We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...almost!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are regular visitors to Vilamoura but decided on a change this year. After much searching, we made a late booking for the Gran Vista based on, what appeared to be, a reasonable half-board deal with Thomson Holidays and the previous reviews of the hotel on this site.

Overall opinion is that, with a little bit of TLC to the rooms, it could be an excellent hotel.
It certainly has the grounds, facilities and people (special mentions below) to be just that.

What's not so good?
- Rooms are not that large, particularly with a 3rd bed added.
- Beds are singles pushed together, even if booked as a 'double' room.
- Rooms (221 and 224) are a little dated and could do with a bit of a refresh and some minor issues attended to (broken toilet seat, tarnished shower fittings, wall damage).
- Strange glass door to shower-room that did not lock and had gaps at each side.
- Key card to room 224 failed to work on each of the first 4 days (frustrating for the person who had to keep returning to reception to have card 'activated' - not frustrating for reception who could "activate it each day, it's not a problem").

What is so good then to make it almost excellent?
- Nicely presented hotel with easy reach (across road) of bars, restaurants and shops.
- Short (5 minute) walk to excellent beach (with sun loungers and water sports available).
- Extensive grounds with choice of pools (including toddler and indoor pools) and shaded areas if desired.
- Lots of sun loungers available (some set by pools, many available to move to locations within grounds).
- Free towels provided for sun loungers and changed every other day.
- Despite hotel being full for last few days, it never felt crowded or noisy around grounds during the day.
- Variety of sports facilities available (tennis, volleyball, crazy putting, table-tennis, etc).
- Good daytime activity selection (children and adults) with no pressure to participate.
- Good breakfast buffet selection (cereals, fruits, breads, jams, cheeses, cold meats, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausage, juices, tea, coffee etc).
- Good evening buffet selection with 'special' days during each week (salads, soups, fish, meats, pastas, breads, desserts, etc).
- Poolside Bistro serving good selection of reasonably priced food and drinks during the day.
- Despite initial concerns over buffet style half-board, all food was of good quality and even the fussier eaters in our party always managed to find something they enjoyed.
- Above all though, the thing that made the holiday special for us was the atmosphere created by some of the hotel staff. All those we had direct dealings with (notwithstanding the issue with the key card for room 224) were polite, friendly and extremely hard working. This goes from the waiters in the restaurant and lounge, to the bistro and entertainment team.
- We have to mention the excellent waiters Pepe, Paul and Jose who all made us feel particularly welcome. Despite the hours these guys put in 6 days a week, they always had a smile on their faces and a friendly word or two - even helping us out with some Spanish lessons.
- A very special mention must go to David. It's hard to believe that someone you've only known for a few days can have such an impact. There were tears all round as we left and, needless to say, we will stay in touch.

Other comments?
- It's a hotel primarily aimed at the German market (I believe Tui have 80% of the rooms) but this was never an issue for us as the staff spoke English and most of the announcements and entertainment were stated in German, English and Spanish. However, it did appear that for the younger kids club everything was in German only (this may have been down to only German kids participating, or may have been why only German kids participated).
- Some of the evening entertainment wasn't great, but you can't cater for all tastes, and it's up to individuals to make the most of it.
- There's a rooftop lounge bar that's apparently very good, but we did not make use of it as we preferred to remain in the lounge bar (where Pepe and David work).
- We are already looking at options to return next year and if the hotel spruce up the rooms a bit and if our star waiters are there, then we will most certainly chose Gran Vista over Vilamoura for our next holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oicameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and compliments. We will pass them and all the rest of team. Next year we have plans to make a reform, so I would like see you again next year amongst us.!!!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just spent 2 weeks in the Gran vista and Spa hotel. It is very well located, five minutes walk to the beach and sea. Ca'n Picafort is a small resort, not one of the prettiest resort in Majorca but family and couples orientated. Rather lively with numerous souvenir shops and bars.
A good place to stay. We were able to take buses to visit surrounding villages and resort and hired a car to visit the island.

Good welcome from the receptionists in the hotel. During our stay The staff were alwaysreally helpful and pleasant. We also really enjoyed the good variety and quality of the food in the restaurant.Some areas of improvement: I wish that water was provided free of charge at the restaurant every evening ... in the morning we could get fresh water for free so ... why not for evening meals ? And also the closing time of the restaurant at 9 pm ... too early really. During the summer when the hotel is full, 10 pm would be a better time and would have allowed us to spend more time in the panoramic bar.

Great facilities: tennis and footbal pitches ... nice swimming pool and no problem to get a sunbed and space within the gardens. You can also borrow table tennis bats and tennis rackets from the reception. Access to the SPA is free. Really enjoyable: steam room, "igloo room", sauna, Jacuzzi, pool ... I loved it. We found the hotel very clean and our room very clean too. The rooms could do with some refurbishment but they are acceptable. Good for a couple. However we were sharing our room with our teenager son ( 15 yr old) and found the room too small for us three. We were unfortunately not on one of the highest floors of the hotel. Our room was on the first floor - just above the bar and the roof of the bar. Not ideal position and view at all but we were able to change after a few days and did get a room still on the first floor but viewing a big palmtree and the pool which was better.

The panorama roof bar is amazing with fantastic views. We started most of our evenings there before going down for dinner. Occasionally after dinner we would stay on site at the pool-side bar to watch the entertainment however we didn't find the entertainment good enough and spent most of our evening in the resort.

The bar near the pool was good too. We took a few drinks and snacks there. This is also unfortuantely the only place where you can get wifi for free betw 10 am and 5 pm. The signal was usually not very strong and most of the time, I reviewed my mails in the bars surrounding the hotel where wifi was provided for free with a stronger signal. Again an area of improvement for the hotel: provide free wifi access to the customers.

To conclude, we really had a good time at the Gran Vista. Because of the wifi and because of the size of the room, I didn't rate the hotel as excellent but I would happily go back and spend another week in the hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floors (4th and above) facing the pool for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment because of that we can improve our services. We are going to have a refurbishment in the hotel next year and we hope see you again amongst us.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff right from the pool cleaner and room cleaners to the breakfast staff, bistro/bar staff and reception staff were all very friendly and very helpful - nothing too much trouble. The pools and pool areas kept very clean and very well laid out . Stacks of sun beds available any time of day. The breakfast is a wonder in itself - every possible food or drink item you could wish for and daily specials to look forward to as well. We only stayed B&B but used the pool bistro for lunch which was very nice too. Rooms very comfortable (could perhaps benefit from being updated) and had everything you need, air conditioning (free) and a safe (for small fee). No need to pack towels - free towels that can be changed every couple of days at the Spa. We only used the spa once but it was lovely and again free!! Very short walk to main shops/walkway to lovely sandy beach - beautiful. If you are eating out then go to Monaco restaurant - lovely food and great service - also Venizia excellent too! Don't go to Miami for food!!! If we go back to Majorca anytime we will be definitely staying here!

Room Tip: Overlooking pool quieter than over car park but still great views over the mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments amongs us.!!!

Visit us again if you come back to Mallorca

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for our second consecutive visit from the 15th July for eleven nights. We are hoping to return next year for many reasons. We requested a high floor and got the 3rd floor. We did prefer 4th floor, as last year, but not complaining as we got the pool view we asked for, thank you Gran vista as for us the room position is a big part of it because we love being on our balcony and watching people enjoying themselves and the lovely view. The staff were always helpful and pleasant and our lovely waiter Hamza was great and made our meal times special. He couldn’t do enough to help thanks again we enjoyed the food and most nights had a good variety. Another big thing is no sunbed problems lots of sunbeds and space within the lovely gardens. We found the hotel very clean and our room very clean and we found the size of our room fine.

The panorama roof-too bar is amazing and we started most of our evenings there before going down for dinner. Occasionally after dinner we would stay on site at the pool-side bar and watch the entertainment (which wasn’t always such, but hey-ho you can’t have everything.)

Outside the hotel there are a few little shops and about five minutes walk to the lovely beach and sea. It is a small resort, but very family and couples orientated which we liked.

Overall, not the cheapest option available but worth the extravagance.... “Adios Gran Vista, hasta la próxima vez!”

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing us once again. It was really a pleasure for us serving you during your stay and make your holidays as pleasant as possible.

It will be great welcome you again next year.

Best regards,

Your Gran Vista Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel definitely lived up to our high expectations following the other reviews. The main strength. of the hotel are the pool area which is vast and there are plenty of loungers and shade available. Other strengths include the friendly staff; waitresses in the restaurant, bar staff and reception staff were all warm and welcoming. The Spa is also a great extra (although not sure why the water jets are turned off between 1 and 3 which is the warmest part of the day - and a welcome break from the sun)
If I had to pick weaknesses it would be how busy the restaurant is, the layout could be improved to help with this. The food however on the whole was good and varied - the Las Vegas theme night was especially good. There was one night where the pork was undercooked and resulted in severe vomiting.
The rooms were fine, not massive but more than adequate and always immaculately cleaned. Bathroom was good and clean although there seemed to be a drainage issue in the hotel whilst we were there - not the hotels fault.
Since returning I have recommended this hotel to everyone that has asked about the holiday. Its in a good location with no major faults. Agree with the view that it needs a bit of work to reach its potential but thats the case with everywhere. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and gardens on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to write your impressions of our hotel. We take note of your comments to fix it inmediately.

Please visit us soon again on your next trip to Mallorca.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

By way of balance, we arrived at 4.00am to find that our rooms were not ready! We were allocated other rooms away from the main block. It was 5.00am before we arrived at those rooms and we were more or less abandoned to find the second room. Worse still we had to be out of those rooms by 10.00am! OK, we were given 50 Euros compensation but that didn't compensate for ruining the first day.

The new room/s was very clean and bright. Simple with a fridge and air conditioning that just about worked. Cleaners are entering rooms at 8.30! And the chairs in the floor above seemed to be eternally dragged around during the day.

Beware that this is a German Hotel..nothing wrong with that but all of the travel reps attend to the Germans. We never saw our Thompson rep all week. No welcome..nothing.

The food was varied. I didn't like the buffet area..it was like the concourse at Euston railway station..very busy, lots of kids all dashing about. I thought the food varied from good to average. Service was good and all was very clean. This Hotel was not a patch on one we visited 2 years ago in Call Bonna.

The grounds were very nice, very clean and well organised. The road outside had well behaved traffic and we did not have any road noise. Can Piccafort was OK. A concrete jungle but with no heart. All bars and souvenir shops.

The evening entertainment was embarrassingly amateurish. A keyboard, a guitarist and an out of tune singer. And they were the good ones!

All that sounds bad but this Hotel was nothing special. I've no idea why people keep coming back!

Room Tip: We were content on the 4th floor. Were we lucky having a view over the pool? Not when they had out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smartalec1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I really appreciate you expend a litle bit of your time to share your impressions of our hotel with the rest of guest. In a hotel always is prepared to do the best for their guest but always can happen tragedies, misunderstandings or unexpected situations. Always we try to do all the best for all the clients and fulfill the wishes and requests.

If some day is possible I would like to show that we can improve our services thanks to guest like you, that make comment and suggestions to get better.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our third visit in three years which goes to show we like the place. The hotel is starting to look very tired, the rooms were always pretty small and the beds not great (no double beds just singles pushed together) but other aspects made up for it - but it needs a refurb.

Our room wasn't cleaned well a couple of times (the cleaner also left random clothes and sponges in the room!). The pool bar should be open longer as should the roof bar, when the pool bar is open they were so busy at times it took 20 minutes to just get a coke. They were not always polite either.

Breakfast was the usual canteen affair but the selection is huge and everything is fresh. The selection of bread is amazing.

As said in previous reviews the SPA and general sports facilities are superb but again things are starting to look tired. Hopefully the hotel will get a major refurbishment - they were full during our stay and have been busy during all of our stays so hopefully they don't become a victim of success by not improving things.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPAP-SHLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gvista, Director General at Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

we really appreciate your comments and suggestions and let me inform you that next year we will have a surprise.

Thank you for take the time to write your impressions about our hotel.

We hope see you again next year.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
3.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#6 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa

Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 68 | Crta Arta-Pto Alcudia, Km, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#1 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £60 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 M away from the Can Picafort beach. Wellness & fitness Spa. Attractive relax and health programmes. Rooms & Apartments: air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Apartments: Living room with sleeping-couch and kitchen. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools. Children's pools. Swimming lessons. Bicycle Center. Tennis courts. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Theme buffets. Show Cooking. Pool-Bistro. Panorama & Lounge bar with terrace. Special Services: Discounts on green fees at several golf clubs in Mallorca. Car rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Vista Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing