We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Son Baulo”
Review of Hotel Son Baulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Baulo
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunny Son Baulo”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We returned from the Son Baulo yesterday travelling there for the 1st time and as a family of five and would say we have mixed reviews, although generally good. The transfer from the airport to the hotel takes 1hr 30 mins, please bear this in mind when travelling with little ones it seems a long journey after such a short flight!

We emailed the hotel prior to staying and request a top floor sea view room which was accommodated , the view was outstanding , room dated, beds un comfy, but the room was very clean with fresh towels daily & air conditioning for free which was a huge bonus!

The food was good, I did feel that standards slipped as we peaked into the 'school season'. Food was not so varied/ cold.Linen was replaced to paper napkins & the dining area got exceedingly busy and become a free for all. Not much choice of children's dinners struggled with a 1 year old and 3 year old. Waiters seemed to favour the older generation in the hope of a huge tip at the end of the night! We didn't find them particularly friendly.

Beach was fantastic and clean, sun beds and umbrellas expensive,much cheaper to buy your own shade! Fresh pineapple/ melon/ coconut sold on the beach which was lush! Do not use the portaloo it's disgusting! Next beach along to the right is beautiful but deeply shelving. Clear water & lots of fish.

Town was a good 20 minute walk, probably more with children,which In the heat of the day was a no no! We like it lively, so the hotel was positioned a little on the quiet side for us not many shops, bars, restaurants until you get towards the centre. Not the place for an 17 year old, he got slightly bored! Crazy horse worth a visit, met some nice people & Paco the owner is so friendly, prices great €1-50 for a pint of San Miguel - he made our holiday :-) A lot were very German orientated.

Pool area very busy, we used all three pools baby pool, toddler pool and main pool. All were clean & well maintained. Did see nearly two drownings in the first week, the toddler pool dips very quick and you need to be very vigilant of your little ones. Sunbeds are hard to find as people reserve them although policy states that they shouldn't ..

Kids entertainment was brilliant, 3 year old loved tots club, the girls were fab and my little man loved Sammie Whammie! the mini disco in the evening was fun lots of dancing with adults too , although this was only on for half an hour. Adult entertainment varied, bingo every night and a full house of €275. Tribute nights were fab Gary Barlow, Michael Buble, Michael Jackson etc

Market on Friday morning between 9-1pm very good lots of bargains, bags, leather belts, dresses, well worth a look! The 'ting ting' train is great for kids although a mission with buggies,stop 5 takes you into the centre of c'an Picafort. €3 euro an adult €1-50 a child round trip 45 minutes.
Bus stop outside hotel takes you to Alculdia, a single cost us (a family 5) €4-80.

Would I return? It was nice.. But a holiday that didn't particularly stand out!

Room Tip: Top floor sea view fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bellasuntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    503
    207
    66
    34
See reviews for
780
494
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Son Baulo. An excellent hotel right on the beach. On the edge of town which was nice but only a 20 min walk to the centre of Ca'n PIcafort along a lovely promenade which is right outside the hotel. The rooms were fine and cleaned every day. Hotel staff very friendly. The layout of the hotel was great. Lots of places to sunbathe and you could either have a dip in the pool or the sea as it was so near. The food was lovely. Always something to make a meal up. The entertainment was good compared to some I've seen in other hotels. The Thompson reps were very friendly. The local bus stopped right outside the hotel as did the Ting Ting train which was fun. The weekly market was use outside too. Everything you needed was on the doorstep. I would definitely recommend this hotel for both families and couples.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (4th) at the front by the road but it was never a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sscott64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

the son baulo ir a great hotel we have stayed here about 6 times in the last 4 years the staff are very friendly and good at there work especialey the waiters .and the night bar manager paco.
some of the shows are aimed at the kids but some of the shows are good for the adults like george pena .what a great show he is both comedy and singing a real asset to the son baulo nice location and great pools for adults little kids and babies a good poolside bar where you can get a good choice of food and all kinds of drinks without leaving the pool area well recommended by us.

Room Tip: some rooms offer sea views but you pay a bit more or if you want you can upgrade to a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Son Baulo, our 7th time staying there which must tell you something.

The hotel is ideal for us with a superb location right at the end of the town, next to a nature reserve and right on the beach. Excellent staff, perfectly adequate rooms although one of our beds was excessively saggy (I am fairly sure that had we complained about it they would have changed the bed for us). We had a top floor room overlooking the pool area. We find top floor rooms quieter as there's nobody clumping about above you.

First the slightly negative points: I felt that the food choice is not as good as it used to be. When we first came to the SB, there was a lot of choice including Mallorcan dishes, but over the years it seems that the food budget has been cut and this year there seemed to be rather too many dishes like pizza, things in batter, processed junk basically. I know some people like that sort of thing, but one of the main reasons for us going to the SB was that it offered superb food. We always managed to find something nice to eat, and plenty of it, but sometimes the effective choice was slightly limited. Also thought that some of the things on offer didn't really go together. Lovely salads though, and paella several nights a week - although one night it was vegetable paella, a dish of which I have never heard, and it seemed to contain frozen carrots which should never ever be used in cooking anything that aspires to be regarded as good food. In my view, paella should always contain seafood or meat! The also had fideau one night a week, a sort of pasta-based version of paella, and that was delicious. I know opinions on food vary greatly and I like good food, but I felt they could probably improve the choice at minimal cost.

We did have a slight problem with the air con which was blowing out air that didn't seem cold enough, and we complained about that. Reception provided a fan to get some air movement in the room and that helped, and on our last night when the outside temeprature was a few degrees cooler the air con seemed to work better - maybe need to take the hotel down to Kwik-Fit and get the system re-gassed.

We meet lots of old friends at the SB as it attracts many loyal returnees. There was one slight problem with some rather rowdy youths (you know the sort, union jack trunks and a bad attitude, IQ of 70) who were throwing each other into the pool and generally bullying the younger children, but one of the waiters, then me, then the hotel manageress marked their cards and they hid away in shame after that - apparently they have now been banned from ever returning to the hotel. That is the first time we have ever seen that sort of Magaluf behaviour at the Son Baulo so not a criticism of the hotel or the staff, who dealt well with it. the ambience round the pool is normally excellent and safe for children of all ages., and there is no shortage of sunbeds. The policy of not allowing sunbeds to be reserved for hours with nobody there is a major plus point too - no need to get up at 4 in the morning.

Couple of good restaurants nearby, particularly Sa Cova, and also Atenas which is a bar rather than a restaurant but which serves delicious tapas for 5 euros. We ate out every lunchtime although you can get food at the SB, albeit pretty basic stuff like toasties, spag bol etc..

Would we go back again? Yes. Slight disappointment with the food notwithstanding, this is a great hotel which suits us perfectly, at least until our ten year old grows out of it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the road. Can be very noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alibi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned after seventh visit to this great hotel,reception staff warm and welcoming ,go out of way to help in all things ,bar and restaurent staff cheerful and helpful,food choice amazing,Hotel situated on beach ideal for families,entertainment caters for all ages starting with mini disco, Even after seven visits cant get enough of hotel and area ,Bus stop on doorstep to most places on the Island.God willing will be back again next year.Ask for room on 4th floor for great view.

Room Tip: ask for room on top floor facing beach for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had read a lot of trip advisor reviews before booking Son Baulo and so glad we booked. Stayed for 7 nights in July, the hotel is a little gem, ok the rooms are not what I would call luxurious a little tired (however I have stayed in 4 star places that were worse!), but they were v clean, towels changed every day if you wanted, a hairdryer, fridge, safe and we had a fabulous view of the sea. Food is excellent, enough choice and great quality, staff v professional and helpful, they work long hours and work very hard. Special mention to Debbie in the restaurant and Frances in reception. It's a half board hotel, drinks and lunch time snacks are reasonable and to be fair I'm wouldn't want to change it to all inclusive as I think this keeps the clientele that is suited to the hotel. It is not a rowdy hotel, but good for couples and families looking for quiet entertainment and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldLady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We have just got back after a 10 night stay and we loved every minute of it. The room was good and clean and the air con was great. The beach is lovely we went to all the beaches including Alcudia's which is a must. Make sure you get of the bus by the KFC for the best stretch :) the food was really good with plenty of choices to choose from. The evening entertainment was fun we did alternative nights staying in the hotel and visiting the local bars. All in all we would defiantly return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank PeteDicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.2 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
937 reviews
1.1 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Baulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Baulo

Property: Hotel Son Baulo
Address: Ronda Torrent 8, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Son Baulo 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Son Baulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Son Baulo Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing