn't a problem for us as we went elsewhere for entertainment. There also wasn't a lot aimed at children apart from a 5 minute song next to the pool everyday. The staff really are a credit to the Gran Vista particularly the waiting staff at meals and bar staff who are always smiling and chatting away to adults and children, at meal times your plates are cleared away before you even realise and staff really can't do enough to help, Pepe who worked in the downstairs bar was a real character and we had some good chats with him. The food was amazing there was so much to choose from, I had some of the best food I've ever eaten during the 10 days here, meals were always something to look forward to with so much variety both at breakfast and in the evening and the all you can eat buffet style catered to everyone's tastes. Each evening there was a different theme such as Mexican, Italian or Spanish so the choice was never repetitive. The hotel has a handy system for buying drinks whether you ordered them with your meal in the restaurant or at one of the bars you could ask to put them on your rooms tab and then pay it on the last day. We chose to do this with and it was very useful, we kept all of our receipts in a draw so we kept track of how much we had spent, as long as you don't go over the top with it I would say this is a very good idea. Finally one last excellent point about this hotel is the rooftop bar which I've never experienced at another hotel. We spent a lot of evenings up there and the 360 degree view, especially after dark was amazing. If you visit this hotel you must go up there at least once, it is a lovely relaxing atmosphere with sofas and music and of course cocktails. My favourite was The Panoramic cocktail which complemented the view perfectly. As you can tell I really can't say enough good things about this hotel or recommend it more highly, you really should see for yourself. I definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    262
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
335
385
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albion20
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is predominantly German as is the resort apart from a few restaurants. The children entertainment was nearly all in German. There was a real tendency to put towels on the best sunbeds then go in for breakfast.. Swimming pool and gardens very nice, but a bit far from the beach, and the surroundings are not nice either. Very busy road, just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albion20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here in August 2011, really liked the hotel, just set of a main road so be careful when you come out the hotel to walk down to the strip or beach. There are pedestrian crossing but like most of europe, they dont always stop. The location is fab though, just a couple of minutes walk from the strip and beach.

The hotel is very nice, standard 4 star, rooms clean, our bathroom had obviously been recently updated and was very nice and modern. The grounds in the hotel are also very nice, always sunbeds available whatever time of day. Spa facilities are free to use, also very nice! Most staff friendly too although most assume you are german as the Brits are the minority, wasnt an issue for us though. Fantastic rooftop bar, great views.

The only thing i didnt really like was dinner time, although plenty of seating and space for everyone, trying to get your food was chaos. Children running about, people aimlessly wondering and a little lack of organisation, a bit like being in a cattle market. Also the minigolf is great fun but could do with a lick of paint!

Overall though a great holiday had here, would reccommend to family and friends although if i was to return to Majorca (which i would) i would reccommend Alcudia, better beach and a bit more hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odell68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Having never been to Majorca before it was quite difficult to pick whereabouts to go as my friend and I are quite particular wanting relaxation, good food, plenty of leisure activities, local pubs and restaurants, but with all that not too noisy. Well we were lucky enough to have picked the Gran Vista.
Situated at the end of one of the main strips down to the sea front you could be looking at the waves in less that 5 minutes and can reach the bus stop in about 2 minutes.
The Gran Vista was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. British residents were in the minority in the resort as a whole but we met some lovely people to chat too and swap stories throughout the week.
Now to the food...buffet style, plentiful and really very tasty. Leave room for dessert though as it is a must. At least 4 choice for your main course at each sitting, which were different each day. We did half-board which proved to be an excellent choice. Not once did we feel like going anywhere else to eat.
The rooms were smallish but clean and serviced daily. The only thing worth mentioning is that the bathroom door is more of a screen of frosted glass, which if you are not a couple or very sharing in nature may lead the someone sitting on the balcony every now and again to allow some privacy! Great shower though.
The facilities were great, tennis courts were free to book, we took rackets so didn't need to hire any. The spa was awesome. You might see quite a few 'white bits' on our fellow Europeans, but you don't need to bare all. We went nearly every day as it was truly lovely and free.
To wrap up, this a a good quality hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LexSamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just returned from a week at the Gran Vista with my Mum, Aunty and my 14 and 11 year old boys and had a great time. The hotel is very well run and spotlesly clean in all areas.The staff are friendly and helpful from the cleaners to the reception desk. The hotel is a short, enjoyable 10 mins walk from the beach front across the main road and down a pedestrianised precinct type of road lined with shops, bars and restaurants.
We found the food in the restaurant very good and varied. It was great for the boys as they could see what they were going to eat before it arrived on the table which meant they tried lots of different things that they wouldn't have otherwise picked from a menu. One word of warning though you will put weight on as the dessert selection was amazing to say the least!! Unfortunately it is perfectly acceptale to try them all which I am ashamed to say we did on many occasions, albeit small helpings of each.
The entertainment in the evening was varied, our favourite was a really good Four Tops Tribute band. It did however finish at 10.30 pm when virtually everyone went to bed so the bar was really quiet, however, as our room was just above the bar we were glad it didn't go on much longer.
The hotel is predominantly family orientated so there was no loud or unsociable behaviour which was great. I know we went at the back end of the season but I got the impression that this was the norm.
The pool was great and you are given a card so you can get towels to use when you are there.
All in all a great hotel, go you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S00kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have recently returned from the Gran Vista staying for a week self catering, two adults and two children. We researched our choice of hotel on trip advisor before hand and i am really pleased with the outcome. The location of the hotel is perfect, at the top of the main strip of shops and bars that runs adjecent to the seafront within easy walking distance of the beach though far enough away from any noise at night.
Our self catering apartment, number 2210, was excellent, clean tidy and regularly serviced, take any little extras like t towels, cloths and detergent they are not included but as we ate out every night and used the hotel facilties some days, for an extra charge, we did'nt use the kitchen. The balcony overlooks the gardens and pool and is really big with table and chairs to sit out on.
Pool towels are included which can be change three times a week, and the rooms have hairdryers. If you are going to the beach with children the kid's club has plenty of spare buckets and spades just ask.
The spa facilities are excellent, well maintained and we found the staff extremely helpful. There is also a seperate indoor children's pool and children's club.
The outdoor pools were some of the best we've seen, there are several pools, interconnected, and plenty of shallow areas aswell as a child's play pool with slides.
The waterfalls and extremely well kept gardens are amazing and there is never a problem with finding a quiet spot or a good poolside space.
Our lunches at the poolside bar were very good value at between 5 and 10 euro, all food was freshl;y cooked and a wide range of choices, pasta, pizza, burgers, salads, i would particularly recommend the goats cheese salad and the pasta carbonara, our kids recommend the burgers.
Drinks were typically large, the service at the bar professional and efficient, we particularly remember Pepe our waiter who was so welcoming.
The fact that the majority of the hotels guests are German is a bonus as the standard is high and atmosphere is well mannered and friendly. The staff are from many different countries and can speak english no problem, the receptionist at the spa is British and really helpful.
If you want a family holiday that is relaxing, calm and enjoyable i would recommend the Gran Vista.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TygerTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week returning on 20 September. I read the reviews and can agree that the resort does seem to be german orientated but this did not pose any problems and we thoroughly enjoyed our break. The hotel is very light and airy and is of an excellent standard. The grounds are extensive and there is no shortage of sun beds. The rooftop bar is a must see. Our rooms were cleaned every day and the maid was always very cheery and helpful. My only criticism would be the evening meal which was very disappointing but I won't go into that as I find what suits one doesn't always suit another! The resort centre is only a short walk away from the hotel as is the bus stop where you can catch a bus to go to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.3 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
3.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa

Property: Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 68 | Crta Arta-Pto Alcudia, Km, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#3 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 M away from the Can Picafort beach. Wellness & fitness Spa. Attractive relax and health programmes. Rooms & Apartments: air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Apartments: Living room with sleeping-couch and kitchen. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools. Children's pools. Swimming lessons. Bicycle Center. Tennis courts. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Theme buffets. Show Cooking. Pool-Bistro. Panorama & Lounge bar with terrace. Special Services: Discounts on green fees at several golf clubs in Mallorca. Car rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Vista Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing