We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would reccomend this hotel for everyone as there is something there for everyone - kids clubs, bingo, beach lovers, tv rooms and”
Review of Hotel Son Baulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Son Baulo
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I have just returned home ,unfortunaetly, after a fortnight's stay at the Hotel Son Baulo.

We arrived midday and found out that we were staying in a room with four beds meaning my children in the same room and my husband and I. This was a shock at first especially as they are both teenagers but we soon adjusted after finding out the hotel was fully booked and the hotel couldn't move us if they wanted to.

When people descriibe the hotel as right on the beach it is because it is! From the bar/terrace area it is just 1 step to feel sand between your toes, as we are beach people this where we spent our days, although keen swimmers this area of meditteranean is a wavy one in the afternoons! The pool was lovely also although quite busy at times with children so we tended to swim in the pool later evening.

The evening meals are perfect! I only had one or two nights where there was simply nothing to my tastes but the puddings I could not fault if I wanted to! There is a soup option, salads, veggie options, kids options, paella, chips and then meats. Fillipo on the grill was so cute and always gave you what you asked - a small beef steak was what you got!

We all fell in love with the waiters and chefs as they can always help you with anything! My daughter taking a shine to Manuel made our evenings even better as he is great entertainment himself!! Will someone please ask him his sirname for me? Antonio, Gabriel and Pedro also being very lovely and charming? The evening entertainments are the basics - disco, bingo and then a show. Only a couple we missed being the reptile, parot and comedian as they weren't the best! The rest are faultless!
Gill is always on hand also to crack some jokes during bingo!

Breakfast was amazing - full cooked englishes or cereal and toast, aswell as the yoghurts, fruit and bread! Lovely food and they even opened up the cereal and turned on the toaster for our 7am morning leave!

The receptionists are very helpful and the thomson reps also! They offer many excursions including family mega day and horse riding, both of which we took part in and had thoroughly good times!

This has definitely been one of our best family holidays ever, my daughter even saying it was the best (shedding a tear on the last day was a shocker to all of us)! I would reccomend this to everyone!! BOOK NOW!

P.s will people visiting the hotel before next summer (may) and the end of this year make sure Manuel is still there charming everyone and put it on your review so I can reassure my daughter he will be there next summer as he said he would be!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank balearics123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

10 of us aged 14 to 70 just returned after 10 years. The hotel is in a perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of C'an Picafort but within walking distance or cheap bus ride away from the centre. It is literally on the beach and has a terrace overlooking it. There are nearly always loungers available on the terrace as they have a strict policy on reserving beds. We didn't use the terrace much as the beach is lovely. We spent loads of time in the sea, which was clear and warm with lots of fish. I would advise booking a sea view room as the views are gorgeous. Also they are in the shade in the afternoon if you want to get out of the sun.
The staff are lovely and friendly especially the waiters in the bar.
The rooms are fine but the beds are a little hard and creaky. The maids clean them to a high standard and the air con is effective.
The food was not as good as I remembered the last time but you could always find something to fill up on. There is always fresh melon at breakfast and dinner. The "juices"at breakfast are a bit synthetic tasting but the hot drinks machine is good. Dinner is supposed to be till 9.30 pm but they start closing sections down around 8.30.
Can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't see much and tended to get to the bar when it was over. Saw the end of the reptile show. I don't agree with exploiting animals, and at the end there was a photo shoot where you had to pay for having your picture taken with the poor things. All about money.
Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are best and have hairdryer. fridge pay less than 3 euros a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the location - you couldn't ask for better. Right on the beach, which is stunning! A few shops nearby for essentials and pressies together with a few restaurants and bars. Cash machine round the corner and only a 20 minute stroll along the seafront into the main part of town. Can Picafort has plenty there to keep you busy in the evenings but at least the hustle, bustle and noise isn't on your doorstep! The hotel and rooms are kept very clean. We had 2 rooms, one of them was quite up to date but the other one could have done with a bit of updating. Beds were very comfortable and on the 4th floor (room 451) - wonderful views and right next to the lift, which isn't too busy. I thought the food in the restaurant was mainly first class - fantastic paella (and I'm quite fussy about the taste of these normally!). Only two days where it was okay but a wide range available everyday and good quality too. The waiters are first class. We didn't use the pool area as it was very busy but we used the beach every day. Plenty of beds - prices about 2.50 euros a bed and 3 euros for an umbrella. One of the nicest beaches we've been on. First impressions on arrival weren't as good as when we left. The hotel rooms do look a little tired - but overall excellent holiday. Took a car out 2 days and saw some beautiful scenery, especially in the mountains. Anyone who moans about this hotel must be extremely hard to please!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel very clean.Staff hardworking and very pleasant nothing is too much trouble, Food not always waht you may want but never leave the table hungry. Entertainment family based Gill the entertainment leader is very enthusiastic and always full of energy.Bobby Alexander one of the vocalistsappeared to do more talking than actual soul singing of which he skipped some verses of songs and appeared to forget his words he is advertised as not to be missed . As we like soul music we watched it but wished we hadn't. Location is about 20-30 mins walk (flat) to the main area. Good german bars. If you want carling lager Williams pub and London pride offer this and very good food but both not on the front. Scandels and PJ bar is near by the hotal and offer football matches . Scandals is good for food also.There is a small market also in the street on one day. There are also events happening on the sea front in the centre.Good value for money food in the hotel if you wish to purchase your lunch there rather than walk out. Felt very safe out at night its a good family resort and hotel. Excellent location on the seafront The only down side is the beds hard but you do get used to them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jULIEM027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is really good and I would stay there again. The food is to die for and the waiters are extra friendly and will help you if learning Spanish. The only problem I had was that the entertainment was very poor. Jill picks the wrong entertainment and it never changes the same acts are on every two weeks and that never changes, it has been like that for years. Overall it is a marvellous hotel that I recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Misslibzybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just returned today from this hotel, not very impressed the room was shabby ie old & damaged furniture not very impressed as our party paid £7200 for this holiday.. didnt go much on the childrens entertainment there was a childrens mini-disco at 8.30 every night & the lady running it seemed more interested in getting the adults on stage plus if you did want to watch the adult entertainment we had to sit through all of this 1st which got a bit much.. The food was ok but didnt go much on waiters/waitresses taking your plates before we'd even finnished on numerous occations plus we had to whatch as they scraped everyones leftovers into a bin while we were eating {NOT NICE} Also seemed very hurried, we were told because we were a largish party we could reserve our table in the restaurant... didnt happen.... plus the usual SUNBED RESERVATION rule not enforced people running to reseve them we go round to the pool cant get 1 all covered in towels hotel said they remove them.. THEY DONT we were there 2 weeks didnt see them do it once..

Room Tip: book a sea veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVECEDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Hotel is dated but freindly and clean ,beds are hard ,but we booked a seaview so we had a geat night's sleep, air con great .
My sunbed was one step from the beach,water clean and warm.pool is o.k but it could do with a update.
Hotel food is a bit boring ,but is o.k .
Behind the Hotel there is a shop that does lovley hot bread ,nice with some cheese and ham and cold beer on the beach .but the Hotel does nice food on the terrace over looking the sea.
Bars and restaurant's are cheaper near the Hotel than in the resort centre.
The walk along the promanade is wide,there are cycle track all the way into Ca'N Picafort,
which is great if you want to hire bike's and many people rented the electric scooter's .
Along the promanade it is residential which is nice to see families enjoying the weather ,the bars nearer the Hotel are used by the Spainish in which we likedbecause of the atmosphere.
THere is people that come year after year,I can see why,as it is a fantastic as it is so frendly ,it will not suit party people ,that likes to get drunk ,as it is a chilled out place ,we did spot two Disco ,but most was low key .
Shopping centre is more aimed at the Spainish with a mix of souverin shop's.
More outside is GO Karting ,Horse Riding ,and bike hire.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank julesDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro
#10 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
268 reviews
38 mi away
Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort
1.5 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Baulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Baulo

Address: Ronda Torrent 1 | Can Picafort. Mallorca, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#8 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £53 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Son Baulo 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Son Baulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Son Baulo Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing