We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As the taxi driver said 'why are you in a german hotel'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

On arrival we were given room101 we wallked in and went onto the balcony It overlooked
the carpark loading bay and a dirty flat roof We returned to reception and asked for another room on the garden side as shown on their website Sorry all full It then cost me
240 euros to upgrade to a suite Nice view on the top floor under the roof top bar and it's speakers The hotel is nearly all germans and this is the language that is heared in the bar, the kiddies show ,and the evening If you are english you are blanked The restaurant is vast and the serving area small You have to queue with a small plate for most dishes lotsof which run out It's a bit like euston station Sorry this is not for us

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raytheranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

Just returned from this hotel. Really disappointed. As a Thomson Platinum we were expecting much better. If you don't have a pool view room or a 5th floor suite, then you end up with a view looking over the extensive green steel air conditioning ducting which runs all over the top of the restaurant area - not something you want to look at when you are on holiday. Also, our room was over the top of the kitchen so we got woken at about 6am every morning with trolleys and cooking equipment being banged about. Couldn't get to sleep most nights with the noises from the air conditioning either next door or below. We did ask for another room but were told they were full and they couldn't do this for a couple of days - but they never did move us. First hotel we have stayed at where there were holes in the bed sheets!

On the plus side, the food was good and service in the pool bar was very good. The spa was also good.

All in all, very disappointing - definitely not a four star hotel - we have stayed in better three star hotels. Will never go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Grand Vista Hotel and Spa. To give the hotel a fair assessment I have seperated each part of the hotel its own catorgary as I feel some part were better than other and need a fairer review.

POOLS.

Quite a few very good pools for children and adults alike, both with lifeguards in attendance all day. Plenty of sun beds to be had all day. However, if you require one with a back on as appossed to a laying down one, you will have to get downstairs early and bag one with a towel as they go very quickly, alternatively, wait will 1ish when everyone goes for lunch or a siesta and aquire ( steal) one then. The large pool just by the restaurant is the busiest and sunbeds go quickly, this is mainly used by older adults. BE AWARE IF YOU ARE A SMOKER! Its gets very hot by the large pool and we saw a cigarette lighter explode in the heat.

There are no temperature indicators by the pools to tell you what the temp is. As you get a nice breeze all day, don't be fooled into thinking its not hot. On one such day it was 36 degrees ( the local chemist sign tells you) and really didnt feel it.

BAADINGOO CHILDRENS CLUB.

We never used this as no children., but noted as this hotel has mainly German paitronage the reps always spoke to the children in german and the club song is in german. But all in all the children did always look occupied and happy, especially when walking around the pools with musical instruments that consisted of trumpets and pots and pans. Hilarious!

ROOMS.

My husband and I had a suite which consisted of a fully fitted kitchen and living room, will cutlery, plates, saucepans and all, however, no kettle??? Large bedroom and large shower room, no bath or bidet! We swapped rooms after a day ( no sun on balcony, husband whinged!) and this was no problem at all. We were in room 520 on the 5th floor, which was lovely. But, every evening from 6pm onwards when the 6th floor bar opens, be prepared for the constant moving of chairs and tables above you head. Maid Service was adequate, toilet wasnt cleaned at all in the 10days we were there and neither was the bathroom mirror, she just made the bed every day and constantly swept the floor????

RESTAURANT.

Dinner is from 6.45PM TILL 9.30PM. However, if you get in there after 8.10pm your choice of food is halved and limited as they have already started clearing everything away! We, as a couple with no children ( with us!) prefer to eat later and went down on the 1st evening at 8pm. The restaurant was only 25 % full. By the time we got to the main course a lot of the main choices had dissapeared and the same things with the sweets as well, once something was finished it wasnt replaced.

Having said this the food was good! Plenty of choice for breakfast and main meal. The Majorca night was excellent and the sweets, all chocolate, were to die for!

The pool bar is also excellent, Try the pizzas, they were wonderful and very reasonable too!

BARS.

The Entertainment Bar on the same floor as the restaurant was very good. Look out for Julio the main Bartender, wonderful man. And when they have the " Manhatten" entertainers, watch the little fat waiter sing, wonderful! You can also smoke at the bar too!

The 6th floor bar has wonderful panoramic view of C'an Picafort that are to die for. However die is what you will do while waiting to be served and then waiting for said drink once ordered to arrive. We tried the first 2 nights, time waited to be served 1st night was 25mins and after 45 minutes of waiting we gave up. Second night waited 20 mins to be served and still never got the drink after 45 mins again. I tried both nights to go up to the bar and get them myself, but was totally ignored. You might have better luck!

Overall, this was a good hotel and Spa ( which we never tried) and we would despite my grumbles stay there again. All the staff were wonderful and more than went out of their way to help with anything at all. Local shops are varied and the supermarkets stock everything you would find in the UK. Beech looked wonderful and was always busy although not packed. And most importantly clean.

Please dont let my gripes put you off, this is a good hotel. Just be aware of the bits I have warned about.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We travelled to Majorca at the end of August 2009 after picking this hotel from Trip Advisor as it appeared to have fairly decent reviews and I have to say that we weren’t disappointed. We have stayed in some very nice resorts in the UK and Europe, but the service and cleanliness of the hotel were absolutely fantastic. I travelled with my wife and two daughters who were 12 and 8, and along with me they all loved what the resort had to offer, the food / buffet selection was a sheer delight. We stayed in an apartment which was exactly like staying in a modern one bedroom flat, very roomy, very clean and very well presented. The buffet menu had a different theme each day and there was always a variety of different things to choose from. We will definitely return again as it is a real find. The only criticism I have with the hotel was the evening entertainment and kids club were delivered mainly to a German audience and I don’t speak German, however my little girls adapted and made friends.

Well worth visiting!

Greg Lawless - Buckinghamshire

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregLawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Second visit to this hotel but things have changed. Food still as good plentiful choice and always well cooked and displayed. Entertainment in the evening still poor. The pool nearest to the hotel use to be adults only but now is full of children, and there are more there than ever. Not every one of them are badly behaved but when there chasing each other around the pool and screaming it is not relaxing. I have been there and done that and now that mine are grown a little peace is not too much to ask for. And now the worst for me, the rooms are now non smoking a fact that was not advertised in the Thomsons brochure but we where told changed last year. (my last trip here was two years ago) but funnily enough you can smoke inside in the bar!!! There is a no smoking area. The staff here are friendly and work very hard but returning on 5th September it seems to be winding down for the winter. Would I return again, no.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannyNanNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have just returned from our stay at the Gran Vista, and i must say that on arrival all looked good, however when we got to our room and opened the patio door, we overlooked a road and not much else, we contacted reception and the girl moved us within 48 hours to new rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool!

The rooms themselves are small and very tired looking and the pillows are really uncomfy, but the quilt cover comes in handy under the pillows!

The room was kept spotless by the cleaners, and they even arranged our toiletries in the bathroom for us, all staff at the hotel were fantastic especially towards children.

I have read the reviews before we booked and the majority of comments were that there was alot of German guests, and yes i would say 90% are, i must say that they were really friendly and polite, and it was a pleasure being with them.

The pool was fantastic 10/10, our son was in there from 10am unitl 4pm, and I must admit so were we!

The food area in the hotel was very congested and could of been a better choice of food in the evenings, however the breakfast was lovely, especially the omelette!!!

The pool bar area at lunchtime, was a pleasure, the food was great and the portions were very large and great choice for all.

We would recommend the the 6th floor roof terrace bar, what a view!!!!! You must go up there!

Although we had to cut short our holiday for personal reasons, we enjoyed our holiday and the weather was lovely and hot.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowblower_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel last week with our 7 year old son and can safely say it is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at and will definitely return sometime, something which we don't usually do. I had read other reviews prior to our holiday and was expecting to feel the odd one out amongst all the German guests - this wasn't the case however, Yes, the greater percentage were German but we were by no means the only British guests, and even if we had been it wouldn't really have mattered - the entertainers and staff were all multilingual and the evening entertainment was often in English. The only downside could be if you wanted your child to attend the kids club - ours didn't so I can't comment on whether the language could be a problem.

From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely helpful and it is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. Our son has an egg allergy and the head chef took the time every day to tell us which foods he could eat. There was a vast selection so there was never a problem. He seemed to delight in helping us and everyone remembered his name. They made us feel no bother at all.

Overall the breakfast and evening meal each day were superb, pool areas excellent and sunbeds were available ALL day, entertainment good. We had requested a quiet room and were not disappointed. Although not overlooking the pool there was still a pleasant view. The roof bar was spectacular and the spa well worth a visit. Although not directly on the beach it is only a 10 minute stroll to the beach and no problem.

Overall we thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
3.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#6 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
241 reviews
7.3 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa

Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 68 | Crta Arta-Pto Alcudia, Km, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £64 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 M away from the Can Picafort beach. Wellness & fitness Spa. Attractive relax and health programmes. Rooms & Apartments: air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Apartments: Living room with sleeping-couch and kitchen. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools. Children's pools. Swimming lessons. Bicycle Center. Tennis courts. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Theme buffets. Show Cooking. Pool-Bistro. Panorama & Lounge bar with terrace. Special Services: Discounts on green fees at several golf clubs in Mallorca. Car rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Vista Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing